We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great location, fantastic service”
Review of Swissotel Berlin

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
Swissotel Berlin
Ranked #36 of 634 Hotels in Berlin
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersPlatinum level
Hastings, New Zealand
Level Contributor
18 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
“Great location, fantastic service”
Reviewed February 21, 2013

I stayed here for 4 nights whilst on business, it is perfect for this, great proximity to shops, mall and 10 minute walk to Ka De We store.
Plenty of taxis availble right outside the Hotel.Fare €12 from Tegel airport and less than 15 minutes.
Breakfast was fine, plenty of selection and well prepared.
Wifi free in lobby, but had to sign in everytime, instead of auto once you entereed the hotel. Inroom wifi €12.5 for 24hr , which is a shame for this standard of hotel.
Rooms are QUIET , well appointed and comfortable, laundry service excellent.
Would definietly recommend this hotel.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank 4Kiwisontour
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

2,823 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    1,796
    796
    171
    44
    16
See reviews for
308
1,121
232
686
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (257)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Czech first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Leeds
Level Contributor
126 reviews
42 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 92 helpful votes
Reviewed February 17, 2013

This well positioned hotel gives you a genuine smiling wellcome. Rooms are functional with a well designed small bathroom. Good toiletries. If you're a member of their Circle club (free to join on line) they will upgrade you to a bigger room and give you free wifi in the bedroom (otherwise E12.50 a day).
Wonderful breakfast.
Very well positioned with the metro just round the corner and the main bus station a 5 minute walk.
Excellent cheap Italian restaurant directly opposite called Valpiano's
Paid £82 per night including breakfast via Trivago - a steal.

Room Tip: join the Circle club on line for free
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank rjrLeeds
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
West Lothian, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
57 reviews
29 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
Reviewed February 17, 2013

This hotel is 10 yards off the Kudam, practically adjacent to the Kurfurstendam metro and 5 mins walk to Berlin Zoo and the Zoo S/U bahn station where many of the tours start. Location is as good as it gets in West Berlin, plenty of shops, restaurants and bars in the vicinity.
We were travelling as a family of 4 and had 2 interconnecting rooms which was ideal and reasonable value using the promotion the hotel offers, although breakfast wasn't included and the hotel charges 28 Euros for a cooked breakfast which put us off eating in the hotel! The hotel is meticulously clean but it seemed to lack atmosphere in the public areas.
The staff were helpful and friendly and all in all a very good base from which to tour Berlin.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Iain N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
scotland
Level Contributor
21 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
Reviewed February 13, 2013

just back from the swissotel berlin and must say that I found it to be a lovely hotel with friendly helpful staff. From arriving until leaving the staff could not have been more friendly.
The rooms are pleasantly decorated and the bathrooms had bath and separate shower. I prefer a bath but did have a shower but found the flow of the water not to be powerful enough for me.
The coffee was very nice made in the nespresso machine. the television had an english film channel which was nice after a long day.
Breakfast was excellent with everything you could wish for and the option of having a breakfast cooked to order as well as buffet style. again nothing was a bother for the staff who were extremely polite and courtious.
The location is excellent and the selection of restaurants and bars round about was very good.
i did not see all that I wanted in Berlin which means I will be going again in the future and will definitely book this hotel again and indeed recommend it to others

Room Tip: an inside room aids towards a tranquil sleep
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank finbob
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Milton Keynes, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
40 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
Reviewed February 13, 2013

Stayed here in January 2013 for 3 nights, and found the hotel to be perfect in every aspect. The service provided by reception staff was professional and efficient on checking in, and the room was spacious, the bed very comfortable, and the decor was very tasteful and contemporary. The bathroom was equally as impressive with a nice powerful shower, and a huge variety of complimentary toiletries. The espresso machine was a nice touch in the room as well. The location of the hotel was excellent, situated in the main shopping area of berlin it was walking distance to plenty of bars and restaurants. The nearest underground station was a 5 minute walk away. I can't think of anything negative about our stay here, I would highly recommend it!

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank jm_1301
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Glasgow
Level Contributor
25 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
Reviewed February 12, 2013

My stay at the Swissotel, Berlin, got off to an inauspicious start.
A complimentary apple handed to me by one of my travel companions while I waited to register, managed to dislodge a dental crown so my first request to the receptionist was for the address of an emergency dentist. Half an hour later and seventy five euros lighter (for an application of dental glue), I found myself settling in to a very comfortable twin bedded room with my roommate.
I had travelled with seven friends to Berlin and we made a good choice when we decided to stay at the Swissotel. The experience had been made so much easier and certainly more pleasant by Sussane Morganthal, a duty manager at the hotel with whom I had exchanged emails prior to our visit. Susanne was a great help and answered the many questions I had about the hotel, Berlin, and the Christmas markets we were going to explore. She is a credit to the Swissotel and to herself. A real gem!
Housekeeping at the Swissotel was first class and the well-appointed rooms were everything we would have expected from a five star hotel – from the bathrobes and slippers right through to the flat screen TVs and Nespresso coffee machines (a real plus).
Breakfast was wonderful, with a huge selection at the self-service bar and hot dishes made to order.
The hotel’s location would be hard to beat. It is a short stroll from Zoologischer train and bus stations, and other underground stations are nearby. KaDeWe is just along the road and the shopping attractions of Kurfurstendamm are on the doorstep.
But the Swissotel’s top attraction is the staff. The concierge was knowledgeable and extremely helpful and without exception, so too were those who manned reception. Even housekeeping and restaurant staff went about their business with a welcoming smile.
I’d go back in an instant --- but be careful of the complimentary fruit!

Room Tip: All twin rooms face the rear atrium -- but they're very bright and spacious
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank ianmac
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, UK
Level Contributor
23 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 40 helpful votes
Reviewed February 10, 2013

We spent four days here at the beginning of November and were very impressed. We heard no noise at all once inside our hotel room, a junior suite that gave us lots of space to spread out and a view of the Kurfurstendamm. Cocktails in the bar were excellent.

What really impressed us about the hotel was its staff. We arrived at about 4 and our room wasn't quite ready, as one of the features of booking a junior suite is the late check out facility. We weren't bothered, we hadn't come on holiday to sit in our room all day and went straight out to explore. The receptionist was very apologetic and insisted we had a free drink to compensate - we thanked her but declined as we were going to go out. At check-out, we noticed that the drinks we took later on in the evening at the bar had not been charged for. We'd completely forgotten about the receptionist's offer of free drinks but nonetheless, the offer was honoured anyway - which we thought very decent of them. Also, a small thing, but every day, the breakfast staff would let us know when they were about to clear up the breakfast buffet, in case there was anything else we wanted. Very courteous and considerate.

I found the bed a tiny bit hard but my husband found it very comfortable. There's a pillow menu.

A good choice of hotel and well-located. Lots of great shops nearby, we spent a fortune in Jack Wolfskin, the Timberland shop and the Christmas shop opposite.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank AS75
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Berlin hotels
Charlottenburg
Sofitel Berlin Kurfuerstendamm
Charlottenburg
Pullman Berlin Schweizerhof
Charlottenburg
H10 Berlin Ku'damm
H10 Berlin Ku'damm
#37 of 634 in Berlin
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,803 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Charlottenburg
Hotel Palace Berlin
Hotel Palace Berlin
#32 of 634 in Berlin
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,744 reviews
Charlottenburg
Hotel Q!
Hotel Q!
#13 of 634 in Berlin
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,204 reviews
Charlottenburg
Lindner Hotel Am Ku'damm
Lindner Hotel Am Ku'damm
#76 of 634 in Berlin
4.5 of 5 bubbles 640 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Swissotel Berlin? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Swissotel Berlin

Property: Swissotel Berlin
Address: Augsburger Str. 44 | Am Kurfürstendamm, 10789 Berlin, Germany
Phone Number:
Location: Germany > Berlin > Charlottenburg
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#4 Green Hotel in Berlin
#15 Business Hotel in Berlin
#21 Family Hotel in Berlin
#33 Luxury Hotel in Berlin
#34 Romantic Hotel in Berlin
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:5 star — Swissotel Berlin 5*
Number of rooms: 316
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Swissotel Berlin is located at legendary Kurfurstendamm in the heart of city center west! Upon entering the modern, light-flooded lobby you will immediately sense the tranquility. The contemporary design, as unobtrusive as the friendly service promises a pleasant and relaxing visit. Guests appreciate the convenience of free wireless LAN, DSL Internet connection, as well as the Nespresso coffee maker in all of the hotel's 316 rooms. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Travelocity, Hotels.com, Fairmont Hotels, Hotwire, Agoda, Priceline, Cheap Tickets, Cancelon, Evoline ltd, TripOnline SA, HotelQuickly and Hotel.de so you can book your Swissotel Berlin reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Swissotel Berlin Hotel Berlin
Swissotel Hotel Berlin
Berlin Swissotel Hotel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing