We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Book On TripAdvisor Bonus Book your hotel on TripAdvisor — then save 20% on things to do for your trip. Use code BOOKTOSAVE.

“Best chinese meal in a long time” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Restaurant Jolly

Restaurant Jolly
Ranked #20 of 7,587 Restaurants in Berlin
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $9 - $42
Cuisines: Chinese, Asian, Thai
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Large groups, Business meetings, Families with children
Dining options: Dinner, Late Night, Lunch, Free Wifi, Outdoor Seating, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Takeout, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
Neighborhood: Mitte
Oslo, Norway
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
“Best chinese meal in a long time”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 15, 2013 via mobile

We tried out this place after reading the reviews of it and this is something i don't regret. Wow! I've been to China several times and i love the szechuan kitchen. We ordered some sweet & sour and sweet & spicy. This is the best chinese food i've had outside of China! Excellent service and not too pricey. To bad there are a lot of construction going on around the block and since the exit of pergamon museum is temporary moved you have to walk to the right on exit and over the bridge and down to the right along side the river. Highly recommended! They speak good german, english and mandarin of course.

Helpful?
Thank alekswh
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveler and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Daliang Y, Manager at Restaurant Jolly, responded to this review, July 17, 2013
Hi alekswh, thank you for your time to write this kindly review. It give us motivation to serve our guests at the best. Sorry about the construction around our restaurant.
Kindly regards,
V. Wang
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Write a Review

519 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    316
    164
    23
    8
    8
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Vietnamese first
  • Any
English first
Kapellen, Belgium
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Superb”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 13, 2013

We found this wonderful restaurant via the TripAdvisor app. We were welcomed by a very friendly waitress. We chose for a Pinot Grigio wine and the menu for four persons which consists of no less than seven dishes. Prior to a spicy hot and sour soup, we received hot towels (which was a bit of surprise). Afterwards we were served vegetable rolls as a starter. The main course consisted of four incredibly well balanced dishes: stirred fried shrimps with cashew nuts, stirred fried chicken with mushrooms and bamboo, stirred fried beef with black pepper and the absolute best: crispy szechuan duck. I have never eaten duck this good. As dessert we were served fried banana with vanilla ice and a honey sauce. The restaurant offered us a sweet lychee wine on the house, which was a great end to our dinner. Service was excellent allround, as well as the location, with the restaurant being situated across the Pergamon Museum. Strongly recommended!

  • Visited July 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Food
Helpful?
Thank NickHMF
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Daliang Y, Manager at Restaurant Jolly, responded to this review, July 17, 2013
dear NickHMF,
we appreciated your very positive review. Thank you for visiting us and enjoying our foods. Have a good time!

kindly regards,
V. Wang
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“BEST Asian food we've ever had!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 11, 2013

We came here our first night in Berlin after seeing the wonderful reviews on TripAdvisor. WOW we were incredibly impressed with the excellent food and very friendly attentive service! This was the best dining experience my husband and I have ever had. We went on a Thursday night when there were only a few other diners. Our waiter spoke perfect English and kept coming back to make sure the food was okay, that we had everything we needed, and that we were comfortable. The friendliness of the staff is unsurpassed and even if the food had been terrible we would go back just for the dining experience with them. BUT the food was absolutely the best Asian food we've ever had. They have a very extensive menu with something for everyone at every price range. My husband and I got a "dinner for two" meal that was only 42 Euro and consisted of 4 courses. The hot and sour soup was just amazing, the spring rolls were good, and the main course was really the star of the show. We got the roast duck and spicy beef with broccoli and our taste buds wished our stomachs could keep eating and eating as they were both superb! The beef was very tender but a little too spicy for me, but the duck was just perfectly cooked and seasoned and had just the right amount of crisp on the outside. Then the banana dessert was a perfect way to top it all off. We both agree that everyone visiting Berlin should stop in to enjoy Restaurant Jolly at least once, if not more during their visit!

  • Visited July 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Ericka W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Daliang Y, Manager at Restaurant Jolly, responded to this review, July 17, 2013
Hi Ericka W, many thanks taking time to write this nice words. We have more interesting dishes in our menu. Try the Peking Duck the next time you visit us. Have a good time.

kindly regards,
V. Wang
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
9 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Worth a visit”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 24, 2013

We had an evening meal when the restaurant was quite empty, but staff was very helpful and nice and we all enjoyed our food. Medium price level and perfect location.

  • Visited June 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Food
Helpful?
2 Thank Staffan S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
25 reviews
19 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Great food, great location”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 15, 2013

I had the duck here and it was amazing! Really crispy skin and a delicious sauce.
The staff were very friendly in both German and English. The service was quite fast too.
Highly recommended!

  • Visited June 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Lukus_g
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Restaurant Jolly also viewed

 
Berlin, Germany
 

Been to Restaurant Jolly? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing