We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Berlin willkomen, como en casa ;)”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Generator Hostel Berlin Prenzlauer Berg
Ranked #44 of 344 Specialty Lodging in Berlin
1 review
“Berlin willkomen, como en casa ;)”
Reviewed November 7, 2013

I highly recommend this place, I have been there for almost 3 weeks meanwhile I found an apartment in Berlin and the staff there is great, they took good care of me helping me with anything I asked to them and even in my language, special thanks to Filippe and David in reception desk and Jack on the bar area, really special people who are doing their best in their jobs, I will refer the place to all my friends who will come in future to visit the city. ( the most important thing in rooms is how clean they are) and no doubt you will meet loads of new people from everywhere.....
Thanks to all for doing my stay so special, best wishes for you all ;)
Uno de los mejores hostales que he conocido, voy a probar incluso otros en ciudsdes como Praga, 100% recomendable ;)

  • Stayed October 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank rakeli13
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,341 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    321
    506
    286
    117
    111
See reviews for
62
225
216
66
Rating summary
  • Location
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (77)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Czech first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Winchester, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
44 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
Reviewed November 5, 2013 via mobile

So. Got good rate for 2nights at £38 for a private room. With own toilet and shower. Basic but did the job and for the price cant go wrong. Location is very convenient train and tram stop seconds away, but far enough away from the noise. My first night i had very noisy neighbours who spent every minute loud singing etc, walls are very thin so either put on headphones or use earplugs etc.
2nd night was fine they left. Used the bar price was ok. Bar staff friendly. Hotel reception staff all friendly. One thing it does lack and needs to get with 21st century on is WIFI. Only place u can get wifi is the reception and chill out area and the stairs on 1st floor. Generator is a big company so they need invest in all round wifi. Id happilly of paid say €2-4 euros a night or for say 3hrs or something. Like i say its something easy to get. Other than that its worth a stay if your on a budget.

Stayed November 2013, traveled solo
Helpful?
Thank luke14ott
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Glasgow, United Kingdom
1 review
Reviewed November 4, 2013

We stayed at the generator for 5 days in november and it was great! It has a great price and the rooms were spotless. It is in a good location as it is next to a train station and a tram stop. I always had a great time at the bar before heading out on town. The staff were really fun and really helpful I'd recommend Jack Sander and vincent, they were very helpful and made the experiance more fun!.

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank colin c c
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Orebic, Croatia
1 review
Reviewed October 30, 2013 via mobile

It was a few years ago that a group of us went to Berlin. We stayed in this hostel and we had nothing to complain about. Just the opposite, we had a great time,food was good,we were playing table football like all the time :) I recommend! Grüße aus Kroatien :*

Stayed October 2013, traveled with friends
Helpful?
Thank MaRiNaDaDa
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Maidenhead, Berkshire
Level Contributor
78 reviews
39 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 36 helpful votes
Reviewed October 29, 2013

We stayed at the Generator Hostel for a whole week in October 2013. We asked for a room on the first floor as I don't like the lift and got a room towards the front of the building. I would avoid a room towards the back as you can hear the S-Bahn running all the time.
The room was small but spotless and the beds comfortable. The bathroom was like something from a boat, really small but functionable.
The reception staff are really lovely. They have the patience of Saints and will give directions and tips with a smile. Breakfast is also great, freshly baked rolls, jam, yoghurt, fruit, cheese, sausage- what more can you ask for?
the design is futuristic, there is a lot of metal and blue lights-not to my taste but some might find it funky.
The only thing that was annoying were some of the other guest-coming in late at night and shouting in the corridors, knocking on doors at all hours - so take your ear-pugs folks!
There is an S-Bahn just outside the hostel that takes you into town pretty quickly and runs until late at night. There is a massive public swimming pool on the opposite side of the S-Bahn if you would like a relaxing swim at the end of a busy day sightseeing.
We would come back here on our next trip to Berlin!
Top tip-do take a free walking tour, it was a real treat and eye-opener.

Room Tip: Take a front facing room.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Songbird1954
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Torun, Poland
Level Contributor
2 reviews
Reviewed October 4, 2013

Great prices, fine location, friendly and helpfull stuff. What else do You want from the hostel? ;)
There are only beds in rooms, very small bathroom (when you choose the room with private bathroom). It's clean and rather quiet. Breakfast is continental: bread, cereals, jam, coffe&tea and juice. The location is very good. S-Bahn station, tram & bus stations are very close to the hostel. There are a few restaurants in the neighbourhood, f.ex. italian, mexican, turkish cuisine.

I've been to Berlin twice and always choose Generator.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank KamilaS3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
barcelona
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed October 4, 2013

Excellent quality for the money i have pay...7 euros night, wifi included in common areas, amazing FD staff really helpfull all the time, tram & metro really close (2 min) to the center in 10 min., many restaurants and Burger King close, the hostel was clean and all the time perfect, many thanks!

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank matador17
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Berlin hotels
Mitte
Generator Hostel Berlin Mitte
Mitte
The Circus Hostel
The Circus Hostel
#4 of 344 in Berlin
1,203 reviews
Mitte
ONE80 Hostels Berlin
ONE80 Hostels Berlin
#21 of 344 in Berlin
1,338 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Friedrichshain
All In Hostel
All In Hostel
#53 of 344 in Berlin
575 reviews
Kreuzberg
Grand Hostel Berlin
Grand Hostel Berlin
#5 of 344 in Berlin
888 reviews
Mitte
baxpax downtown Hostel Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Generator Hostel Berlin Prenzlauer Berg? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Generator Hostel Berlin Prenzlauer Berg

Property: Generator Hostel Berlin Prenzlauer Berg
Address: Storkower Str. 160 | Prenzlauer Berg, 10407 Berlin, Germany
Location: Germany > Berlin > Prenzlauer Berg
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #44 of 344 Specialty Lodging in Berlin
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2 star — Generator Hostel Berlin Prenzlauer Berg 2*
Number of rooms: 246
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Generator is located in the ultra trendy Berlin district of Prenzlauer Berg. The area is great for shopping and sightseeing. If you’re a sports fan then the Velodrome hosts many sporting and music events, and guess what? We are only next door. The best way to see and do it all is by hopping on the S-Bahn or a tram into the city centre. This is an area that is lively and vibrant, you’ll never run out of things to do and see. When you get back to Generator, head to the bar and lounge and get yourself a well deserved drink or two and soak up the best entertainment for miles around. We’ve also got great beds for sleepy heads and of course you’ll be enjoying Berlin life in the most stylish and authentic surroundings. Choose from a great selection of rooms, from Dorms, to Quads, to Private en-suites with innovative mod cons. Fast and free Wi-Fi is all yours too. T ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, Hotwire, Orbitz, HostelWorld, Travelocity, Cancelon, Jetsetter, Priceline, Cheap Tickets, TripOnline SA and HotelQuickly so you can book your Generator Hostel Berlin Prenzlauer Berg reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Generator Hostel Berlin Hotel Berlin

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing