We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Very good”
Review of Lokal

Lokal
Ranked #110 of 8,587 Restaurants in Berlin
Certificate of Excellence
Cuisines: German
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: Late Night, Reservations
Neighborhood: Mitte
London, UK
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
“Very good”
Reviewed December 30, 2013

Reservations needed as the place is small and was absolutely full all night. Very friendly service, interesting wine list, refreshingly limited menu with enough variety to keep multiple tastes satisfied. Very nice vibe...relaxed and informal, but excellent quality and value.

  • Visited December 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank SJG_Hackney
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

541 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    320
    148
    40
    19
    14
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Czech first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Amsterdam
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Awesome! Too place with local food”
Reviewed December 29, 2013 via mobile

Really nice place. Atmosphere is awesome. Good service and food is great. Local and organic products. Good combinations. Wine list is great lots of good wines from Europe. We tried a typical local grape from Austria. Absolute recommendation when visiting Berlin! Need to reserve.

Helpful?
1 Thank tomberntsen
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Yum!!!”
Reviewed December 29, 2013

Wonderful! The food and service was exceptional!

My partner and I had the beef and lamb absolutely declious!

  • Visited December 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank PennyJane2013
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, Australia
Level 2 Contributor
7 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Little Gem!”
Reviewed December 28, 2013

We booked Lokal well in advance for our first evening in Berlin as it was so close to our hotel (The Circus Hotel) and we knew jet lag would set in very quickly! Hubby and I arrived for dinner on the 20th of December barely able to keep our eyes open after 25 hours of travel, were met with a lovely warm welcome and shown to our table.

Our waitress was lovely and translated the menu for us without fuss as I could barely keep my eyes open let alone translate the menu. Hubby had the squab for entree and wild boar for main, I had the venison and entrecôte for main washed down with a lovely Chianti. Each dish was well thought out and beautifully constructed, we only wish we were a little more awake to appreciate the lovely dining experience!

Lokal is definitely worth a visit but maybe not straight after a 25 hour transit from Australia!

  • Visited December 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Melanie H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Whitchurch, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
9 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Fantastic”
Reviewed December 27, 2013

We walked from our hotel in Mitte and found the Lokal without too much trouble. Once inside we realised that this was something special, the atmosphere was lively without being pretentious. We were shown to our table and and the menu which was in German, as it should be, was explained in detail and all I can say is the food is sublime. Would definitely make another trip when in Berlin.

  • Visited December 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Ian_Whitchurch
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Lokal also viewed

 
Berlin, Germany
Berlin, Germany
 

Been to Lokal? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing