We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“amazing local restaurant” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Lokal

Lokal
Ranked #93 of 7,602 Restaurants in Berlin
Certificate of Excellence
Cuisines: German, European, Central European
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Special occasions, Local cuisine
Dining options: Dinner, Late Night, Lunch, Full Bar, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Waitstaff
Neighborhood: Mitte
South Salem, New York
Level Contributor
10 reviews
7 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
“amazing local restaurant”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 21, 2013

I loved this experience at Lokal. We got there starving. Didn't understand the menu as it was all in German. The amazing waitress send another amazing waitress our way to explain each line too us. The food was incredible. The ambience AMAZING and the wine.. exceptional. What I loved just as much was it was a LOCAL hangout. I just loved it. The food was Outstanding!!

  • Visited May 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Maria H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

426 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    257
    117
    28
    11
    13
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Czech first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Davis, California
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Modern German food”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 11, 2013

This restaurant -- which is arguably my favorite in Berlin -- has a short menu that is changed frequently and offers both vegetarian and meat selections. Unlike most German fare, the meals here won't put you into a food coma! The dishes here are prepared to perfection in a shabby chic establishment that has always been packed everytime I've come (reservations are a must). One of my recent favorites was Jersualem artichoke soup. There are also excellent beer and wine offerings..

Visited April 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank UCDavismom11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Manchester, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
30 reviews
18 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
“Very relaxed but hip place”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 6, 2013

We had trouble finding this from the Trip Advisor app. It's a corner restaurant but the numerical address is a bit jumbled here. It's 61 or 601...anyway there is no obvious signage.

We went on a Friday evening and were able to secure a table till 9pm. The menu is very meat and fish orientated and the vegetarian dishes were goats cheese, which I hate....however the lovely staff had no problem finding an alternative cheese for my dish. The food was freshly prepared and the whole experience was very relaxed. This place is obviously popular with young and hip locals but had none of the airs of pretension one might normally experience in a similar place in London or Manchester.

For Berlin it was quite an expensive place to eat but the quality was evident, service perfect and I would visit again.

  • Visited May 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Teepee_13
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Canberra
Level Contributor
119 reviews
38 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 75 helpful votes
“Tucked away treat”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 13, 2013

A delightful little restaurant that doesn't feel the need to really advertise that it is there as word of mouth is serving it well. Local German food. I am not a big vegetable fan so not so good for me but great for my wife. Good wholesome food. Not quite fine dining. Expect something different. Great friendly staff. Great atmosphere. Recommend booking.

  • Visited April 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Food
Helpful?
Thank AndyandCathy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London
Level Contributor
10 reviews
9 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“Great meal and service”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 12, 2013

Lokal offered a great meal and excellent, friendly service. The food was fresh and tasty, and portions were generous. A great night out in Berlin!

  • Visited April 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Food
Helpful?
Thank travelmk99
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Lokal also viewed

 
Berlin, Germany
Berlin, Germany
 

Been to Lokal? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing