We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Generator Hostel Berlin Prenzlauer Berg
Ranked #44 of 349 Specialty Lodging in Berlin
Buenos Aires, Argentina
1 review
“Flor”
Reviewed November 26, 2013

I highly recommend Generator Hostel Mitte! I have been there for almost 5 days and it was amazing. The organization and the location are perfect, everything is clean and the interior design is really beautiful. the staff is very warm, i was there alone and they were really nice with me and helped me with everything. Specially Albert Ramon in breakfast, he made me feel like home and i think that its a very important thing when you are far away.
i had a really funny stay at generator and i when i came to visit Berlin again , i definitely will stay at this hostel.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank flor f
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,358 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    322
    514
    292
    119
    111
See reviews for
63
228
223
67
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (77)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Czech first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
16 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed November 13, 2013

This hostel really wasn't for me as it was full of young teens on a school trip, much older people on business trips and huge groups of partiers. I found it quite hard to meet similar backpackers in this place, although I usually do find in other hostels. The whole hostel has a futuristic metal theme that makes it look really ugly. The rooms are kinda bare and the lockers were too small to put my backpack in. The showers were terrible and more like gym showers than hostel showers. The bar was playing the worst music imaginable and they had closed off half of the tiny bar for a 'VIP' party, which again added to the weird feeling of it being quite anti-social. The location was terrible and you're not within walking distance of anything at all. Would strongly recommend against for solo backpackers.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank crayola_ferrari
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these Berlin hotels

Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Paris, France
Level Contributor
20 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
Reviewed November 12, 2013

The organisation of this hostel is impeccable, however, the hostel does attract some party animal types from all around Europe. So be warned bring your EARPLUGS. Otherwise the location is fine just 15 mins tram ride from Alexanderplatz. Everything is clean and the staff are really friendly. A big hello to Sander/Jack and Levent from the bar and David in reception. The rooms are great value but they do double in price at the weekend.
I'll be back someday.

Room Tip: The higher up the better as the Generator bar is on the ground level
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank pauldkelly2000
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
Reviewed November 7, 2013

I highly recommend this place, I have been there for almost 3 weeks meanwhile I found an apartment in Berlin and the staff there is great, they took good care of me helping me with anything I asked to them and even in my language, special thanks to Filippe and David in reception desk and Jack on the bar area, really special people who are doing their best in their jobs, I will refer the place to all my friends who will come in future to visit the city. ( the most important thing in rooms is how clean they are) and no doubt you will meet loads of new people from everywhere.....
Thanks to all for doing my stay so special, best wishes for you all ;)
Uno de los mejores hostales que he conocido, voy a probar incluso otros en ciudsdes como Praga, 100% recomendable ;)

  • Stayed October 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank rakeli13
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Winchester, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
45 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
Reviewed November 5, 2013 via mobile

So. Got good rate for 2nights at £38 for a private room. With own toilet and shower. Basic but did the job and for the price cant go wrong. Location is very convenient train and tram stop seconds away, but far enough away from the noise. My first night i had very noisy neighbours who spent every minute loud singing etc, walls are very thin so either put on headphones or use earplugs etc.
2nd night was fine they left. Used the bar price was ok. Bar staff friendly. Hotel reception staff all friendly. One thing it does lack and needs to get with 21st century on is WIFI. Only place u can get wifi is the reception and chill out area and the stairs on 1st floor. Generator is a big company so they need invest in all round wifi. Id happilly of paid say €2-4 euros a night or for say 3hrs or something. Like i say its something easy to get. Other than that its worth a stay if your on a budget.

Stayed November 2013, traveled solo
Helpful?
Thank luke14ott
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Glasgow, United Kingdom
1 review
Reviewed November 4, 2013

We stayed at the generator for 5 days in november and it was great! It has a great price and the rooms were spotless. It is in a good location as it is next to a train station and a tram stop. I always had a great time at the bar before heading out on town. The staff were really fun and really helpful I'd recommend Jack Sander and vincent, they were very helpful and made the experiance more fun!.

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank colin c c
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Orebic, Croatia
1 review
Reviewed October 30, 2013 via mobile

It was a few years ago that a group of us went to Berlin. We stayed in this hostel and we had nothing to complain about. Just the opposite, we had a great time,food was good,we were playing table football like all the time :) I recommend! Grüße aus Kroatien :*

Stayed October 2013, traveled with friends
Helpful?
Thank MaRiNaDaDa
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Berlin hotels
Mitte
Generator Hostel Berlin Mitte
Mitte
ONE80 Hostels Berlin
ONE80 Hostels Berlin
#21 of 349 in Berlin
1,366 reviews
Moabit
Amstel House Hostel
Amstel House Hostel
#32 of 349 in Berlin
290 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Friedrichshain
All In Hostel
All In Hostel
#54 of 349 in Berlin
580 reviews
Mitte
Heart of Gold Hostel
Heart of Gold Hostel
#14 of 349 in Berlin
678 reviews
Mitte
baxpax downtown Hostel Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Generator Hostel Berlin Prenzlauer Berg? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Generator Hostel Berlin Prenzlauer Berg

Property: Generator Hostel Berlin Prenzlauer Berg
Address: Storkower Str. 160 | Prenzlauer Berg, 10407 Berlin, Germany
Location: Germany > Berlin > Prenzlauer Berg
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #44 of 349 Specialty Lodging in Berlin
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2 star — Generator Hostel Berlin Prenzlauer Berg 2*
Number of rooms: 246
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Generator is located in the ultra trendy Berlin district of Prenzlauer Berg. The area is great for shopping and sightseeing. If you’re a sports fan then the Velodrome hosts many sporting and music events, and guess what? We are only next door. The best way to see and do it all is by hopping on the S-Bahn or a tram into the city centre. This is an area that is lively and vibrant, you’ll never run out of things to do and see. When you get back to Generator, head to the bar and lounge and get yourself a well deserved drink or two and soak up the best entertainment for miles around. We’ve also got great beds for sleepy heads and of course you’ll be enjoying Berlin life in the most stylish and authentic surroundings. Choose from a great selection of rooms, from Dorms, to Quads, to Private en-suites with innovative mod cons. Fast and free Wi-Fi is all yours too. T ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, Expedia, Travelocity, HostelWorld, Orbitz, Hotwire, TripOnline SA, Priceline, Cancelon, Hotel.de and HotelQuickly so you can book your Generator Hostel Berlin Prenzlauer Berg reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Generator Hostel Berlin Hotel Berlin

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing