We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Friendly vibe and good food”
Review of Lokal

Lokal
Ranked #126 of 8,388 Restaurants in Berlin
Certificate of Excellence
Cuisines: German, European, Central European
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Local cuisine, Romantic, Special occasions
Dining options: Dinner, Late Night, Lunch, Full Bar, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Waitstaff
Neighborhood: Mitte
London
Level Contributor
6 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Friendly vibe and good food”
Reviewed March 20, 2014

Lokal has a very good atmosphere - nice mix of local Berliners and tourists and really helpful staff - very accommodating. I wandered in oblivious to how popular this place is and they managed to find me a little table. The food tastes good- simple menu and good sauces in particular. Nice wine selection with a good German bias, and good dessert.

  • Visited March 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank EFCLondon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

520 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    308
    140
    39
    19
    14
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Czech first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Zaanstad
Level Contributor
40 reviews
13 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
“Great atmosphere and food”
Reviewed March 20, 2014 via mobile

We managed to get a reservation for 6 during a very busy time in Berlin and had a great night! Menu is short (which is a good thing as you can only do so many things good), with some classics twisted into the here and now. The schweinekotellet (pork chop was great and even served medium - as it should be, but hardly ever is). The veggies still have a bite and taste, wine good and schnapps superb!
Pitty they ran out of desserts, but isn't that the best marketing ever!!

Helpful?
Thank klausie_74
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Houston, TX
Level Contributor
166 reviews
100 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 120 helpful votes
“Modern twist on classics, nice service”
Reviewed March 14, 2014 via mobile

I had such a good time at this restaurant yesterday. I went in sola around 9 o'clock and got a seat at the bar for dinner.

I am a tartare fan and ordered steak tartare and a glass of wine. Yum! It was pricer than many spots in Mitte, but worth it. I'm sorry that a previous poster was ill, but I think it is unfair to blame this busy restaurant which is turning out so much food so well. I feel quite sure that the possible food poisoning was caused by food consumed elsewhere.

When you're seated, 3 slices of nice bread are served with a little glass pot of herb butter, which was flavorful and a clever presentation.

Tartare: the portion is quite small. I've ordered this dish in many places and it's the tiniest portion I've received. However, in line with other dishes I saw and what I've read, it's served at Lokal with a "twist." Rather than classic meat with perhaps salt, pepper, Dijon and maybe an egg in a typical portion size, it's maybe a 2" little cube size, accompanied by braised oxtail (then fried, I think?) and lovely mini salad greens, a sweet onion marmalade type condiment, the crunch of a slice of fresh veggie...a party on a plate!

I ordered a glass of an Italian red. Be aware that wine is served in 3 sizes by the glass. I mistakenly thought I was receiving the €4 glass but it was an €8 pour, which I saw at the end. Not a complaint, just something to know to ask for, if you'd like the small (4 ounce, I'm guessing) pour and tab. The tartare + one wine was around €20.

Service at the bar was friendly, funny and efficient.

Highly recommend Lokal and I know I'll return this week.

Visited March 2014
Helpful?
Thank lanago2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
19 reviews
9 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
“Yum”
Reviewed March 14, 2014

Great atmosphere, good wine, wonderful food. Obviously very popular and can see why. Be sure to book.

Visited February 2014
Helpful?
Thank AmyLou D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
The Hague, The Netherlands
Level Contributor
5 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Rather disappointed”
Reviewed March 14, 2014 via mobile

Went to Lokal after reading the positive reviews on tripadvisor. We were rather disappointed. The ambiance is good, and the staff is nice. The food, however, is crap. Half of my food was undercooked: the potatoes were more suitable for a round of golf than for eating. And the semi-raw chicken was a health hazard. It's a miracle I didn't get sick. With so many options for dinner in Berlin I would say: just skip this place.

Helpful?
Thank ElKiam
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Lokal also viewed

 
Berlin, Germany
Berlin, Germany
 

Been to Lokal? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing