We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Outstanding service, location and value”
Review of Swissotel Berlin

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Swissotel Berlin
Ranked #39 of 634 Hotels in Berlin
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersPlatinum level
London, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
38 reviews
26 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
“Outstanding service, location and value”
Reviewed November 17, 2013

Stayed two nights for a business trip (our office is just across the street). This is an area of Berlin that I had never visited, it's both a business and shopping district (some super-upscale shops down the road!!) in the old west Berlin.
At first one doesn't know what to expect because the lobby is a couple of floors up from street level, and then one arrives in a very modern yet welcoming reception.
The receptionists at this hotel have got to be some of the nicest ever. Super-welcoming yet totally appropriate for a business traveler (i.e. not overly friendly/casual). Somehow the young woman spoke English with a British accent which was nice :-)
The rooms are what I know to expect from a Swissotel (I am a regular at Zurich), super clean, ample, modern furnishings, Nespresso machine!! Their Purovel soaps and amenities are my favourite (they smell of mountain plants and herbs)
The only disappointment is I couldn't get the temperature control sorted out so it was a teeny bit on the cold side. Also, having been assigned room 836, it was quite a walk from the elevator (exactly at the opposite end).
Breakfast is excellent, in terms of quality and choice, totally spoilt from Northern European to pastries to full American. Important detail: the tea does not come in teabags, it is leaf tea!! And I can't remember the last time I had breakfast on tables fully dressed with tablecloths and linen napkins...
We also tried the bar, which is a cosy horseshoe shape and super friendly barman and barwoman.
So, at least in this area of Berlin, highly recommended.

Room Tip: Even numbered rooms are courtyard/interior facing, odd numbered rooms are exterior facing Rooms in...
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank FamilleDiF
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SwissotelBerlin, Director of Sales at Swissotel Berlin, responded to this review, November 20, 2013
Dear FamilleDiF,

Thank you very much for reviewing your stay with us. We highly appreciate your feedback and have shared all your comments with our team. Our Technical Department will look into the challenges with your room temperature and we will assure a room closer to the elevator for your next stay. Just tell us in advance - we are more than happy to take care of this.
Best wishes from Berlin, your Swissôtel Berlin Team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

2,914 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    1,849
    821
    176
    48
    20
See reviews for
318
1,158
242
705
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (263)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Czech first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Slovak first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
England, United Kingdom
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed November 14, 2013

My boyfriend and I stayed for 5 night stay at the Swissotel Berlin and we had a lovely time!

The hotel is in a central location which is great for shopping but also very close the multiple underground stations making it very easy and cheap to get around the city to see the sights!

Our room was lovely and clean and very quiet. The beds are memory foam and we had feather pillows but there is a pillow menu in your room where you can request different types of pillows from if you wish. They also have sky tv in the rooms, most channels are Geman but there are a few English news channels to watch.

All the staff were very polite and spoke great English, when we checked in our staff member even took the time (without us requesting this) to mark on a map all the places which we might be interested in visiting whist in Berlin, this also included places to eat close to the hotel.

We thoroughly enjoyed the breakfast, it had a full buffet cooked breakfast and also offered bottled water, fresh juices, fruits, cereals and breads! There was also a wide choice continental pastries which were lovely and fresh. When you waitress seats you are offered tea and coffee and can also at this point order fresh eggs, pancakes, waffles etc which were also lovely.

We got this hotel for a great price as we booked quite late and we don't have any complaints about our stay so we would definitely return and recommend this hotel to others!

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Ginger0491
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SwissotelBerlin, Director of Sales at Swissotel Berlin, responded to this review, November 20, 2013
Dear Ginger0491,
thank you very much for taking your time to review your stay with us. We are more than pleased to read that you enjoyed your stay and have shared your comments with our entire team.
We are looking forward to welcome you back.
Best wishes from Berlin,
Yours Swissôtel Berlin Team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Orlando, Florida
Level 3 Contributor
11 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed November 13, 2013

The location of the hotel is great, few minutes walking distance from Zoo, easy access to bus station or subway station which can be very convenient when going back to the airport. Stayed there few days ago. The reception staff was nice, friendly, always ready to help. The lobby is not situated on the ground floor, we had to take the elevator up to reception. Check in was done quickly.
The hotel is ok for a night sleep. Room was ok, clean. AC was working fine during our stay. Bottles of water were placed in our room within minutes after check in. The daily newspaper was delivered around 9ish but the person delivering the newspaper just entered the room without knocking.

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Julie D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SwissotelBerlin, Director of Sales at Swissotel Berlin, responded to this review, November 20, 2013
Dear Julie D,
We are very glad to hear that you enjoyed your stay with us and we are looking forward to welcome you back in Berlin. Nevertheless we would like to take the chance to apologies for the entrance into your room. This is definitely not our standard and we have discussed this within our team.
Best wishes from Berlin,
Yours Swissôtel Berlin Team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dingden, Germany
Level 3 Contributor
22 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
Reviewed November 12, 2013

Stayed at the Swiss Hotel in Berlin in November 2013.
The hotel is situated on the Ku-Dam and is very central.

You need to go by lift to get into the hotel lobby.
The front desk were friendly and we were checke in quickly.
Our room on the 6th floor was small and like a sauna, the A/C was switched off and the window closed. This happened every day!!!!

The pillows are flat with no comfort. The shower floods the bathroom although it´s seperate,
as the doors do not close properly.
In the evening we returned to the hotel to find the A/C switched off and the window closed.
We complained to the front desk, who told us they could reduce the room temp to 20c or less if we wanted, as we sleep in a cool room at home we chose 18c, this was done and the room cooled. The next 2 days it was just the same only the temp was not reduced, even after speaking to the front desk nothing happened.
The hotel gave us a 4pm check-out without charge this was the best thing about this hotel.
Breakfast is also not the best, very poor selection of bread, the ham is cheap and wet , eggs need to be ordered seperately. The breakfast servers were friendly every day.
It is the only 5* hotel that I have ever stayed in that charges 11 Euro for a 0.1 CL glass
of sparkling wine at breakfast .

Would I stay here again NEVER !!!

Room Tip: Look for another hotel
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Stephen P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SwissotelBerlin, General Manager at Swissotel Berlin, responded to this review, November 18, 2013
Dear Stephen,
thank you very much for taking your time to review your stay. We have seriously discussed and reviewed your comments with our team. The room you were staying in is inspected by our AC company and this morning we have changed our breakfast bread selection. We hope we can convince you with your next stay. Best regards,
Bettina Schütt, General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kayl
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed November 11, 2013

This property has a perfect location on Kurfürstendamm. The staff is great and helpfull. The rooms are spacious and mine was immaculately presented. Breakfast is also a great experience as the Swisshotel offers not only standard breaffast menues but has on top some "Swiss" dishes.
If I had one small negative point it would be about the small size of the bar.. but some will appreciate as it may favor the contacts.

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Swissotel

Helpful?
1 Thank Joseph D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Istanbul, Turkey
Level 5 Contributor
65 reviews
31 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 46 helpful votes
Reviewed November 10, 2013

I'm not sure whether this is always the case in Berlin that the hotels are always cheap in price but high in quality. Swissotel offer a value that no hotel i have seen can compare. I'm well aware that Paris is very expensive but nonetheless i find a bit difficult to tell myself that how I can only stay in Ibis Cambronne in Paris(mediocre neighbourhood) and I can stay in Swissotel in Ku'damm(upscale neighbourhood) in Berlin for the same price? This hotel is close to the tube, close to a few of tourist attractions, close to KaDeWe (luxurious, century old shopping centre) and if you are there for night life, a few minutes walk away from Maxim Club.
Regarding the rooms, what can i say? All you can expect is high quality. Even the stereo they put in the rooms are B&O. Beds are large and comfy, bathrooms are clean and looking new without any stain or mold discolourations as you can see in some other hotels.
The breakfast hall is very spacious and the room's decoration is quite posh. You can almost feel you are actually attending to an upscale reception instead of having the second B of a B&B accomodation.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Onur U
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
NORTH WEST ENGLAND
Level 4 Contributor
36 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
Reviewed November 9, 2013 via mobile

This hotel is very well located. Having stayed there a few days ago, I could not fault the service or the room. The food and service at the restaurant was also of high quality. All staff worked hard to ensure a good visit. The place is not cheap, but must be amongst the best that I have experienced anywhere.

Stayed November 2013, traveled solo
Helpful?
1 Thank AS1690
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Berlin hotels
Charlottenburg
Sofitel Berlin Kurfuerstendamm
Charlottenburg
Hotel Palace Berlin
Hotel Palace Berlin
#33 of 634 in Berlin
1,867 reviews
Charlottenburg
Pullman Berlin Schweizerhof
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Charlottenburg
H10 Berlin Ku'damm
H10 Berlin Ku'damm
#35 of 634 in Berlin
1,871 reviews
Charlottenburg
The Mandala Hotel
The Mandala Hotel
#9 of 634 in Berlin
2,207 reviews
Charlottenburg
Steigenberger Hotel Berlin
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Swissotel Berlin? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Swissotel Berlin

Property: Swissotel Berlin
Address: Augsburger Str. 44 | Am Kurfürstendamm, 10789 Berlin, Germany
Phone Number:
Location: Germany > Berlin > Charlottenburg
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#3 Green Hotel in Berlin
#15 Business Hotel in Berlin
#20 Luxury Hotel in Berlin
#21 Family Hotel in Berlin
#34 Romantic Hotel in Berlin
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:5 star — Swissotel Berlin 5*
Number of rooms: 316
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Swissotel Berlin is located at legendary Kurfurstendamm in the heart of city center west! Upon entering the modern, light-flooded lobby you will immediately sense the tranquility. The contemporary design, as unobtrusive as the friendly service promises a pleasant and relaxing visit. Guests appreciate the convenience of free wireless LAN, DSL Internet connection, as well as the Nespresso coffee maker in all of the hotel's 316 rooms. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Fairmont Hotels, Expedia, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Priceline, TripOnline SA, Cancelon, Hotwire, Cheap Tickets, Agoda, Evoline ltd and HotelQuickly so you can book your Swissotel Berlin reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Swissotel Berlin Hotel Berlin
Swissotel Hotel Berlin
Berlin Swissotel Hotel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing