We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“At least they have German food”
3 of 5 bubbles Review of Fabisch - CLOSED

Fabisch
Certificate of Excellence
Cuisines: German, European, Central European, International
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Romantic, Large groups, Families with children, Kids, Special occasions, Bar scene
Dining options: Brunch, Breakfast, Dinner, Lunch, Late Night, Free Wifi, Full Bar, Highchairs Available, Outdoor Seating, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
Neighborhood: Mitte
Vancouver, Canada
Level Contributor
625 reviews
336 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 265 helpful votes
“At least they have German food”
Reviewed September 1, 2013

Believe it or not, but in this area of Berlin very difficult to find German food. This is attached to a hotel so I should know better and only one other table is seated to order dinner. Again, another red flag. American music from the 70s and 60s playing so that was good. Service was OK. My order of German food was mediocre.

  • Visited August 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank AirSchis
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

182 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    75
    80
    19
    6
    2
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Dublin, Ireland
Level Contributor
469 reviews
192 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 335 helpful votes
“Breakfast Disappoints, but Dinner Dishes Deliver...”
Reviewed May 31, 2013

During our 5 night stay at "The Circus Hotel" we ate in its "Restaurant Fabisch" a few times and for us it was a mixed experience.

First, the Breakfast : we opted for the Buffet (Euro 8 per person), and were underwhelmed - our Server only wanted to know if we preferred Apple or Orange Juice + our Room Number - we had to find our own way from there, a vague wave suggesting "if you want food, you'll find it down the end", and no help as to where we might find the Coffee (it wouldn't win any awards !) or the Tea (somewhat better). The Buffet itself was to our eyes poorly presented, and while the fruit & cereal options were O.K., the other choices seemed dull. We were mildly amused at the blunt Bread Knives beside the notice boasting about German Breads (to be fair, they were quite good). Disappointing - if we were to rate "Fabisch" on its Breakfast offering, we would definitely rate it "Average" ! (Happily we later discovered a number of better-value & tastier alternatives in the neighbourhood : "Fleury" just across the road on Weinbergsweg is truly excellent, and the slightly more distant "Factory Girl" on Augustrasse is pretty good too !)

Dinner at "Fabisch" was quite different. With Asparagus in season, we both opted for dishes featuring this delight, one coupled with a scrambled-egg creation, the other with a traditional Weiner Schnitzel - the food wasn't outstanding, but certainly very good, with the potatoes proving particularly tasty. The Weissburgunder white wine (available in various carafe sizes) was the highlight of the evening !

All in all - and certainly because of our dinner-time experience - we would give "Fabisch" 4*. For an enjoyable Breakfast, we suggest you go elsewhere !

Dinner at

  • Visited May 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Gooner10_8
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
prague
Level Contributor
46 reviews
12 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
“Tasty and friendly organic food”
Reviewed May 19, 2013

As we stayed in hotel Circus (Fabisch is a part of this hotel), we visited this restaurant several times. The food was great, we enjoyed it a lot. We tried the organic steak with wine and onions, some fishes and fabulous home-made cakes. Staff is very friendly and is trying to do their best. They will prepare a special cocktail for you and will help you with anything else. We liked the design of this restaurant and the summer terrace so much!

  • Visited May 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank annabal
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Miami Beach, Florida
Level Contributor
216 reviews
180 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 115 helpful votes
“A Hotel that can cook”
Reviewed May 16, 2013

Except for 5 star Hotels, the rule of thumb in Germany with hotel restaurants is: dont go there (consumers behave accordingly) . Here is the exception. The food is local, the food is bio- or similar. The food is delicious. The execution is excellent and even the room is quite presentable. Have been several times, most recently for the Spargel (white asparagus). Much better and much more treasonably priced than many stand alone restaurants (everyone serves asparagus in season). The wine list, while quite focussed , seems well chosen and reasonably priced. The cakes are quite good and overall this is pleasant place to be with an unbelievably quiet garden on this busy busy corner to enjoy warm summer nights. Insofar as there are any, this is Berlin.

  • Visited May 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Jcraigh
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dublin
Level Contributor
149 reviews
106 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 44 helpful votes
“Fabisch review”
Reviewed April 6, 2013

Arrived here with a booking. The menu offered a good variety. The food was good but the service was very slow. The waiter was very apologetic stating that they were not expecting the large crowd that had arrived. There was a lovely atmosphere and the restaurant was well decorated.

  • Visited April 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Sandrashoes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Fabisch also viewed

 

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing