We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Very nice Hotel”
Review of Riverside Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Riverside Hotel
Ranked #408 of 635 Hotels in Berlin
Reviewed July 15, 2012

It is a very nice clean and friendly hotel. Breakfast was good! The eployee give you a lot of usefull information about what to see and do in Berlin! U-Bahn station Friedrichstrasse is 2 minutes away from the hotel. It is in the heart of Berlin. Around the Hotel are a lot of shopping options. I love this hotel!!!!

  • Stayed: July 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Manfred G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (155)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

37 - 43 of 155 reviews

Reviewed July 13, 2012

We stayed here comfortably for seven nights during summer, although the room did get a bit stuffy without airconditioning. However, cleaners always opened the window to let some air in and there was also a small desk fan on the table that helped. I barely heard any street noise when the window was closed, and never heard a peep or even a slamming door from other guests, even though the hotel was supposedly fully booked - a rarity!

Our room was very large and so was our bathroom, which had a separate bath and shower. We joked that the bathroom was almost as big as some of the other hotel rooms we have stayed in! However, there weren't any free powerpoints in the room for guests, only ones already in use by lamps, so you had to make a choice between charging your laptop or light. The free WiFi didn't work the first night of our stay, but after it was looked at the following day it worked well for the rest of our stay.

The key system was very outdated; we were given one key to our room, and this key also had to be used to enter via the backdoor after midnight, to unlock the door to the stairs and lift, and then again to get into the hotel corridor to get to your room. This is no problem, but when we were out sightseeing and one of us wanted to head back early, we couldn't! The other one would've been locked out. Also, the only way to lock your door from inside the room is by using the key - so if only one person goes out, you must either lock the other person in the room (not very safe in case of emergency!) or leave the door unlocked.

Staff were very formal and polite, but were not very helpful. If we asked them a question about anything other than the hotel, such as attractions, restaurants, laundry etc., their response was always "that service is not offered by the hotel and therefore I do not know".

The breakfast in the adjoining cafe was usually very good, and it was a pleasant change choosing something from a menu and paying a very reasonably price for it, rather than paying for a buffet breakfast. The location was fantastic and within walking distance to all the major attractions and plenty of nice restaurants. Even though there is both a U-Bahn and an S-Bahn close by, we did not use public transport once during our stay.

I think that the standard rooms are quite reasonably priced. I would have loved to get a spa treatment too while I was here, but there is nothing on their treatment list under 90 euros.

  • Stayed: July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank sara_mynx
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 10, 2012

Really enjoyed stay in this boutique hotel. We had a room with river view. The location was excellent as we're the staff who were very friendly and helpful. We would stay here again.

  • Stayed: June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Easytobook.com
Thank Matthew D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 17, 2012

Perfect location, friendly staff and great value for money.

Will stay at this hotel during my next visit without doubt or question.

Not a bad word to say about this hotel.

  • Stayed: May 2012, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Easytobook.com
Thank mrecdave
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 20, 2012

After asking for a river view I was told that these are for guests that pay more money!.. Once shown to my room I was greeted by a strong musty smell that was quite overwhelming. None of the windows opened and the view was just awful... The beds were also in a terrible state and wasnt comfortable at all.
While we was there we had our own towel taken from our suitcase, I guess this could be a mistake as it was a plane white one, but it was expensive and when we mentioned it to the staff they couldn't care less.. the spa is only 10 euro, but only consists of 1 little steam room and 1 sauna. If you want a massage you have to pay at least 100 euro's!..
There inst anything positive I can say about this place.. Oh yeh, close to the train station..
Just do not go

  • Stayed: April 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank jonevs
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 7, 2011

this is a wonderful hotel in east berlin and only a couple of short blocks from the train station. i felt safe in this neighborhood going out for dinner alone in the evening.

the staff are warm, welcoming, friendly and very helpful. there is free wi-fi and a free computer for guests' use in the lobby. they have bicycles for rent - only $10 for 24 hrs. when i was there.

there are lots of restaurants, bars, and sights to see that are a short walk or nice bike ride away. the rooms are very comfortable and be sure to get a massage at the spa while there.

i changed my room upon arrival and was glad i did. the river view was fantastic! my bathroom was in the hallway, but it was locked 24/7 and i was the only one with a key.

i would definitely stay here again!

Room Tip: request a room facing the river, even if the bathroom is in the hallway. you won't regret it.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2011, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
5  Thank CrystalWard
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 23, 2011

Loved the 4 star room, big bath and spa. The balcony view over the spree was terrific. We would stay here again. The only downside was we booked ages in advance but when we checked in their advertised rates were a lot lower than we paid, over 3 nights we paid 50 euros a night more than their walk-in rate but hey it was out honeymoon!

  • Stayed: June 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Alex N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Berlin hotels
Mitte
Riverside Hotel
Riverside Hotel
#493 of 635 in Berlin
30 reviews
Mitte
Leonardo Hotel Berlin Mitte
Mitte
Hotel Allegra
Hotel Allegra
#255 of 635 in Berlin
202 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Mitte
Hotel Dietrich Bonhoeffer Haus
Mitte
ARCOTEL Velvet
ARCOTEL Velvet
#155 of 635 in Berlin
748 reviews
Mitte
Best Western Hotel Berlin-Mitte
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Riverside Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Riverside Hotel

Address: Friedrichstr. 106, 10117 Berlin, Germany (Formerly Hotel Artist Riverside)
Location: Germany > Berlin > Mitte
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Spa Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #408 of 635 Hotels in Berlin
Price Range: $95 - $181 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Riverside Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 30
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travelocity, Hotels.com, Priceline, Expedia, Booking.com, Orbitz, TripOnline SA, Hotwire and Cheap Tickets so you can book your Riverside Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing