We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“High marks for functionality”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Berlin Marriott Hotel
Ranked #24 of 634 Hotels in Berlin
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersGold level
Santiago, Chile
Level Contributor
140 reviews
136 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 192 helpful votes
“High marks for functionality”
Reviewed June 9, 2013

Berlin was the focal point of our 8 day European vacation, and we wanted to be central to the major attractions. My wife, infant daughter, and I have also come to appreciate the convenience of the concierge lounge, so this perk elevated the Marriott above the nearby Ritz-Carlton. The two hotels are within a stone’s throw, so the location was a moot point.

We arrived at 6pm and received a warm reception. The associate informed us that we had been assigned to a quiet room, as requested. Let me pause for a moment and recognize that the hotel not only acknowledged my request but acted on it. It’s sad to say, but this sequence of events does not come into fruition often enough. The associate also informed us that the concierge lounge is open 7 days a week unlike many a stateside properties.

What immediately struck me about the room was that it felt new. The city is on the march with new, contemporary buildings dominating the landscape. The room matched this vibe. The carpet was a dynamic integration of burgundy, midnight blue, and beige. Dark wood surrounded the TV and served as the headboard. There were also several black and white photos of Berlin sights. In short, the room was outfitted with all of the standard Marriott elements plus a hint of Berlin.

The bathroom was highlighted by a glass shower. The pressure was adequate, although I couldn’t quite find the ideal temperature. On the plus side, there is a night light which helped me to find the toilet when the baby was sleeping. You don’t want to wake a sleeping baby, and the night light avoided this situation.

One drawback was the view – or lack thereof – from our 10th floor room. We looked into an office building and could see the busy professionals typing from 8-5. It’s all too reminiscent of what we left behind and hoped to forget while on vacation.

Another drawback was the lack of in-room entertainment. There were four English language television stations and no on-demand movies. Let met set the record straight that I did not travel 5,000 miles to keep up with the Kardashians. But when your infant daughter is wide awake at 1am, you’ll also wish there was something to watch.

The concierge lounge was our main selling point and met our expectation. Breakfast included several hot items – eggs, bacon, and sausage – plus continental fare. The croissants were top-notch and rivaled those from local bakeries. Snacks were available throughout the day, and the evening happy hour would easily pass for dinner. The lounge saved our family of three at least 50 Euros per day. My only qualm is that the hotel does not allow you to take drinks out of the lounge. I’m not sure why this policy is in place. In fact, it’s the first Marriott where I’ve encountered such a policy. Frankly, it sets up the staff for an awkward conversation. It would behoove the hotel to explain the context.

In terms of facilities, the fitness center and pool are in the basement. The equipment was comparable to other Marriott properties in number and quality.

Regarding location, the hotel is convenient to the major tourist sites – Brandenburg Gate, Checkpoint Charlie, and the Tiergarten. Friedrichstrasse, one of the main shopping arteries is a 15-minute walk. Add another 10 minutes and you’re in the museum zone. There are hotels which are more central, namely the Westin and Hilton. I liken Postdamer Platz to Times Square – a crowded, tourist hub with forgettable restaurants. The aforementioned hotels are much closer to desirable dining options.

Berlin is a city steeped in history. Bombarded during World War II, a few artifacts remain. But the widespread destruction forced rebuilding, and the city is a juxtaposition of old and new. The Marriott falls into the latter category – a modern, comfortable hotel. It will not win any architectural design awards but earns high marks for functionality.

Pros: Rooms outfitted with all Marriott elements, glass shower in bathroom, concierge lounge open 7 days a week

Cons: Exterior will not win any design awards, 10th floor room without a view, limited in-room entertainment options

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank scl44
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,707 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    1,046
    525
    101
    23
    12
See reviews for
420
484
70
475
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (213)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Hebrew first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Milan, Italy
Level Contributor
48 reviews
32 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 39 helpful votes
Reviewed June 9, 2013

for a five star hotle the wifi m u s t be free il all hotel,this time only in the lobby.
excellent breakfast as room and sauna and sw.pool.sono stato due notti ,e' un ottimo hotel vicino al sonycenter ed a 100 metri dalla porta di brandeburgo.lo consiglio

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank tentolo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Miami Beach, Florida
Level Contributor
5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed June 9, 2013

Crack staff, perfect location (you know who's) Bunker is across the street. The food was wonderful. Room modern clean, triple panned to keep all noise out we were right on the main street 6th floor. bed good amazing array of world TV, bright clean bathroom, hot shower. All good.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank brucevodka
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Greater Melbourne, Australia
Level Contributor
3,189 reviews
212 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 634 helpful votes
Reviewed June 8, 2013

Berlin Marriott was one of th best Marriott Hotels, close to most Berlin attractions.The design was modern and had moved from the traditional Marriott interior. The staff were pleasant and attentive.It was close to most Berlin attractions and an excellent location.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Oldjack
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Berlin_Marriott, Berlin Marriott Hotel at Berlin Marriott Hotel, responded to this review, June 13, 2013
Dear OldJack,

Thank you very much for the rating! We really appreciate your time and effort.

It is great to hear such positive comments about our newly renovated hotel and are delighted to know that you liked our new rooms and the contemporary design.

We are looking forward to your welcoming you back in Berlin!.

All the best,
Your Berlin Marriott Team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, Australia
Level Contributor
89 reviews
26 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 42 helpful votes
Reviewed June 8, 2013 via mobile

Tha marriot is very well located next to potsdam plaza & the sony centre, prefect for a short walk to the brandonberg gate & other interesting locations, the hotel is well appointed & the staff are friendly & very helpful, our only minor issue was the rooms are non smoking but ours smelt of cigarette smoke, we didn't ask to change as we liked the view & layout of the room

  • Stayed June 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank vpmuscat
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chicago, Illinois
Level Contributor
36 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
Reviewed June 6, 2013

Very nice interior with close proximity to all local Berlin attraction. It just next to a huge and beautiful that we can jog or bike around.

Rooms were nice. The only downside was the breakfast spread was not well organized compared to the price I was pay paying - EURO 35.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank HOTChillyPadi
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hoboken, New Jersey
Level Contributor
47 reviews
28 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
Reviewed June 2, 2013

I stayed at this hotel for a convention in Berlin. It was my first time to the city and booked the hotel upon the recommendations of my colleagues. I was glad that I listened to them! Conveniently located behind Potsdamer Platz, transportation and sightseeing activities are steps away. In addition, there is a shopping mall two blocks away with restaurants, shops, and an electronics store (in the event you forgot to bring a convertor for your laptop as I did!). The hotel offers a supplement for their Club Lounge and I highly recommend to do so as you have access to drinks, snacks, and food for almost the entire day...100% worth it.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank NNJTraveler201
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Berlin_Marriott, Berlin Marriott Hotel at Berlin Marriott Hotel, responded to this review, June 13, 2013
Dear NNJTraveler201,

Thank you very much for the positive feedback and five star rating! It is great to hear that you enjoyed your stay at our newly renovated hotel.

We very much value the time and effort you took to write this review and hope that you will continue recommending our hotel to your family, friends and colleagues!

We are looking forward to welcoming you back at the Berlin Marriott Hotel.

Best regards,
Your Berlin Marriott Team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Berlin hotels
Charlottenburg
The Ritz-Carlton, Berlin
Charlottenburg
Grand Hyatt Berlin
Grand Hyatt Berlin
#14 of 634 in Berlin
2,794 reviews
Charlottenburg
The Mandala Hotel
The Mandala Hotel
#10 of 634 in Berlin
1,997 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Mitte
The Mandala Suites
The Mandala Suites
#13 of 634 in Berlin
733 reviews
Mitte
Regent Berlin
Regent Berlin
#4 of 634 in Berlin
1,492 reviews
Mitte
Sofitel Berlin Gendarmenmarkt
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Berlin Marriott Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Berlin Marriott Hotel

Property: Berlin Marriott Hotel
Address: Inge-Beisheim-Platz 1, 10785 Berlin, Germany
Phone Number:
Location: Germany > Berlin > Charlottenburg
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#7 Green Hotel in Berlin
#21 Business Hotel in Berlin
#22 Luxury Hotel in Berlin
#24 Romantic Hotel in Berlin
#27 Family Hotel in Berlin
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:5 star — Berlin Marriott Hotel 5*
Number of rooms: 379
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Ideally located at the Potsdamer Platz in the heart of city centre, the Berlin Marriott Hotel is near renowned German sites like the Brandenburg Gate and Sony Center. Our sophisticated hotel boasts a sleek and contemporary design perfect for both the business and leisure traveler alike. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Hotwire, Despegar.com, Marriott, Priceline, Travelocity, Agoda, TripOnline SA, Evoline ltd, Cheap Tickets and HotelQuickly so you can book your Berlin Marriott Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Marriott Berlin
Berlin Marriott

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing