We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Didn't quite meet expectations”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 13 more sites!
Movenpick Hotel Berlin
Ranked #33 of 634 Hotels in Berlin
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersGold level
London, UK
Level Contributor
77 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
“Didn't quite meet expectations”
Reviewed December 19, 2012

Whilst it was a lovely hotel, there were building works going on whilst we were staying which meant everything was a bit confused, for example the bar was temporarily located in a corner of the restaurant, I aslo found the reception staff a little abrupt and the lack of free wifi annoying. That aside, the room had everything you could need, the bed was very comfortable - although the kingsize bed did have two single duvets which i found a little strange. The location is brilliant with many sites within an easy walk. There is also an S-Bahn station across the road as well as a taxi rank.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Becks_8020
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SBartel, Guest Relation Employee at Movenpick Hotel Berlin, responded to this review, January 21, 2013
Dear guest,

thank you very much for providing us with your candid opinion what allows us to improve our standards according to our customer’s wishes and also to solve problems that creep in to the daily work routine.
We appreciate your comments, because honest criticism gives us the motivation to improve and control a high standard and great hospitality.

First of all we would like to apologize for your experienced inconveniences concerning the construction site in our hotel during your stay with us. Although we try our best to keep the disturbance for our guests to a minimum, it is not always possible to separate the public areas in a soundproof way.
The arrangement with the small bar area in our restaurant is also just temporarily but we are truly sorry if this caused you some problems. I am happy to inform you that the bar will be reopened again at the beginning of February, with new creations and a new modern design. We would be happy to show you the changes and the new bar personally during your next stay with us.

Nevertheless it is great to see that you generally enjoyed your time with us and we are looking forward to welcome you soon again in our beautiful city. If in the meantime I can be of any assistance please do not hesitate to contact me anytime: sina.bartel@moevenpick.com

Best regards
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

2,084 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    1,206
    729
    113
    26
    10
See reviews for
281
882
112
481
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (115)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Czech first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Northampton, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
12 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed December 19, 2012

Stayed at the Movenpick Berlin for a long weekend.

We had booked an Atelier room which was big,comfortable and spotlessly clean.It was very well furnished with a big bath at the bottom of the bed.
Above all, the whole hotel is very quiet so a good nights sleep is not a problem.
The reception staff were very efficient and helpful .Check in and out was very quick.
Location is very good only being a 10 minute walk from Potsdamer Square and 50 yards from the S Bahn station.
Thoroughly recommend this very smart hotel.

Room Tip: Quietest rooms are at the back of the hotel overlooking the central courtyard.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank 78frank
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SBartel, Guest Relation Employee at Movenpick Hotel Berlin, responded to this review, January 21, 2013
Dear guest,

first of all I would like to thank you for your good feedback. Of course, we do enjoy positive comments like yours and it is always a pleasure and of great help when we can motivate our team with these, it is a result of their commitment and their personal touch. Please be assured that I am also going to forward your comment to my colleagues at the Front Office and all staff involved. It is always great to hear that we were able to help our guests to spend some unforgettable time in Berlin. So thank you very much again.
Please let me know when your travel plans do bring you back to Berlin again. I’m pleased to reserve a room for you and welcoming you back to our hotel soon again.

Best regards!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Stockholm, Sweden
Level Contributor
6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed December 15, 2012 via mobile

Overall good hotel but no free wifi. No shampoo/conditioner provided and you need to exclusively ask for a non-smoking room. Good cleanliness and very near the S-bahn station Anhalter Bahnhof, 10 minute walk from Potsdamer Platz. Breakfast, if not included, is 22 € but not price worthy.

  • Stayed December 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank jeninski
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SBartel, Guest Relation Employee at Movenpick Hotel Berlin, responded to this review, January 21, 2013
Dear guest,

thank you very much indeed for taking the time to share your personal experience at our hotel with Tripadvisor.

I am extremely happy to inform you that in the course of our reconstruction this month a new modern lobby and a cafeteria area with free Wi-Fi access are planned. Even so we won’t be able to provide free internet in the rooms yet we hope to be able to provide a good possibility to work and use internet comfortably with a cup of coffee or a piece of cake without any extra or hidden costs. We hope to improve the situation in our hotel with the new areas and hope for the cooperation of our guests. Naturally we would be happy to show you the new possibilities and changes during your next stay at our hotel.

Best regards!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Stockport, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
22 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed December 14, 2012

Ideal situation for the S-bahn. The staff were all so helpful and friendly. even the workman came to help when we couldn't open our door (the key card had been mixed up with other party member)
All staff greeted us on corridors. Very clean and comfortable
Very very happy with our stay.
A visit to the The Reichstag building is a must. so interesting BUT you do need to book on-line first and take your passport

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Louise B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SBartel, Guest Relation Employee at Movenpick Hotel Berlin, responded to this review, January 21, 2013
Dear guest,

first of all we would like to thank you for your recent stay with us. Hopefully you had a pleasant and safe trip to your next destination. Also we would like to say thank you for taking time and letting us know your opinion.

We highly appreciate your comments because that gives us the motivation to keep up with our high standard and hospitality.

I am glad to hear your friendly praise of our staff as well as on our quality of service. Of course I will pass on your nice praise for the good care and kindness to all the employees, because they are the heart of our company.
The Mövenpick Team Berlin would be delighted to welcome you in our hotel back soon.

Sincerely
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Beveren, Belgium
Level Contributor
138 reviews
40 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 35 helpful votes
Reviewed December 12, 2012

We stayed at the Movenpick hotel. Nice hotel , value for money. Not far from city center. Possibility to rent bikes at hotel at normal prices.Friendly service. Parking place 100 m from hotel entrance at fair price. (about 10€/day). Breakfast at hotel is quiet expensive. Possibility to have breakfast in city center.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank PaulDSM
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SBartel, Guest Relations at Movenpick Hotel Berlin, responded to this review, January 25, 2013
Dear guest,

thank you very much for providing us with your candid opinion what allows us to improve our standards according to our customer’s wishes and also to solve problems that creep in to the daily work routine.
We appreciate your comments, because honest criticism gives us the motivation to improve and control a high standard and great hospitality.

Thank you for your suggestion concerning the price for our breakfast.
We think that our price – performance ratio is justified as we offer our guest personal service together with high – quality products.

We hope to have the pleasure of welcoming you again in our hotel.

Sincerely,

Sina Bartel
Guest Relations
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London
Level Contributor
59 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed December 9, 2012 via mobile

I visited Berlin with my mother in December. Our room was the most simple one, and we got room 304.
No view-we face the back of a office building.
The room is comfortable, but the bed was a little tired. 2pillows,what was nice.
Room clean, and the staff was very quick to offer tea & coffee facilities when I asked some hot water for a tea.
The hotel is a short walk from a main square with many train connections and a nice Christmas market.
I would return!

  • Stayed December 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank girlUK
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SBartel, Guest Relations at Movenpick Hotel Berlin, responded to this review, January 22, 2013
Dear guest,

first of all we would like to thank you for your recent stay with us. Hopefully you had a pleasant and safe trip to your next destination. Also we would like to say thank you for taking time and letting us know your opinion.

We highly appreciate your comments because that gives us the motivation to keep up with our high standard and hospitality.

Please let me know when your travel plans do bring you back to Berlin again: sina.bartel@moevenpick.com.
I’m pleased to reserve a room for you and welcoming you back to our hotel soon again.

Best regards
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London
Level Contributor
31 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
Reviewed December 8, 2012 via mobile

Movenpick is situated a short walk to Checkpoint Charlie and Potsdam Platz and also benefits from having an S Bahn station opposite. Rooms were spacious, clean and nicely designed.
It was disappointing that there was a charge for wi-fi although the (helpful) staff did point out that there were two computers for guest use that were free of charge. Also can't say that I was tempted to try breakfast at €22

Two minor points for what is an excellent city centre hotel.

  • Stayed December 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Mancuban
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SBartel, Guest Relation Employee at Movenpick Hotel Berlin, responded to this review, January 21, 2013
Dear guest,

thank you very much for providing us with your candid opinion what allows us to improve our standards according to our customer’s wishes and also to solve problems that creep in to the daily work routine.
We appreciate your comments, because honest criticism gives us the motivation to improve and control a high standard and great hospitality.

Thank you for your suggestion concerning the prices for breakfast and internet.
We feel that our price – performance ratio is justified as we offer our guest personal service together with high – quality products.

We hope to have the pleasure of welcoming you again in our hotel.

Best regards
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Berlin hotels
Kreuzberg
Crowne Plaza Berlin - Potsdamer Platz
Kreuzberg
Grimm's am Potsdamer Platz
Charlottenburg
Scandic Berlin Potsdamer Platz
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Mitte
Novum Select Hotel Berlin The Wall
Mitte
Mercure Hotel & Residenz Berlin Checkpoint Charlie
Mitte
The Mandala Suites
The Mandala Suites
#12 of 634 in Berlin
4.5 of 5 bubbles 774 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Movenpick Hotel Berlin? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Movenpick Hotel Berlin

Property: Movenpick Hotel Berlin
Address: Schoeneberger Strasse 3 | beim Potsdamer Platz, 10963 Berlin, Germany
Phone Number:
Location: Germany > Berlin > Kreuzberg
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#10 Green Hotel in Berlin
#30 Luxury Hotel in Berlin
#32 Romantic Hotel in Berlin
#33 Business Hotel in Berlin
#35 Family Hotel in Berlin
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Movenpick Hotel Berlin 4.5*
Number of rooms: 243
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The surprisingly different Movenpick Hotel Berlin is as individualand as multi-facetted as the city of Berlin. Centrally but peacefullylocated at Potsdamer Platz, the 4 Star Superior hotel combines innovative interior architecture with modern furnishings. The exceptional design of the former Siemenshofe lends a special charm tothe location's atmosphere. The majority of the 243 guest rooms andthe 12 event rooms face towards the quiet courtyards. The ambienceof the restaurant Hof zwei and the adjacent Lobby Bar has been carefully created as has choice of foods and beverages. Attentive, personal service and authentic friendliness comprise perfect hospitality in historic surroundings. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with DerbySoft Ltd Shanghai HQ Supplier Direct, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Expedia, Orbitz, Hotwire, Agoda, Priceline, Cheap Tickets, Cancelon, Evoline ltd, getaroom.com, TripOnline SA, HotelQuickly and Hotel.de so you can book your Movenpick Hotel Berlin reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Berlin Moevenpick Hotel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing