We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Great meal and service” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Lokal

Lokal
Ranked #133 of 8,231 Restaurants in Berlin
Certificate of Excellence
Cuisines: German, European, Central European
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Local cuisine, Special occasions, Romantic
Dining options: Lunch, Late Night, Dinner, Full Bar, Outdoor Seating, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Waitstaff
Neighborhood: Mitte
London
Level Contributor
11 reviews
9 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“Great meal and service”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 12, 2013

Lokal offered a great meal and excellent, friendly service. The food was fresh and tasty, and portions were generous. A great night out in Berlin!

  • Visited April 2013
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank travelmk99
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

502 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    295
    138
    37
    18
    14
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Czech first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Fylde Coast, NW England
Level Contributor
14 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
“Amazing Perlhuhn”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 30, 2013 via mobile

Stroll up to the travel section in any book shop and you will be confronted by the usual array of Lonely Planet, Rough Guide and DK Eyewitness travel guides which along with a nap-sack full of Bon-homie are established as essential kit for the casual city visitor or seasoned traveller alike. But a new contender for the crown of 'must have' travel guide has recently hit the shelves and in the Manchester branch of Waterstones at least, commands a full display table of its own in an array of multi-coloured covered city guides. I am referring to Phaidon publisher's Wallpaper* City Guides which, spread like psychedelic tiles on a table utilise years of Phaidon's art book publishing experience to draw the nascent traveller to its covers. So I picked up and purchased the brown covered Berlin City Guide from which I discovered the Lokal restaurant which to date had only received 5 reviews on Trip Advisor all awarding 5 perfect stars out of 5.

In keeping with Phaidon's arts and culture library, the Wallpaper* City Guides offer recommendations of restaurants, bars, shops and sites somewhat off the beaten track and after C and I had made a scheduled evening visit to the Reichstag we made the 20 minute walk along the Spree to Linienstrasse where we found Lokal at the end of a street full of independent art shops, jewellery and clothing boutiques which had we had the time would have liked to re-visit during another day. We opened the door and were confronted by the sound of German chatter as young and old sat side by side, table to table picking at plates of rustic food while quaffing local pilsners and bottles of German wine (without a bottle of Blue Nun or liebfraumilch to be seen at all!). Above the din of chatter and mood music we gestured to a young mein-host to request a table for two and he immediately directed a young German waitress to attend us who I assumed from the review of the restaurant in the guide were the American and German owners of the restaurant. The lady spoke perfect English and offered us a table which thankfully had been reserved for a couple who had not appeared so we were able to take it - as it was the only available table and this was a Wednesday evening, it would appear booking is essential!

The concept of Lokal is farm-to-table fayre and their menu is updated almost daily in their blog depending on what seasonal goods are available, presumably at market. The menu was in German only but the attentive waitress was more than happy to translate it for us into English. There were 3 courses with a combination of fish, meat and vegetarian options served with seasonal vegetables with beets, celeriac and fennel being popular in a wintry March. C started with Steckrübensuppe Karottengrünpesto which translates into turnip and carrot soup with green pesto and I had Kalbsbries & -leber Bacon, Spitzkohl, Aioli, Topinambur, Karotten which is, apparently, sweetbreads with liver, bacon, cabbage, artichoke and garlic sauce. Both were superbly presented and cooked to perfection served with baskets of different breads - the black bread was particularly nice and another that was crispy and sweet.

For the mains, C had Schollenfilet Blumenkohl, Lauch, Bamberger Hörnchen, Rote Beete which was a perfectly cooked fillet of white fish with leek, beetroot and bamberger croissants while it was left to me to try the Perlhuhn which was amazing. Perlhuhn? Well, it's guinea fowl and it appeared to be minced and pressed with a carrot purée then replaced into the fried skin which had been shaped into shells so it appeared like scotch eggs. The resemblance ended there though as the taste was superb along with similar vegetables. All washed down with a dry Reisling.

If I could design my own restaurant, Lokal would be it. The rustic decor lends to an informal yet vibrant atmosphere which has the ambience of the kind for pub that wins awards in The Good Beer Guide and food that wouldn't be out of place in a Michelin starred restaurant. If you're coming to Berlin, seek this place out; you will not be disappointed.

Helpful?
1 Thank WilliamOnTheFylde
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
East Sussex
Level Contributor
52 reviews
40 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 35 helpful votes
“What a Great Find!!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 1, 2013

The staff at this restaurant really are fabulous!!They managed to fit us in at very short notice for our Wedding Anniversary meal, as the other restaurant we were booked into were experiencing technical problems!! Our waiter was so lovely, he made our night really special..The steak that my husband wanted had run out and then the chef came to our table and said as it was a special occasion he would get one especailly for him!! The meal was amazing and the wine also..I cannot believe that this restaurant is not in one of the top spots on Trip Advisor..I would recommend this restaurant to anyone..The staff, the food, the wine and the vibe are perfect!!

  • Visited February 2013
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
1 Thank SAVB1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Copenhagen, Denmark
Level Contributor
15 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
“Cosy restaurant with great food!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 4, 2013

We had our NYE dinner here and what a great place!! The atmosphere was perfect, the food great and the staff was very nice! It felt like coming home to your friends. The restaurant is cosy but at the same time with a high quality menu with good prices. I will for sure come back, even if it's not nye. I will also recommend Lokal to all my friends!

  • Visited January 2013
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Tiwkan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Geneva
Level Contributor
53 reviews
32 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 49 helpful votes
“Great German food”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 1, 2013

We chose this place for our nye dinner and we were extreme,y glad to have done so. The staff is amazingly nice, always with a smile. The place is cosy but cool enough. The food is excellent. They change the menu every day - impressive. Good wine list and great espresso. I would absolutely recommend this place for a nice dinner. Bring your camera because you can take an amazing shot of the TV tower of alexanderplatz from there.

Visited December 2012
Helpful?
Thank maott
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Lokal also viewed

 

Been to Lokal? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing