We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Cheap for an expensive hotel”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 13 more sites!
Berlin Marriott Hotel
Ranked #24 of 634 Hotels in Berlin
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersGold level
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Cheap for an expensive hotel”
Reviewed January 22, 2014 via mobile

Bland location in Berlin's equivalent of Brent Cross shopping centre - Potsdamer Platz. For £180 a night you expect breakfast and not having to shell out ?20 a day for WiFi. Compared to the far superior Circus in a much better location it's a waste of money. You can get a decent breakfast (?5) and free wi-fi in the cafe just across the road.

Helpful?
4 Thank Tim E
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveler and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
BerlinMarriott, Manager at Berlin Marriott Hotel, responded to this review, January 23, 2014
Dear guest,

thank you so much for your feedback and for taking the time to write a review. We were very sorry to read that you had such a disappointing stay with us & that our location was not appealing to you.

For your next stay I would like to recommend to you our Executive Rooms including free Wifi & access to the Executive Lounge with breakfast, buffet in the evening and beverages.

I am open to any further constructive words you may have.

It would be a pleasure to have you back as soon as possible.

Your Berlin Marriott Team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Write a Review

1,786 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    1,098
    548
    103
    25
    12
See reviews for
436
505
75
496
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (219)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Czech first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Hebrew first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Austin, Texas
Level Contributor
132 reviews
29 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 45 helpful votes
Reviewed January 19, 2014

Just came back from celebrating my mum's 60th birthday at the Berlin Marriott. It's a great location just five minutes walk from Brandenburg Tor, the rooms are great size and of the usual Marriott high standard of course. The staff is friendly, service-minded and attentive, as long as you don't sit in the lobby lounge where we unfortunately had to leave after being ignored for ten minutes by the two female waiters, who seemed more interested in talking to each other than serving guests.

The Front Desk and Concierge were wonderful though and they really made our stay so great and helped in making my mum's 60th birthday weekend so wonderful. Especially Hatem and Jennifer, who helped me arrange some surprises for my mum and also the Room Service waiter who brought up the birthday cake and coffee with perfect timing.

The breakfast restaurant is open late on the weekend so you get to lay in a little. They have a large selection of bread and pastries and cereals and sausages and pretty much everything you could possibly want from breakfast. The breakfast staff was also very attentive and came over almost immediately with coffee, tea and juice and were clearing away plates as soon as they were empty.

Don't forget to bring a bathing suite, as the hotel has a nice pool as well as two saunas, one with 60 degrees and one with 90 degrees.

It really is a fantastic hotel that I highly recommend to anyone going to Berlin.

Room Tip: Room 970, 972 and 974 will have a great view of downtown Berlin, including the famous Television Tow...
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Malin D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BerlinMarriott, Manager at Berlin Marriott Hotel, responded to this review, January 23, 2014
Dear mallafri,

thank you so much for your five-star review of the Berlin Marriott Hotel. We are delighted that you chose our hotel to celebrate your mum's 60th birthday! We appreciate your comments regarding our employees.

It warms our hearts to know that you had an enjoyable experience, and we can't wait to host you again soon.

Please let us know if there is anything we can do to make your next stay even better.

Our Berlin Marriott Team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Frankfurt, Germany
Level Contributor
22 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
Reviewed January 11, 2014

The hotel lies in a very central strategic area in the middle of everything. All main attractions can be reached easily and quickly by walking to them or catching a U-Bahn at the nearby Postdamer Platz station.

The hotel is very modern, clean and comfortable.

The personnel at the reception are very attentive and provide a good and efficient service.

The not-so-positive issues that I encountered were that they are extremely stingy with the toiletries they leave at the room. If you travel with one or two people you will need to call housekeeping co tinuoulsy to ask them for additional shampoos shower gels and towels. Also they are stingy with the coffee, teas and cups that they leave. Again ypu have to request more every day and they seem to not remember the day after about your needs.

The lobby bar is nice but the service awful. You have to run after the waiters to place orders and when you want your bill. They totally forget about you. The most terrible thing that I disliked is the smoking room near the lobby bar. It is closed with with glass windows but the smell still escapes and can be noticed at the lobby bar. It is terrible and shocking that in 2014 in this country smoking is still encouraged in this way.

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank R-fm-d
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
96 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
Reviewed January 10, 2014 via mobile

You can always rely on a marriott hotel to be in the centre of things so even if you don't want to spend so much at least locate the marriott in the city you are travelling to and find accommodation in the area. Berlin has loads to do for the whole family and the hotel is very relaxing after all the days activity with its pool and warm atmosphere around the hotel. There are plenty of restaurants just across the road and the sony centre is just up the road and has plenty of eateries and shops to choose from.

  • Stayed July 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Lindaw65
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BerlinMarriott, Manager at Berlin Marriott Hotel, responded to this review, January 17, 2014
Dear Lindaw65,

Thank you for taking the time to share your feedback about your recent stay with us
We look forward to welcoming you back during your next trip to Berlin.

Kind regards

Your Berlin Marriott Hotel
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chicago, Illinois
2 reviews
Reviewed January 8, 2014

We had a fantastic experience overall. This hotel is located in a great area and is very convenient to sightseeing by foot as well as S and U Bahn stations. Very spacious room, fantastic Executive Lounge, great customer service. I would recommend this hotel to anyone and will definitely stay here again.

  • Stayed December 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Catherine H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BerlinMarriott, Manager at Berlin Marriott Hotel, responded to this review, January 12, 2014
Dear Catherine H,

Thank you for taking the time to write about your experience at the hotel. I am delighted that you enjoyed your recent stay with us.

I very much look forward to welcoming you back in the near future.

Your Berlin Marriott Hotel
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chicago, Illinois
Level Contributor
28 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
Reviewed January 7, 2014

We loved this hotel. It is in the perfect location for exploring many of the local attractions. It was built on top of what once was "No Mans Land" between the East and the West. There are portions of the wall just across the street. It has a beautiful pool (and lovely locker rooms with showers). Staff were very helpful, there are many cosmopolitan restaurants to get to within a few blocks walk like Sushi, Indian, Italian, Thai and of course German! There is a small mall with a grocery store a block away and also several Starbucks close by (helpful for those struggling with jet lag)! We were here December 28- January 1. While the hotel was full, once we closed our door it did not sound like anyone else was staying there. Never once did I hear our family in the room next door or people in the hallway. On 12/31 there was a loud New Year's party in the lobby (to be expected) but once we closed our door the sound was very faint and we had no trouble falling asleep at all. Whoever sound proofed this hotel did an amazing job! Rooms are huge by European standards and there were 2 double beds, plenty of room for luggage and a beautiful bathroom. Everything was spotless. We had room service sandwiches our last day, prices were reasonable for room service and no huge gratuity or hotel delivery service added. Concierge's were friendly and helpful. I would highly recommend this hotel to anyone.

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank JMMChicago_Illinois
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
whitehaven
Level Contributor
54 reviews
30 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
Reviewed January 5, 2014

We stayed here over the christmas period on a bed and breakfast basis .The room we had was lovely and clean and was kept so during our stay ,with toiletries ,towels and linen replaced every day .The buffet breakfast was excellent with a good choice . The staff were friendly efficient and willing to please .To top it all off the hotel was in a great location ,a short walk to all of the main tourist sights in Berlin .The only downside was the charge for Wi fi in rooms it was only free in the lobby area or if you were in the club rooms .

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank lovetravel044
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BerlinMarriott, Manager at Berlin Marriott Hotel, responded to this review, January 12, 2014
Dear lovetravel044,

I am pleased to read that you had a really enjoyable stay with us and that you found my team very helpful, as well as your room being very comfortable.

We look forward to welcoming you back again when next in Berlin.

Your Berlin Marriott Hotel
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Berlin hotels
Charlottenburg
The Ritz-Carlton, Berlin
Charlottenburg
The Mandala Hotel
The Mandala Hotel
#9 of 634 in Berlin
2,130 reviews
Charlottenburg
Grand Hyatt Berlin
Grand Hyatt Berlin
#22 of 634 in Berlin
2,890 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Mitte
Regent Berlin
Regent Berlin
#5 of 634 in Berlin
1,528 reviews
Mitte
The Mandala Suites
The Mandala Suites
#13 of 634 in Berlin
810 reviews
Mitte
Hilton Berlin
Hilton Berlin
#57 of 634 in Berlin
4,395 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Berlin Marriott Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Berlin Marriott Hotel

Property: Berlin Marriott Hotel
Address: Inge-Beisheim-Platz 1, 10785 Berlin, Germany
Phone Number:
Location: Germany > Berlin > Charlottenburg
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#7 Green Hotel in Berlin
#21 Luxury Hotel in Berlin
#21 Business Hotel in Berlin
#24 Romantic Hotel in Berlin
#27 Family Hotel in Berlin
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:5 star — Berlin Marriott Hotel 5*
Number of rooms: 379
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Ideally located at the Potsdamer Platz in the heart of city centre, the Berlin Marriott Hotel is near renowned German sites like the Brandenburg Gate and Sony Center. Our sophisticated hotel boasts a sleek and contemporary design perfect for both the business and leisure traveler alike. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Orbitz, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Hotwire, Priceline, TripOnline SA, Agoda, Ctrip TA, Cheap Tickets, Cancelon, Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly and Hotel.de so you can book your Berlin Marriott Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Marriott Berlin
Berlin Marriott

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing