We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“good central hotel”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Novotel Berlin Mitte
Ranked #72 of 634 Hotels in Berlin
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersBronze level
Write a Review

2,692 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    1,035
    1,362
    230
    51
    14
See reviews for
1,340
585
127
304
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (112)
Date | Rating
  • Czech first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
NH
Level Contributor
7 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 24, 2013

Beautiful, very clean hotel. The price for 2 adults and 2 kids was unbeatable. Breakfast was excellent. Great playing space for kids next to the lobby.

But: room, when the 2 beds are open this does not leave much space for moving around. Had to ask for our towels to be changed even though we put them in a pile, service at reception tends to be unfriendly and unwelcoming. As one man said "they really like educating their clients".

But the real problem was the taxi service they use: the hotel requires walking a lot to get where you want. We like walking. But when my 4 year old was exhausted, we asked for a taxi to the museum's island close by. The taxi driver came and made a show to the receptionist about police all over and the roads being blocked. We told the receptionist that we have a feeling he refuses to take us because of low fee for a short distance and asked for a new taxi. But the receptionist played along with the taxi driver. Of course, there was no roads blocked and of course, when we returned, the receptionist turned his head away to avoid eye contact with us.

Next day we asked for a taxi to get to the other side of town. Again, another taxi driver came, he spoke on the phone all along, refused to take out the suitcases and was unbelievably rude.

2 problematic taxi drivers in 2 days mean the hotel is served by a non recommended taxi station. We however had no problem with the taxi drivers who brought us from the airport or others along the way.

I highly recommend the management to improve the situation.

Room Tip: Only for a great price
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank abscd
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Paris, France
Level Contributor
105 reviews
35 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 58 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 24, 2013

Good functionnal hotel. Clean, good services.
Globally well located on FisherInsel, at the end of Museum Insel, 10 to 15 minutes walk from Unter den Linden and the Berliner Dom, 5 minutes to Nikolaikirche district. Located on Ubahn line 2 : 3 stations to Alexanderplatz, 4 stations to Potsdamer Platz, But very little animation, bars or restaurants in the neighborhood.
A good business or family hotel without real charm

Room Tip: Avoid rooms with even number located on the courtyard if you are claustrophobic or neurasthenic ! R...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank parisbanlieue
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne, Australia
Level Contributor
22 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 23, 2013 via mobile

This is my second stay but the first with the family (3 kids). Accommodation quality is fine, and location is excellent. To me though, the buffet breakfast is a huge draw card. The selection and quality is outstanding and, in true Novotel fashion, the kids all ate free. So under €40 for our whole family to feast is great. Subsequent stay in the Novotel Vienna was no where near as good as the Novotel Berlin Mitte

Stayed September 2013, traveled with family
Helpful?
Thank Bruce3188
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bloomfield Hills, Michigan
Level Contributor
81 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 21, 2013

Arrived Saturday and stayed through Friday for a business trip, extended for some visiting as this was my first trip to Berlin. After a 30-minuted taxi from Tegel Airport and I arrived at this clean, friendly, well-located hotel. My first Novotel.

Decent sized "Standard" room on the 6th floor... with intermittent Wi-Fi connection from the room (had to use the lobby for a more reliable signal), fine shower, thin towels, shampoo in a bottle not on wall tube, no shower soap only liquid gel. Good lighting and work space with in-room safe. Elevators were quite fast and four of them minimized wait time. Quiet room, good A/C.

Breakfast buffet seemed unusually well stocked.. too many choices to describe here but if you can't find what you want you are fussy indeed. A colleague noted "three types of honey!" Note: if you want coffee right away, ask as you are seated as this piece of service could be slow. A wait person will bring a pot to your seat. All else you will get for yourself. Quite crowded on Sunday, other days no waiting at 7 AM or so.

Convenient to U-Bahn stop and an easy walk to Museum island museums (the hotel is at the lower end of the island) around various construction projects. If you like to walk, not too far to walk to Brandenburg Gate and Checkpoint Charlie.

Hotel staff were friendly and efficient.. and had patience with my lack of any German skills.

Liked that in the evening you could order small portions of each entrée... restaurant food (served in the bar, in my case), exceeded expectations and service here was excellent.

Room Tip: Some rooms on each floor are directly opposite elevators... I'd avoid these if you can.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank FrequentHappyTravele
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Merseyside
Level Contributor
10 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 16, 2013 via mobile

I stayed here with my daughter for the weekend. The staff were pleasant both in reception and the bar. The hotel itself was clean and well decorated. The hotel is ideally situated and we had a most enjoyable weekend. We did find the breakfast overpriced but that happens in most hotels.

Stayed September 2013, traveled with friends
Helpful?
Thank BerryMersyside
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Berlin hotels
Kreuzberg
Novotel Suites Berlin City Potsdamer Platz
Charlottenburg
Novotel Berlin Am Tiergarten
Mitte
Mercure Hotel & Residenz Berlin Checkpoint Charlie
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Mitte
COSMO Hotel Berlin Mitte
COSMO Hotel Berlin Mitte
#57 of 634 in Berlin
4.5 of 5 bubbles 963 reviews
Mitte
Arcotel John F
Arcotel John F
#71 of 634 in Berlin
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,364 reviews
Mitte
Adina Apartment Hotel Berlin Checkpoint Charlie
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Novotel Berlin Mitte? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Novotel Berlin Mitte

Property: Novotel Berlin Mitte
Address: Fischerinsel 12, 10179 Berlin, Germany
Location: Germany > Berlin > Mitte
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#28 Green Hotel in Berlin
#41 Family Hotel in Berlin
#58 Luxury Hotel in Berlin
#79 Business Hotel in Berlin
#108 Romantic Hotel in Berlin
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — Novotel Berlin Mitte 4*
Number of rooms: 238
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Novotel Berlin Mitte is a 4 star hotel in the heart of Berlin, between Alexanderplatz and Potsdamer Platz and within walking distance of major attractions such as Museum Island, the Brandenburg Gate and the Reichstag. Guests on a business trip or holiday will find the highest level of comfort in our 238 rooms and seven modern meeting rooms. A restaurant serving refined Mediterranean cuisine, 24 hour room service, Wave Bar and spacious sauna and fitness area provide relaxation for body and soul. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, ACCOR, Expedia, Orbitz, Travelocity, Agoda, Hotwire, TripOnline SA, Priceline, getaroom.com and HotelQuickly so you can book your Novotel Berlin Mitte reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Novotel Berlin Mitte Hotel Berlin
Accor Berlin Mitte
Berlin Novotel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing