We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A quirky but fun adventure”
Review of Riverside Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Riverside Hotel
Ranked #389 of 634 Hotels in Berlin
Jerusalem, Israel
Level Contributor
72 reviews
28 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 88 helpful votes
“A quirky but fun adventure”
Reviewed July 29, 2011

This hotel is certainly worth a try. By the Spree, breakfast with home-baked bread, near the more picturesque parts of E. Berlin. Helpful, but formal staff. As an artist I was treated with a special kindness, amidst the truly unusual decor and ambience. My room was by the river, so I was awoken by the sound of the boats (which was special to me, but to others I could imagine as a challenge!). Recommended for the adventurous and young at heart.

  • Stayed August 2010, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank stevemusic
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

143 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    35
    48
    31
    18
    11
See reviews for
11
61
12
31
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (7)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Salisbury, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed November 22, 2010

Booked the hotel for the spa and the quirky rooms, the spa was lovely and the rooms were definately quirky with "over the top" deco which worked well. We had booked into the best room to treat ourselves, suite A at nearly £200 a night that included a whirlpool bath and a gold bath as well as a balcony over the river. We loved the room but unfortuantely the double glazing was extremely poor so the constant traffic noise was heard. The first night the traffic noise was added to by the regular trams which run all night and the ferries going along the river. My husband and I got no sleep and so the following day asked to move rooms to one further away from the road. We moved to suite B but the road noise was still intrusive the double glazing was so poor we could even hear the converstations of people walking past.
Following a futher night without sleep we moved to the radisson blu where we paid less in a business class room and got a good nights sleep.

  • Stayed November 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank APlay109
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these Berlin hotels

murrieta
Level Contributor
8 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed September 30, 2010

We arrived at the hotel at Midnight and found the lobby closed, fortunately there was a restaurant below that knew to send me to the bar next door where I could pick up my room key. There was a set of confusing instructions and going through 3 or 4 locked doors to get up to my room, the room was facing the street and very very noise. Also there is no parking available and if you park on the street you could it towed or ticketed. The good news is that when I called the desk first thing in the morning they more than accomodated me, they very quickly provided us with a new better room (at the same price) and very quiet, offered us use of the spa, and sent someone to our room to transfer our baggage to the new room. The location is right on the river and the restaurant next to the hotel is great, 2 nights we sat on the patio over looking the river and had drinks or dinner. You can see the Friedrickstrause station from the hotel which was very convient and everyone was really nice. Just make sure you ask for a quiet room and get there before those close there reception at 10p and don't bring a car.

  • Stayed September 2010, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank taxchik
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne
Level Contributor
33 reviews
30 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 123 helpful votes
Reviewed September 19, 2009

Booked a "Standard Room" direct with the hotel - after not receiving a confirmation, called and they sorted it out okay (very apologetic)

Great location, very close to everything - was traveling by myself so clean hotel, good bathroom etc was all that was required. Close to bars, food and the like - a good recommendation was given by the hotel staff and about where to eat.

Spa was good - but very quiet in the evenings - at night only a few people about. A good mix of locals (well not English speakers) as well as people staying in the hotel.

When I was there they started charging for the spa rather than it being free with the more basic rooms - only 10E including Towels etc.

Everyone was very friendly, no issues, clean, straightforward. Free Internet access on a computer in reception. No mini bar, but a fridge with a free bottle of water and a suggestion that you can buy your own drinks etc for the mini bar from the supermarket or train station etc - not here to rip people off. Would certainly stay there again, but if I was staying with my partner I would go to a higher room category than "Standard"

  • Stayed September 2009, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank flytoomuch
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
USA
Level Contributor
5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed August 25, 2009

Traveling with my teen-age son, I found a room here cheaper than if I had booked into the Youth Hostel around the corner... and it included use of the Day Spa, the best in Germany. Our room was very comfortable and it had a balcony looking over the Spree. I photographed the other rooms- many very posh - and have put a slideshow on my website, http://www.flashnomad.com Make sure you ask for the discounted rate if you or your companion is an artist... or if you book three days in advance. Regardless of which room you choose, have a sauna in one of the three different ones they have every day!

Stayed August 2009, traveled on business
Helpful?
2 Thank flashnomad
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London
Level Contributor
57 reviews
29 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 56 helpful votes
Reviewed May 12, 2009

The hotel itself as a bit unusual. The decor is reminiscent of a '70s porno film and the rooms are accessed via a concrete (albeit painted) stairwell....and reception is shut after 10pm! However, overall it was a great expereience and I will definately go back. The staff were lovely; polite, friendly and helpful. The spa was a nice touch....a big sauna and decent facilities. The room was spacious and clean with great views over the river. The location however is the main thing, right on the river with a great cafe terrace for those sunny days, and a short walk from the shopping of the Friedrichstrasse and the Unter Den Linden. The old east is also so much more vibrant that the Kudamm and there are some fantastic restaurants just around the corner. I would completely recommend this place....if you like something a bit off beat!

  • Stayed May 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank Wuffa
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brussels
Level Contributor
10 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed July 11, 2008

This hotel has rooms in different price (and quality) ranges, which I personally think is a great idea. If you stay in one of the cheapest rooms (which I did twice) you can still visit the spa but you pay a little bit (10 euro, half the regular entry fee). These rooms are all on one floor in a part of the building where people live as well. I got a glimpse of the other part of the building where the luxury rooms are located and it seemed really nice indeed. The location is absolutely perfect and the staff are very friendly. As a final positive point: the breakfast had improved quite a bit since I last stayed in this unique hotel.

Stayed June 2008
Helpful?
Thank YukiB
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Berlin hotels
Mitte
Riverside Hotel
Riverside Hotel
#482 of 634 in Berlin
4.0 of 5 bubbles 28 reviews
Mitte
Leonardo Hotel Berlin Mitte
Mitte
Hotel Dietrich Bonhoeffer Haus
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Mitte
ARCOTEL Velvet
ARCOTEL Velvet
#171 of 634 in Berlin
4.0 of 5 bubbles 717 reviews
Mitte
Hotel Albrechtshof
Hotel Albrechtshof
#187 of 634 in Berlin
4.0 of 5 bubbles 211 reviews
Mitte
Hotel Amelie Berlin
Hotel Amelie Berlin
#540 of 634 in Berlin
3.0 of 5 bubbles 118 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Riverside Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Riverside Hotel

Property: Riverside Hotel
Address: Friedrichstr. 106, 10117 Berlin, Germany (Formerly Hotel Artist Riverside)
Location: Germany > Berlin > Mitte
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Spa Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #389 of 634 Hotels in Berlin
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Riverside Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 30
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Travelocity, Hotwire, Hotels.com, Priceline, Agoda, Cheap Tickets and TripOnline SA so you can book your Riverside Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing