We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
WINNER WONDERLAND
Win Big When You Book on TripAdvisor

“One of a kind!” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Centolire

Centolire
Ranked #160 of 7,999 Restaurants in Berlin
Certificate of Excellence
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Romantic, Special occasions, Families with children, Business meetings, Kids
Dining options: Late Night, Dinner, Lunch, Free Wifi, Full Bar, Highchairs Available, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
Neighborhood: Mitte
Cotswolds
Level Contributor
21 reviews
13 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“One of a kind!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 15, 2013

We were a little worried when we arrived. The place is tiny and very casual. The service is unique! Moreno doesn't offer a menu. If you ask, he brings you a big board. There's no the wine list. We said what we wanted to spend and he told us good Italian wine needn't be so expensive! He was right! Moreno is lovely and we shared stories over a few glasses of grappa! We loved this place, and we loved Moreno. If you like stuffy, don't go here. On Mareno's urging, we chose a mixed starter and then had the mixed pasta dish, with 5 different separate pasta dishes on on plate. Excellent flavours from the chili in the Arabiata through truffles and pumpkin ravioli. All tasted different & delicious!

  • Visited October 2013
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Aengus
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

489 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    321
    98
    30
    17
    23
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Boston
Level Contributor
16 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“Centolire and Moreno for a memorable meal”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 11, 2013

DO NOT GO TO THIS RESTAURANT is you want a stuffy atmosphere and obsequious wait staff.

But if you want excellent food served in a congenial atmosphere where you interact with your neighboring diners, and banter with your waiter, then this should be a must-visit stop when you visit Berlin.

When you ask Moreno for a menu, he brings you 1 meter by 2 meter chalk board. When you ask for the wine list, he shrugs, tells you that there isn't one , and asks you want you want. Then he brings you a wine that he suggests, and it's great. Moreno is a funny, warm, and entertaining waiter.

We loved this place, and we loved Moreno. If you like stuffy, don't go here. If you like fun with your good food, make your reservations and prepare to enjoy it.

  • Visited October 2013
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank B F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dallas, Texas
Level Contributor
21 reviews
7 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“Italy in Berlin”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 3, 2013

The absolute best Italian food I have ever had. We even went twice. The owner, the food, the atmosphere...just so much fun.IF you go to Berlin you must go.

Visited September 2013
Helpful?
Thank RDCTX
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
20 reviews
14 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“A positive surprise..”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 29, 2013 via mobile

We were really too late, but made a call to Centolire to see if we were lucky .. And we were ;) I think we got the last 4 seats in the restaurant, a small place we room for about 20 people. Our waiter was great and talked us through the options, and we went for a mixed starter and then I had the mixed pasta dish, with 5 different separate pasta dishes on on plate. Excellent flavours from the chili in the Arabiata through truffles and then probably the best lasagna's I have tasted.

Visited September 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank SorenAlt
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sciacca, Italy
Level Contributor
32 reviews
16 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
“Pricey but ethnic Italian food in berlin”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 4, 2013


A tad pricey but good hearty Italian food. Really enjoyed the antipasti. Family enjoyed their meals. Portions not extremely
Large

Visited August 2013
Helpful?
Thank John S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Centolire also viewed

 

Been to Centolire? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing