We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great Location, Great Breakfast, Great Value”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Novotel Berlin Mitte
Ranked #75 of 634 Hotels in Berlin
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersBronze level
Cape Town, Western Cape, South Africa
Level Contributor
94 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 60 helpful votes
“Great Location, Great Breakfast, Great Value”
Reviewed April 3, 2013

Ok, so the less said about the room for 4 people the better. It was very small for 4 people, but still serviceable. the best thing about the room was that it had a large counter-top where one could put things, as there was precious little space anywhere else. The thing was that we didn't actually spend that much time at the hotel, as Berlin is such a fascinating city. By far the best thing was the location, which is really close to the metro and within easy walking distance to the main attractions like the Brandenburg Gate. The next best thing was the breakfast, which was included in the room rate. It was really excellent, with my children enjoying the waffle maker!! The service in the restaurant was outstanding, and I can only compliment the team of waitrons for always being polite and cheerful. If I was visiting Berlin again I would certainly look at this hotel for a budget stay.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank James K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

2,744 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    1,052
    1,388
    238
    52
    14
See reviews for
1,366
601
128
307
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (114)
Date | Rating
  • Czech first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Hebrew first
  • Hungarian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Lugano, Switzerland
Level Contributor
24 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 48 helpful votes
Reviewed March 24, 2013

What a difference with the other Novotel I've known in the East or in other cities in Europe! ‬
Position 90/100. By far the best thing about the hotel. 10 minutes walk from Alexander Platz and 15 minutes walk from the historic center of the Gendarmenmarkt. Difficult to have more. The road on which face many of the rooms of the hotel is very busy, however, and if you are not staying in a very high floor, it becomes impossible to open the windows and you will be slave of air conditioning night and day. ‬
Rooms: 35/100 (chicken coops). We stayed in what they call ‬ "superior room" (16 sqm! for 4 persons, two adults and two children). Located on the second floor out of 7 or 8 (can not remember), the room overlooks a large and noisy boulevard in Berlin. Best not to open the windows to let in the fresh air (also because the air is not fresh at all in that part of Berlin). But do not count on air conditioning: that's noisy and inefficient. The room lacks a closet and in its place there is a horrible and small wardrobe open to dust. The beds are ok. The bathroom is small, just like the room.
Service 40/100: very poor. In order to speak with the staff at the front desk, you are expected to wait ages. Hundreds of minutes thrown to the wind! (this should not be surprising: the entire hotel has been designed to save money, so that there are many rooms and very few employees). Even when you have breakfast (expensive considering the quality and the average waiting time; I do not recommend it) you waste your time.
Cleaning 50/100: hasty (ie always the same thing: few working people for too many rooms).
Internet 30/100: bad. Unless you wake up at 5 am, you will be forced to grueling waits (even an hour!) Hours of queuing in the lobby to snatch a connection that lasts 15 minutes. In fact, all this is done to rip your money off, since you'll be forced to use the internet in the room at significant additional cost.
Garage 80/100: worthy (10 euro per day seems to be the average cost in Berlin)
Price 40/100: quite expensive considering quality issues, average costs of accommodation in Berlin and the overall quality of other Novotel around the world.

Room Tip: Avoid breakfast, garage is worthy.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank clabarbi
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
scotland
Level Contributor
33 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 38 helpful votes
Reviewed March 17, 2013

Spent 3 nights here, March 2013, 10 minute walk from the train station. Lovely welcome, receptionist spoke English very well, thank you. Hotel was warm, clean comfortable. Room serviced every day. Tea facilities provided, also a free safe. Mini bar,no price list so was afraid to touch anything , but it was big enough to put your own stuff in, and there was a small supermarket, convienently next to the hotel.
I had a small problem with the safe, my fault, I phoned reception and it was resolved in less than 7 minutes. Went out to eat, breakfast was on the pricey side at 19 euros, plenty restaurants within 10 minute walk. Bought the welcome Berlin 3 day transport ticket, great value, 26 euros, covered all forms of public transport and gets you discount at the zoo and on walking tours and other places

. Great 3 day trip.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank heathers44
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne, Australia
Level Contributor
11 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed March 16, 2013

My partner and I stayed here for 2 nights in February.
The staff were willing to help out with reading train tickets in German and suggesting good places to eat.
Rooms were tidy and modern, the only downside would be that we stayed in a non smoking room, but were on the same floor as smoking rooms and the smell of smoke in the corridor was very strong due to poor ventilation, but we just held our breath from the elevator to our room door.
The food in the restaurant was quite nice, and the potato soup was really lovely! They also had interesting serving plates when you order a cappuccino making it feel just that little bit more classy.
It is not very far from Alexander platz (about 900m) where there are plenty of shops and restaurants.
Would recommend this hotel for people who wants a nice hotel without spending too much.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Jessica S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Washington DC, District of Columbia
Level Contributor
44 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed March 10, 2013

I highly recomend this Hotel if you are planning a toursitc visit of the city. It is very well located and the Hotel is clean and well priced. Novotel is a guarantee of value for money. The Hotel rents bikes for €10/day (April 2012) that are great for a zip around the city, I highly suggest you do that if you want to get as much seen as posible (the lock is included).

Room Tip: Ask for a top room facing the city center. The views will be better.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Bill_Reig
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Whitstable
Level Contributor
22 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed February 25, 2013

Although the hotel was undergoing some renovation work, it was clean, comfortable and friendly. The room was quiet with a comfortable sofa bed for my son. The bathroom was well stocked and the shower very powerful. Although we hadn't arranged to have breakfast we soon changed our mind, as they said they would only charge for me and my son (16) would eat free. The was so much choice, it was a case of you name it you can have it.
We walked nearly everywhere on our holiday and the hotel was very conveniently placed for us to do this.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank NuttyWhitstable
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London
Level Contributor
65 reviews
31 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 38 helpful votes
Reviewed February 25, 2013

I was somewhat disappointed by the hotel - while others have noted the good breakfast, if you don't get it in the deal it's €19 per day, which is horribly overpriced. While I was there, the lobby was being refurbished, and the entrance seemed to change several times a day as a result, the lifts were also very loud and woke me up several times. It's also worth noting that while there's a gym, it's down in the basement, is very small, and is horribly overheated - I've run half-marathons, but I couldn't do more than 4km down there, it was completely airless. The bathroom was excellent, a large wet room, and the location was very convenient, but in general I think there are better places to stay in Berlin; I'd give it 2.5, but I can only do whole numbers.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank AndiRLondon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Berlin hotels
Kreuzberg
Novotel Suites Berlin City Potsdamer Platz
Mitte
Mercure Hotel & Residenz Berlin Checkpoint Charlie
Charlottenburg
Novotel Berlin Am Tiergarten
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Mitte
Adina Apartment Hotel Berlin Checkpoint Charlie
Mitte
NH Collection Berlin Mitte Friedrichstrasse
Mitte
Arcotel John F
Arcotel John F
#74 of 634 in Berlin
1,396 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Novotel Berlin Mitte? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Novotel Berlin Mitte

Property: Novotel Berlin Mitte
Address: Fischerinsel 12, 10179 Berlin, Germany
Location: Germany > Berlin > Mitte
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#28 Green Hotel in Berlin
#41 Family Hotel in Berlin
#59 Luxury Hotel in Berlin
#79 Business Hotel in Berlin
#108 Romantic Hotel in Berlin
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Novotel Berlin Mitte 4*
Number of rooms: 238
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Novotel Berlin Mitte is a 4 star hotel in the heart of Berlin, between Alexanderplatz and Potsdamer Platz and within walking distance of major attractions such as Museum Island, the Brandenburg Gate and the Reichstag. Guests on a business trip or holiday will find the highest level of comfort in our 238 rooms and seven modern meeting rooms. A restaurant serving refined Mediterranean cuisine, 24 hour room service, Wave Bar and spacious sauna and fitness area provide relaxation for body and soul. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, Hotwire, Travelocity, Priceline, ACCOR, TripOnline SA, Cancelon, Hotel.de, getaroom.com and HotelQuickly so you can book your Novotel Berlin Mitte reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Novotel Berlin Mitte Hotel Berlin
Accor Berlin Mitte
Berlin Novotel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing