We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great location, comfy good sized rooms”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
Berlin Marriott Hotel
Ranked #23 of 635 Hotels in Berlin
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersGold level
Reviewed August 14, 2013

Stayed for two nights in august (2 adjoining rooms). Rooms were spacious and amenities were very nice. Close to the Brandenburg gates, metro, Tiergarten, and Mitte area. Beds were super comfy, and appreciated the down pillows. Would love to have free wi-fi (we did purchase, but wi-fi is becoming an 'expectation' not an 'extra').

Starbuck was just next door, as is another coffee place. We did not eat breakfast at the hotel (I think it was something like 30 euros, which is really pricey!).

Staff were nice when I asked where I could find a place to buy hair conditioner - they had some that they brought up to the rooms (much appreciated!)

Would stay here again.

  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Pneezy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (1,931)
There are newer reviews for Berlin Marriott Hotel
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

1,095 - 1,101 of 1,931 reviews

Reviewed August 14, 2013

A modern bright hotel, situated in a very central location at Potsdamer Platz, convenient for Brandenburger Tor and the Reichstag.
Rooms were very clean and well kept, with mini bar, tea and coffee. Beds were comfortable with an assortment of firm and soft pillows so had a pretty good night's sleep. Loved the bathroom- the shower was about the best ever , featuring a rain shower and a hugely powerful conventional shower. Gorgeous. I was in there for ages. Also, loved the bath products.
Really enjoyed the breakfast as there was plenty of choice for all tastes: cereals, croissants, rolls, fruits, hot and cold items, all of really good quality and always kept topped up.
Only two things troubled me slightly: One was the wifi cost, which seemed rather pricey at 20 Euros daily. The other was the lack of dishes in the lobby bar and café for evening dining, suitable for non- meat eaters. I gazed at the menus like a lost soul. Obviously steaks are the big thing and they' re very proud of the quality but I really think they could throw in a couple of alternative dishes. It's not often veggies can find absolutely nothing at all.
Staff were really lovely and charming throughout. It's also handy having a taxi rank just round the corner and I found taxi travel to be pretty reasonable and the drivers are a mine of information.
I enjoyed the visit and would be happy to stay again anytime.

  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank NorthStarFrost
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 12, 2013

This Marriott is very convenient to all of the major tourist attractions either by a short walk or by train as it is located right across the street from the UBahn and SBahn stations of Plotsdamer Platz. Using the train systems in Berlin is a breeze. The hotel has a decent gym as Marriotts go and also has an executive lounge that serves a full breakfast and a light dinner with free beer, wine, sodas and water. If you're visiting, especially in the summer, paying for access to the executive lounge (if you're not gold or platinum members) may still be worth it because you can load up on water and drinks before you go exploring, and the full breakfast and dinner helps to defray some costs. In Germany, like most of Europe, bottled water is expensive unlike the U.S. it's about €2.5 to 3.0 for a small bottle (0.25l which is about 12 oz.). The rooms themselves are like most Marriotts - clean and consistent. Staff was friendly and helpful.

  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Vitidemi
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 11, 2013

LOCATION-
Hotel is located in Potsdamer Platz. Great location with UBahn right across the street. Also walking distance to some tourist spots, ie. Tiergarten Park, Brandenburger Tor (Brandenburg Gate), and Unter den Linden. I noticed that the City Sight Seeing buses stop at Potsdamer Platz but I highly recommend walking this wonderful city and/or using the subway. They have a very clean and efficient subway system that I suggest utilizing.

STAFF-
Front desk is always courteous. Early checkin @ 11am was not at all an issue. Being MRW Elite, had a sweet treat waiting in my room when I arrived. YUM!
I will say however, I didn't like one of the concierge gentlemen. Can't remember his name (not German though)- he was quite standoffish. That's probably the only negative thing I can say about this property.

ROOMS-
In keeping with Marriott standards. Great size, very comfy and always clean.

When in Berlin, this is my property of choice. You can't go wrong.

  • Stayed: July 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank mrsgfaz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BerlinMarriott, Manager at Berlin Marriott Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded August 20, 2013

Dear gdlstx,

We like your pictures of our new renovated rooms very much. We always try our very best to have the room ready upon arrival. If not, we are happy to store the luggage for you so you can enjoy the city from the first minute.
All our guests are treated as top VIPs – nevertheless, our Elite Members await a little welcome amenity in their room, which is changed monthly by our Executive Chef.

Thank you for being your first choice,
The Berlin Marriott Team

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 8, 2013

We had a great time here. This is a city feel, new, modern, nicely decorated, clean and above everything comfortable hotel - great rooms, great beds. Location is great - on Postdamer Platz and close to Branderburg Tor - next to metro station, surrounded with shops and restaurants. Breakfast was excellent. We did not have much time to use swimming pool, but did go there for a short swim. Area was spotless . Hotel has a restaurant(steakhouse), although it is bit pricey food and atmosphere are really good - definitely worth it.

  • Stayed: March 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank TravelWithKids2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 8, 2013

Let me first say, I noticed on recent comment about the "sauna" feel of the rooms. We were in Berlin during a very hot period and noticed the A/C in the room couldn't keep up. It might be a problem w/ the system, who knows. It didn't deter from our stay though.

The hotel is top notch. The location is superb, as we were able to walk to several locations w/o much difficulty (Checkpoint Charlie, Brandenburg Gate). Staff was extremely friendly and helpful. Concierge service helped us set up a couple tours and were of great assistance, as was the front desk staff. Wifi was available in the lobby for free; rooms for a fee. So our kids hung out in the lobby if they needed their precious link to the outside world via their phones. Breakfast buffet was nice, many selections. There are many restaurants nearby (near Sony Center and nearby streets), all within a reasonable short walk. If we're ever in Berlin again, I would not hesitate to stay here again.

  • Stayed: July 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Eric M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 8, 2013

This hotel is in a perfect location for everything from cheap eats to the other end
easy walking to all of the sights and so much more But beware of the bike lanes as we are not used to then in Australia and I am sure I might have caused some cyclist some greaf

  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank dillon022
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BerlinMarriott, Manager at Berlin Marriott Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded August 20, 2013

Hi dillon022,

Berlin is great for cycling and it’s good fun to explore the city with a bicycle. See the next time our Concierge. We do have them for rent and he can give you great advise for a little tour.

Sunny greetings from Berlin,
The Berlin Marriott Team

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Berlin hotels
Charlottenburg
The Ritz-Carlton, Berlin
Charlottenburg
Grand Hyatt Berlin
Grand Hyatt Berlin
#22 of 635 in Berlin
3,045 reviews
Charlottenburg
The Mandala Hotel
The Mandala Hotel
#8 of 635 in Berlin
2,273 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Mitte
Regent Berlin
Regent Berlin
#5 of 635 in Berlin
1,590 reviews
Mitte
Hilton Berlin
Hilton Berlin
#65 of 635 in Berlin
4,589 reviews
Mitte
Hotel Adlon Kempinski
Hotel Adlon Kempinski
#15 of 635 in Berlin
3,505 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Berlin Marriott Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Berlin Marriott Hotel

Address: Inge-Beisheim-Platz 1, 10785 Berlin, Germany
Phone Number:
Location: Germany > Berlin > Charlottenburg
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#7 Green Hotel in Berlin
#21 Luxury Hotel in Berlin
#21 Business Hotel in Berlin
#24 Romantic Hotel in Berlin
#27 Family Hotel in Berlin
Price Range: $164 - $433 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:5 star — Berlin Marriott Hotel 5*
Number of rooms: 379
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Ideally located at the Potsdamer Platz in the heart of city centre, the Berlin Marriott Hotel is near renowned German sites like the Brandenburg Gate and Sony Center. Our sophisticated hotel boasts a sleek and contemporary design perfect for both the business and leisure traveler alike. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travelocity, Hotels.com, Priceline, Expedia, Marriott, Orbitz, Agoda, Booking.com, TripOnline SA, Hotwire, Cheap Tickets, Cancelon, HotelQuickly and Evoline ltd so you can book your Berlin Marriott Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Marriott Berlin
Berlin Marriott

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing