We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Possibly the best ramen west of Japan”
Review of Cocolo Ramen

Cocolo Ramen
Ranked #16 of 8,503 Restaurants in Berlin
Certificate of Excellence
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: Late Night, Reservations
Neighborhood: Mitte
Berlin, Germany
Level 3 Contributor
19 reviews
9 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
“Possibly the best ramen west of Japan”
Reviewed November 19, 2012

I've waited more than a year to write this review because I first wanted to try some of the top-reviewed ramen offered places like London, New York and LA. So two years later I can say with confidence that Cocolo possibly offers the best ramen outside Japan.

Great: outstanding broth, fantastic atmosphere, incredibly friendly staff, good variety of ramen (try Tantan for something other than the typical pork belly ramen)
Good: the noodles themselves are good but probably a tad too firm
Bad: Waiting times during peak hour, only open after 6m,

This is my go-to restaurant for any friends visiting Berlin.

  • Visited November 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank saintpanda
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

432 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    274
    122
    22
    9
    5
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
1 review
“Yummy”
Reviewed October 25, 2012 via mobile

Best. Ramen. Ever!
If you blink you might just walk right past it.
What a great little, hidden gem in the heart of Berlin.
They food is made at an authentic noodle bar and the music reminds me of anime :)
Decent prices, super quick, very friendly and totally delicious.
Can't wait to go back!

Helpful?
Thank Kittigurl
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveler and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Nice place to have a soup when it's raining outside”
Reviewed October 4, 2012 via mobile

There is a choice of six Ramen soups and some Japanese starters. Everything is made behind the tight wooden bar. The food is of good quality and taste and reasonably priced. At the time of my visit the place was over crowded with tourists, including me :-)

Helpful?
1 Thank Kobi C
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveler and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Modena, Italy
Level 4 Contributor
32 reviews
20 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 44 helpful votes
“Only Ramen, but excellent!”
Reviewed September 9, 2012

The place is pretty small (not easy to find) and crowded. You just sit and choose your favorite Ramen among a list of 6 (unfortunately menu only in German). We choose 2 dishes randomly and they were both very good! Just lucky? Well... looking at the faces of the other people, it seems everything you choose here is excellent. So I suggest to try...
If you are looking for more japanese stuff, just enter in the next door. It is the same owner!

  • Visited August 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank gab01976
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Istanbul, Turkey
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Best tonkotsu ramen outside Japan”
Reviewed September 2, 2012

There is nothing like a good tonkotsu ramen, and a good tonkotsu ramen is not so easy to come by -- and thus, Cocolo is surely a gem in Berlin.

  • Visited October 2011
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Boduk-San
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Cocolo Ramen also viewed

 

Been to Cocolo Ramen? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing