We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Amazing Food”
Review of Pauly Saal

Pauly Saal
Ranked #184 of 8,513 Restaurants in Berlin
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $40 - $134
Cuisines: German
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Bar scene
Dining options: Late Night, Dinner, Reservations
Neighborhood: Mitte
Level 4 Contributor
32 reviews
16 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
“Amazing Food”
Reviewed February 16, 2013

Food was amazing, service was amazing, wine list huge and overall a very good experience. Very expensive though. Also, just a bit difficult to find it behind the closed red door!

Visited February 2013
Helpful?
Thank Ambient75
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

468 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    238
    117
    63
    31
    19
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
westchester county, ny
Level 6 Contributor
170 reviews
49 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 127 helpful votes
“Wonderful”
Reviewed December 11, 2012

Funky restaurant with great art work in an old renovated Jewish Girls school. Staff is helpful and very willing to please. Food was delicious. Not for the un- adventurous eater. Also great cocktails.

  • Visited December 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank dh24yaya
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hereford
Level 4 Contributor
31 reviews
20 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
“Stylish bar, but be prepared to pay more than average”
Reviewed December 3, 2012

We only went here for drinks, but it was a place we stumbled on by accident as there are no signs outside. There is a gallery adjoining the bar which is like a throwback to the early 20th century. Very stylish and the cocktails were beautifully prepared, but be prepared to pay best part of 10 euros per drink

  • Visited November 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank growler7
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sao Paulo, SP
Level 5 Contributor
55 reviews
24 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
“Lucky find”
Reviewed October 20, 2012

Inside the jewish girls school in Mitte. Excelent service in a funky ambience. We were inside because it was a cold day, but the restaurant also has outsidevseating in what looked like the old school's yard. We were there for a late lunch after a long walk in the Mitte and were very pleased. The wine that was sugested byvthe sommeliervwas the best in our trip and the food was great from starter to desert. I wish I could go back justvfor the perfect pumpking soup

  • Visited October 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank renusp
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level 5 Contributor
86 reviews
26 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 108 helpful votes
“Decent, consistent food in a nice location, but main lacked that extra something”
Reviewed September 29, 2012

Pros: Great food, fantastic beef, consistent even for a table of over a dozen (I'm impressed), indoors or out, fun venue, central location
Cons: It's pricey, potato croquettes lacked flavour, beef main needed something else to go with it (lots of purees didn't cut it)

We ate in Pauly Saal, which is in the arty district of Mitte, Berlin, on a September evening - but it was still nice enough to be outside (inside is an old girls school, all tall ceilings and brick).
The staff were all great, English was spot on (unfortunately my German isn't!), service kept on coming and we never felt rushed.
The food, too, was really impressive, more so because there were a *lot* of us on the table but the starter - a mushroom-laden, fresh pasta - was exceptional for every last one of us. Delicate, light and tasty.
Beef for the main was rare and, a little bizarrely, served on a bed of straw. It was fantastic meat though, only let down by its pairing with an overly bitter pureed spinach along with yet another liquidy bernaise sauce - though this latter accompaniment was delicious. There was about one potato croquette per head, which was stodgy, not particularly hot and lacked any real flavour.
If the meat had come served with steamed, buttered spinach and some serious potatoes it would have been right up there. A bit of a shame, and the thing that's cost the full house 5/5 score.
We had a lot of wine and plenty of beers too, all served by an apparently knowledgeable sommelier. The German red - sadly I forget the name - that we shared was smokey and delicious; perfect with the main.
We left late, the staff organised a bunch of taxis for us and everyone seemed chatty and happy - just as it had been all evening long. Yes it's pricey, but I'd go back in a flash... I just don't happen to live in Berlin!

  • Visited September 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank mmxbreaks
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Pauly Saal also viewed

 

Been to Pauly Saal? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing