We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good hotel”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 13 more sites!
Berlin Marriott Hotel
Ranked #24 of 634 Hotels in Berlin
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersGold level
Europe
Level Contributor
8 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Good hotel”
Reviewed June 17, 2014

You get what you pay for here: service is good, room service is efficient, breakfast is excellent (fruit smoothies!), there is a parking if you arrive by car (although good parking skills required - places are rather narrow), the location is central, the rooms are big enough and well equipped. The only thing for a picky customer to complain about would be the reservation system of Marriott.com, which does not seem to transfer all the requests to the hotel, so I had to repeat all my requests again at the reception (eg. one bed instead of two beds, a bed for a child etc.). I wouldn't complain about it in the Hostel Waka-Waka in Far-Far Away, but a Marriott should be perfect, shouldn't it?

  • Stayed May 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank kubunio
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BerlinMarriott, Manager at Berlin Marriott Hotel, responded to this review, June 20, 2014
Dear kubunio,

Thank you very much for your feedback following your recent stay. We are very pleased to hear how much you enjoyed the hotel's facilities and especially the breakfast.

We hope to have the chance to welcome you back to the Berlin Marriott Hotel during your next trip to the heart of Germany.

The Berlin Marriott Hotel
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,783 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    1,096
    548
    103
    24
    12
See reviews for
435
505
74
496
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (219)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Czech first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Hebrew first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Greenville, South Carolina
Level Contributor
56 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
Reviewed June 15, 2014

Our family of four began our 2 week holiday with a stay at the Berlin Marriott. The hotel was clean, the staff very courteous, and the room was excellent. The room was much larger than many European rooms we have used. Great exercise facilities, pool and saunas on the ground floor! Nice restaurant which we did not try, but always had plenty of patrons.

Location was fantastic and within walking distance of most of the East Berlin historical sites, Brandenburg Gate, Tiergarten, and many restaurants. Train station was right next door so easy to use as a base for exploring other areas of the city as well! Would HIGHLY recommend!

Room Tip: Ask for a room away from the street as they are much more quiet.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank gogators8993
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BerlinMarriott, Manager at Berlin Marriott Hotel, responded to this review, June 20, 2014
Dear gogators8993,

What an amazing review, thank you for taking the time to share your experience and for choosing the Berlin Marriott Hotel for your holidays. It is fantastic to read how much you enjoyed your stay. We have shared your comments with our team and they were all very proud.

Thank you again and I hope it won’t be long until we have the opportunity to welcome you back.

The Berlin Marriott Hotel
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
newbury
Level Contributor
42 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed June 12, 2014

Great pillows, comfy big bed, good sized rooms. Bathrooms big and very clean. Ice machines along the corridor. Restaurant is outrageously expensive for the quality of the food
Located just off Potsdammer Platz so convenient for transport and some restaurants but the area is fairly soulless and dull with little character. If you're interested in taking the round Berlin bus tour there's a stop a short walk from the hotel. Taxis wait outside the hotel so it's easy getting around if you need one.

  • Stayed June 2014, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank minerva14
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BerlinMarriott, Manager at Berlin Marriott Hotel, responded to this review, June 14, 2014
Dear minerva14,

Thank you very much for choosing our hotel for your recent stay in Berlin! It’s great to hear that you enjoyed your rooms and all of the amenities with it.

Regarding our prices of the Restaurant Midtown- Grill: we are using regional and high-quality products to keep our standards. That is the reason why they have a higher price level. But I can recommend our Lobby and Catwalk Bar with delicious snacks and menus.

Thank you again for your feedback and I hope to have the opportunity to welcome you back in the future.

The Berlin Marriott Hotel
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Berlin, Germany
Level Contributor
46 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed June 8, 2014 via mobile

I booked 3 nights in this hotel. I was with my newborn baby and I arrived there at 9:00 AM. I knew that the check in is 2:00 PM but I just decided to stay in the lobby for some coffee. However, the very nice lady in the reception just showed up and says " I can give you the room right now because you have a baby and you probably both need it" I really respected her behaviour. I haven't tried their breakfast. However, I ordered it " breakfast in room" very outstanding one. I highly recommend the hotel for quit and nice stay.

Stayed June 2014
Helpful?
Thank Hanin S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BerlinMarriott, Manager at Berlin Marriott Hotel, responded to this review, June 9, 2014
Dear Hanin S,

Wow! Thank you for the 5 star rating and awesome comments about our staff! I am so glad you enjoyed your In Room Dining breakfast and that you were able to check in early.

I would like to recommend trying our Catwalk Bar with the best cocktails in town.

We hope you choose the Berlin Marriott Hotel for your next trip!

The Berlin Marriott Hotel
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Stockholm, Sweden
Level Contributor
90 reviews
35 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 42 helpful votes
Reviewed June 2, 2014

We stayed two nights at the hotel. The location is probably the best in Berlin, a few steps to Potsdamer platz with all communications and a few step in the other direction you find Brandenburg Gate.
You will find the staff friendly and any question you have they kindly answer. We stayed on the 9 floor and at that level there is very little noise from the street. The room was large and modern with everything you can need for a couple of days.
I'm member of Marriott Rewards and have access to the executive lounge - in this hotel that access was a disappointment. The lounge was overbooked and there was not enough with staff to server the high amount of guests. My recommendation to the hotel is to make sure the number of guest with executive access meet the size of the room and the service.
With that remark I anyhow strong recommend the hotel if you are visiting Berlin.

Room Tip: A room high up - the hotel have 10 etage. I also prefer to stay away from the elevator that can give...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Sune N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BerlinMarriott, Manager at Berlin Marriott Hotel, responded to this review, June 5, 2014
Dear zuune,

Thank you for taking the time to post a review of your recent stay. We are so pleased to hear you enjoyed our central location in the heart of the city.

I would like to apologize for any inconveniences that you experienced with the noise and the size of our Executive Lounge. Rest assured that we will certainly use your feedback as a tool to improve the services that we provide.

We would love to have you back with us in the near future and look forward to seeing you again.

The Berlin Marriott Hotel
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
The Netherlands
Level Contributor
38 reviews
33 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 57 helpful votes
Reviewed June 2, 2014

We stayed here last week for our 20th wedding anniversary. Since one of our daughters is studying in Berlin we wanted to spend the long weekend with her. We booked a regular room for the 1st night for only the 3 of us, since our daughter was joining us on Thursday, from Thursday on we had booked a suite and a regular room for 3 nights.
Before hand the reservation department contacted us to ask if the booking was correct, I told the lady that we wanted to have the rooms on the same floor and told het about the wedding anniversary.
Check in was a breeze, very friendly lady checked us in! A warm welcome after a long trip! She upgraded us to a room on the 10th floor (Executive floor) because we are Marriott Platinum members. We spend over 70+ nights in hotels all over the world. The first morning we had breakfast in their restaurant, I liked their smoothies and healthy options but warm options were very limited. Just scrambled eggs, sausages, bacon but no waffles or pancakes. After breakfast we went to the front desk to ask if we could move into the suite and take the 2nd room. This time there was a very young, unfriendly lady that did not understand us or wouldn't understand us. She definitely had not her best day…She even got a sort of rude at one point! She gave us the suite at the 4rth floor and our daughters were in a room at the 10th. Not exactly what we asked for. In our opinion it was better to stay in the room where we were at at that moment so we asked if this was possible…We had to call their reservation department from the front office desk?!?! The receptionist kept telling us that their hotel was fully booked and we had to take the suite or else did not have a room! And we could not cancel anymore was what she said. On internet we saw there were rooms available for that night….My husband wanted to move to the Ritz at the other side of the street….After talking to one of their managers he told us we could stay in the room that we were in. He took only € 20,00 of the rate that we should have paid for the suite….Not even an appologie or a bottle of wine to make it up. Lounge was overcrowded that night, not enough staff, it was a mess, it got only a bit better the 2nd night. And to our surprise they made a reservation for a family in the lounge….The table was kept empty wit a reservations card till 7.30 pm till the family came while others had to stand to eat their food or had their drink!! Never experienced table reservations in executive lounges before!! Good choice of food and drinks. Every night for turndown there were the little Haribo bears, no change for chocolate whatsoever. Room was clean but no vacuum cleaning for 4 days. It had looked to us that before us someone had stayed there with a white dog…Dissapointing stay again, next time we will definitely go to the Ritz or Hyatt, great hotels in same location!

  • Stayed May 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank koala2409
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BerlinMarriott, Manager at Berlin Marriott Hotel, responded to this review, June 3, 2014
Dear koala2409,

Thank you so much for choosing the Berlin Marriott Hotel as your hotel of stay to celebrate your 20th anniversary and thank you for taking the time to share your feedback on TripAdvisor.

I sincerely regret to read that your experience fell far below your expectations.
Your description of our service was so not in keeping with the feedback we generally receive, yet I am very appreciative that you brought this experience to our attention. I sincerely apologize for the inconvenience.

Please feel free to reach out to me directly so that I may address your concerns. (berlin@marriotthotels.com)

We hope you will give us another chance to make it right and to truly see what so many of our TripAdvisor reviewers do.

The Berlin Marriott Hotel
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Royersford, Pennsylvania
Level Contributor
113 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
Reviewed May 30, 2014

This is an excellent hotel when spending time in Berlin. Great location, attentive staff, modern and clean rooms. Common space was great for relaxing, the restaurant in the hotel was awesome. Free wifi is always a plus. Within walking distance to all main sightseeing destinations.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank squish68
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BerlinMarriott, Manager at Berlin Marriott Hotel, responded to this review, June 2, 2014
Dear squish68,

I thank you so much for taking the time to write a review on TripAdvisor following your recent visit at our hotel.

It is such a great pleasure to read that you consider our property as “an great experience” and that you spent a relaxing stay with us.

I hope that you will present us with the opportunity to welcome you back in the near future.

The Berlin Marriott Hotel
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Berlin hotels
Charlottenburg
The Ritz-Carlton, Berlin
Charlottenburg
The Mandala Hotel
The Mandala Hotel
#8 of 634 in Berlin
2,128 reviews
Charlottenburg
Grand Hyatt Berlin
Grand Hyatt Berlin
#22 of 634 in Berlin
2,888 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Mitte
Regent Berlin
Regent Berlin
#5 of 634 in Berlin
1,528 reviews
Mitte
The Mandala Suites
The Mandala Suites
#13 of 634 in Berlin
810 reviews
Mitte
Hilton Berlin
Hilton Berlin
#59 of 634 in Berlin
4,392 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Berlin Marriott Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Berlin Marriott Hotel

Property: Berlin Marriott Hotel
Address: Inge-Beisheim-Platz 1, 10785 Berlin, Germany
Phone Number:
Location: Germany > Berlin > Charlottenburg
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#7 Green Hotel in Berlin
#21 Luxury Hotel in Berlin
#21 Business Hotel in Berlin
#24 Romantic Hotel in Berlin
#27 Family Hotel in Berlin
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:5 star — Berlin Marriott Hotel 5*
Number of rooms: 379
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Ideally located at the Potsdamer Platz in the heart of city centre, the Berlin Marriott Hotel is near renowned German sites like the Brandenburg Gate and Sony Center. Our sophisticated hotel boasts a sleek and contemporary design perfect for both the business and leisure traveler alike. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, Orbitz, Ctrip TA, Hotwire, Travelocity, Priceline, Agoda, TripOnline SA, Cheap Tickets, Cancelon, Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly and Hotel.de so you can book your Berlin Marriott Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Marriott Berlin
Berlin Marriott

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing