We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“one of the best Mercure” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Mercure Hotel Berlin City

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Mercure Hotel Berlin City
Ranked #118 of 633 Hotels in Berlin
Certificate of Excellence
Write a Review

1,255 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    413
    643
    162
    22
    15
See reviews for
140
525
131
283
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (46)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Thai first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Istanbul, Turkey
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 23, 2013

On my business trip, they gave me a room which smelt cigarettes/ tabocco very heavily. When I asked for another room, they said they are fully booked. They offered to use so called anti-tabocco air freshner and then ended up spraying the room carpet with an even heavier lemon scented industrial sprey and asked me leave the window open while sleeping (while it was about 12 degrees outside). I could not breathe in the room let alone sleep. While the room and bathroom are claustrophobically small, the pillow and bed are very poor quality. I suggest anyone to stay away from this hotel if you want to have a good night sleep.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled on business
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
Helpful?
2 Thank Vut0611
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MercureBerlinCity, Manager at Mercure Hotel Berlin City, responded to this review, September 27, 2013
Dear Guest,

thank you for taking the time to tell us about your experience at the Mercure Hotel Berlin City. I am sorry that your experience did not meet your expectations; please allow me to express my sincerest apologies.

At Mercure, we strive to provide a superior service experience for every customer; therefore your feedback is very important to us. Please rest assured that we are taking the appropriate measures to address the problem and prevent future occurrence. I spoke to my front office manager and he assured me to make sure that guest wishes like non smoking requests are now double checked at the day of arrival.

I appreciate your sharing your concerns, and it is my hope that you will give us the opportunity to better serve you in the near future.

Beste regards

Bernd Mensing & Team
Hotelmanager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Zeist
1 review
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 15, 2013

the hotel has helpful staff, it is a clean hotel, the rooms are very clean and quiet. The hotel has an excellent location close to the Hauptbahnhof and Ubahn stations Naturkunde museum and other public transport hubs

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Review collected in partnership with Easytobook.com

Helpful?
Thank Albert H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MercureBerlinCity, Manager at Mercure Hotel Berlin City, responded to this review, September 18, 2013
Dear guest,

thank you very much for your feedback. We are pleased that you will find our hotel well.

Best regards

Bernd Mensing & Team
Hoteldirektor
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chicago, Illinois
Level Contributor
25 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 9, 2013

This is a modern-style hotel that is great for business travelers. The staff were quite friendly and helpful. The room itself was not huge, but also not cramped. It did have A/C, though it took about 12-18 hours for it to get to my ideal temperature. This could be likely because being European, they tend not to have the A/C on all the time. They have a very nice breakfast spread in the morning, which also was nice. There is tons of road construction right now, but I could not hear anything from my room. I would stay here again were I to come to Berlin for business.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank SidFarkus
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MercureBerlinCity, Manager at Mercure Hotel Berlin City, responded to this review, September 12, 2013
Dear Guest,

thank you for your feedback. We are pleased that you liked us and that you would like to come again.

best regards from Berlin

Bernd Mensing & Team
Hotel Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Karlsruhe, Germany
Level Contributor
28 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 22, 2013

To put it short: if you want to stay a weekend in Berlin's eastern center consider seriously about this hotel. They offer pretty good comfort at very reasonable fares in a real central location, just 10 minutes by foot away from the Central Station. Don't expect huge rooms or big glamour, on the other hand the personal is very friendly and attentious. At our second stay there, we found some new free extras in the room (instant coffee, tea, water boiler) and lobby (cold soft drinks).

Due to works until 2015 on the Invalidenstrasse it is absolutely impossible to find a parking lot outside. So if you travel by car and don't want to park at the near Invalidenpark, the hotel also has as parkspot at 12 euros a day for you. Attention to the narrow entrance!

Room Tip: During the week try to get a room to the hotel's in- or backside.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank fsm59
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MHHHC, Manager at Mercure Hotel Berlin City, responded to this review, August 26, 2013
Dear Guest,

Thank you for your feedback. We are pleased that you enjoyed your stay in our house.

Greetings from Berlin

Bernd Mensing & Team
Hotel manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Madison, Wisconsin
Level Contributor
41 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 18, 2013

My wife and I found the hotel accommodations themselves nice but the hotel really isn't near any major attractions. We happened across this hotel through Hotwire. Like I said the room was very nice and comfortable but location leaves much to be desired. There is a metro station nearby but the rail was Nader construction at the time. There was also a lot of road construction at the time (early August). We did walk to the Hauptbahnhof which took about 10 minutes. If you are there for comfort...go with it. If you want location...keep looking.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Brian J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MHHHC, Manager at Mercure Hotel Berlin City, responded to this review, August 20, 2013
Dear Brian,

Thank you for your feedback. Sorry that you were not happy with the location of the hotel. Near the hotel leaves a U.Bahn line and three other S-Bahn lines, and a tram. so you can navigate more distant sights of the city within 15 minutes. Within walking distance from the hotel you can easily reach the memorial "Berlin Wall", and the Reichstag, and the Friedrichstrasse shopping street.

Kind regards

Bernd Mensing and team
Hotel Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Berlin hotels
Mitte
H+ Hotel Berlin Mitte
H+ Hotel Berlin Mitte
#178 of 633 in Berlin
4.0 of 5 bubbles 533 reviews
Kreuzberg
Mercure Hotel Berlin Mitte
Mitte
Tryp Berlin Mitte
Tryp Berlin Mitte
#115 of 633 in Berlin
4.0 of 5 bubbles 2,013 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Mitte
ARCOTEL Velvet
ARCOTEL Velvet
#132 of 633 in Berlin
4.0 of 5 bubbles 703 reviews
Mitte
Mercure Hotel & Residenz Berlin Checkpoint Charlie
Moabit
Hotel Ibis Berlin Hauptbahnhof
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Mercure Hotel Berlin City? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Mercure Hotel Berlin City

Property: Mercure Hotel Berlin City
Address: Invalidenstr. 38, 10115 Berlin, Germany (Formerly Mercure Hotel Berlin an der Charite)
Phone Number:
Location: Germany > Berlin > Mitte
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#70 Business Hotel in Berlin
#89 Luxury Hotel in Berlin
#94 Romantic Hotel in Berlin
#95 Family Hotel in Berlin
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — Mercure Hotel Berlin City 4*
Number of rooms: 246
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Our modern hotel in the heart of the city is the ideal starting point for exploring the vibrant metropolis of Berlin.The direct proximity of the Mercure Hotel Berlin City to the new central station, the government quarter, the Humboldt University and the gastronomic scene in the Oranienburger Strasse emphasises the unique location in the middle of the vibrant metropolis Berlin. The hotel's neighbourhood around the Friedrichstadtpalast, which is known for its world famous revue, the architectural heritage "Unter den Linden", "the Brandenburg Gate" and "the German Reichstag" makes the hotel to an ideal starting point for all Berlin visitors. The connection to urban and interurban public transports is perfect. Bus, underground and tram service stops are close to the hotel. And for shopping tourists the perfect place in the immediate vicinity is the Friedrichstrasse with its exquisite boutiques.In 246 modern, bright and fully air-conditioned rooms with shower and WC, telephone, flatscreen TV, safe,high-speed Internet access and Wi-Fi, you will enjoy all theamenities of a modern city hotel. Choose between our Standard rooms and our Superior rooms overlooking the landscaped courtyard. Our public underground garage is available for your car.Indulge yourself in our restaurant with outstanding regional and international specialities, complemented by our Grands Vins Mercure, a selection of exquisite wines. To round off the day nicely, our RELAX bar waits with delicious cold cuts and cocktails at your disposal. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Orbitz, Travelocity, Agoda, Expedia, Hotel.de, ACCOR and Priceline so you can book your Mercure Hotel Berlin City reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Mercure Berlin

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing