We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Just great!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of MANI Restaurant

MANI Restaurant
Ranked #569 of 7,602 Restaurants in Berlin
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $5 - $32
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Business meetings, Romantic
Dining options: Late Night, Lunch, Dinner, Accepts American Express, Accepts Mastercard, Accepts Visa, Free Wifi, Highchairs Available, Outdoor Seating, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Waitstaff
Neighborhood: Mitte
Description: The innovative, elegant style of the MANI Restaurant is setting new trends on the Berlin eatery scene. Head chef Octavio Bravo serves up French cuisine, experimenting with Eastern Mediterranean ingredients. The best way of getting to know the menu is to order a mixed selection of starters ('chuzpeles'), placed in the centre of the table like tapas. Appetizers like Calamaretti with quail egg and harissa mayonnaise or cauliflower with salted lemon, garlic butter and almond are peculiar but encourage the desire to discover the culinary range on offer. Dark furniture, restrained lighting, an open kitchen and a fireplace carved in green marble emphasize the elegance of the restaurant. Photographs of the MANI team by Oliver Rath grace the walls. Seating is available outside in the peaceful courtyard, weather permitting, and anyone wanting to watch the denizens of the Torstrasse scene can sit outside on the terrace. The MANI Restaurant celebrated the award of 'Scene restaurant 2012' in September 2012.
Zurich, Switzerland
Level Contributor
48 reviews
22 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
“Just great!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 28, 2013

A fantastic wine bar and restaurant with a great unique menu. We had a business dinner there with 35 persons and all the different goodies served were wonderful. Unusual combinations, but very tasty. Very friendly staff, excellent wines. The only downside was the quite long waiting time, but i guess that was due to the large number of guests.
Would recommend it to everybody for a relaxing, light dinner with new, excellent combined dishes.

  • Visited April 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Food
Helpful?
Thank gabrielaz123
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

135 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    63
    41
    18
    7
    6
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Eastbourne, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
204 reviews
161 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 168 helpful votes
“Smart venue with an interesting, but expensive, menu and indifferent service”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed April 17, 2013

We booked Mani having searched, using 'tripadvisor', for the relatively few vegetarian options in Berlin.
This is a smart restaurant and hotel which has recently undergone refurbishment. It was already quite full with professional looking, local people when we arrived for a 7:30pm booking on a Thursday.
The menu offered a few, but not many, vegetarian / pescetarian choices. I had "falafel with prawn" to start which was pleasant enough but came with, yes, one prawn! The highlight of my evening, however, was the main of a cheese and fennel souffle which was perfectly cooked and quite substantial - particularly with the good bread which came with it.
Service was quite poor and slow - especially from a surly young man in a pair of jeans who served and topped up our wine without making eye contact, let alone a smile.
Our table was very close to the couple next to us and we were also seated next to a 'feature' gas fire in the middle of the restaurant which made it uncomfortably hot.
The wine list was particularly expensive. An Israeli Sauvignon Blanc (the first I have tasted) was great but at 40 euros was one of the cheaper whites. This brought the bill to almost 100 euros with a tip which did not represent great value for money.
Neither dreadful nor a restaurant which we shall return to.

  • Visited April 2013
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Atmosphere
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Service
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Richard G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
PlanoTexasgirl
Level Contributor
10 reviews
7 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Chic Treat”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 13, 2013

We loved our dining experience at Mani. The menu is well conceived with starters focusing on the Middle East. We order 4 small starter plates and all four were knock outs. The entrees were more European focused and those too were wonderful. Lots of layers of flavor and fresh ingredients.

The restaurant itself is very modern and comfortable. You feel like you re dining in someone's home. Roaring fireplace, cozy chairs, and black lacquer tables all create a romantic vibe. The service is great. There were two servers for the entire restuarant, but they never seemed to struggle making everyone happy. Our server was quick with recommendations. Mani also as a great cocktail menu. Their Martini's are great. The vodka was chilled to the point that it pour like syrup and the presentation was great. I spoil how they serve it, you will just have to order one for yourself.

  • Visited March 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Food
Helpful?
Thank PlanoTexasgirl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Glasgow, Scotland
Level Contributor
14 reviews
9 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
“Great service, odd food”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed March 6, 2013

This is my second time in a supposedly "fancy" Berlin restaurant (first was Maxwell which is now closed). Have had exactly same experience in both i.e some of the food was great and some of it was just weird.

Staff here were absolutely lovely which made it a nice experience, but to be honest it was way overpriced for what it was. We rather foolishly accepted a wine recommendation, not on the menu, which was 50 euros. We were to embarrassed to ask(how very British) so spent most of the meal worried about how much it would cost! Thankfully the food wasn't to expensive so it was ok. Had meze starter which was delicious and lamb patties and cabbage as a main. The patties were great, but the cabbage was mixed with mushrooms and was in an odd creamy sauce which didn't go with the tomato sauce of the patties. To be fair they didn't come together, and i think were supposed to be side dishes or tapas style but i would expect a waitress to advise that maybe that wasn't the best mix.

Friend had an aritchoke souffle which looked nice, and it came with a salad which had a soft egg with it - seemed like a bit of an egg overkill!

The crowd was very monied Berlin. Felt like i was having dinner in Chelsea.

All in all i enjoyed it as it was quite fancy and had a nice atmosphere, but it wasn't the sort of place i would go to at home.

  • Visited March 2013
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Food
Helpful?
1 Thank sadysady
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
East Sussex
Level Contributor
50 reviews
39 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
“Thank You Ralph!!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 1, 2013

We had booked Mani for our Wedding Anniversary on our first night in Berlin..We were really looking forward to it, I had been emailing Ralph with regards to our booking..When we arrived we were told that the extractor fans were broken and they were trying to fix them..Ralph gave us a complimentary glass of Champers each and we had starters, ahich were lovely..Sadly for us the extractors could not be fixed that night, my husband and I felt so sorry for Ralph, it was not his fault..Then he did the loveliest thing and got us booked at very short notice into a great little restaurant around the corner called Lokal, which I must say was amazing..So thank you Ralph for turning what could have been a nightmare evening into a great one!!When we come back, which we will, we hope that you will be there!!

  • Visited February 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Food
Helpful?
Thank SAVB1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed MANI Restaurant also viewed

Berlin, Germany
Berlin, Germany
 
Berlin, Germany
Berlin, Germany
 

Been to MANI Restaurant? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing