We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Mandala Hotel”
5 of 5 bubbles Review of The Mandala Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
The Mandala Hotel
Ranked #9 of 634 Hotels in Berlin
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersPlatinum level
Gerrards Cross, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Mandala Hotel”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 26, 2010

Great hotel, feels very exclusive with the lack of a conventional lobby. We stayed over a weekend when the gourmet restaurant is closed so be warned. Rooms are spacious and very well equipped and the staff very attentive. Great position for sightseeing.

  • Stayed November 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Clarkin54
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

2,009 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    1,448
    427
    75
    29
    30
See reviews for
243
954
144
449
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (237)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Czech first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Slovak first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
london
Level Contributor
13 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 22, 2010

I agree with most reviewers - this was a real pleasure. I wondered when I arrived - the reception seems squeezed into the side of a building right on a very busy street - from similar receptions in places like Paris and New York I expected a small and claustrophobic room, dark interiors etc. but in Berlin - what a delight! A huge suite overlooking a delightful interior garden of bamboo. Absolutely silent - and almost as big as my London flat, for about £200 a night. I know Berlin is spoiled for good hotels, but this was a very pleasant surprise. Potsdamer Platz very centrally located, subway is only yards away and it's a short hop to Reichstag, Unter den Linden etc. etc.
I am tempted not to bother staying anywhere else when I'm in the city.

Stayed November 2010, traveled on business
Helpful?
Thank ricepudding21
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York City, New York
Level Contributor
9 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 14, 2010

We stayed at The Mandala in August and it was easy to find arriving at Berlin Schoenefeld and taking the subway to the hotel. Upon checking in we were pleased to find that we received a room upgrade from the Management Suite to an Executive Suite with two terraces. The room was absolutely perfect, it included a well provisioned kitchenette and the tap water in Berlin was amazing.

The location was excellent also, a short walk to the Brandenburg Gate as well as the other major attractions. The hotel bar was great and the staff was very helpful and friendly. The cocktails were a hit and the food was top notch. They even offered an umbrella to go out seeing as it was raining one of the nights we were there. The area around the hotel was nice also, a great restaurant right around the corner (I forgot the name) and the mall close by had all the shops you could require need for general shopping or traveling necesities.

All in all I would highly recommend this hotel to any couple/family looking for a reasonably priced getaway to Berline which is central enough to see all the sights Berlin has to offer!

Stayed August 2010, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank marena23
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Liverpool, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
23 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 55 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 31, 2010

I stayed at this hotel for my 30th birthday with my partner. We arrived at the hotel about 8pm. Once arriving at reception we were told that there were no "management suites" available so they upgraded us to an "executive superior"! And wow. Its like an open planned spacious flat! Great views across the city from the 8th floor panoramic window. Very very quiet inside. No noise from the street could be heard even though it was bustling.

The next day (on my birthday) when we were getting ready there was a ring on the door and a member of reception staff was standing there with a bottle of chilled bubbly in a bucket and said "on behalf of the hotel we would like you to have this. happy birthday." What a lovely touch. The staff were so helpful with other things, such as direction, recommendations for food and other attractions.

On our last night i tipped the helpful receptionist (the one who presented the champers) with a 10€ tip. He said "there's no need sir. Its my job". I said "you have helped us endlessly during our stay. We want to say thank you". He said "we need more people like you in this hotel". This was probably a sad stark reality that this sort of top notch hotel attracts (on the whole) clientele that treat the staff with little respect - because they are better than them. I'm not saying everyone at the hotel is like this, but staff seemed genuinely humbled when ever we even smiled and talked to them. Just our impression from 2 grounded people that just got a cracking deal on this hotel. End of the day these members of staff are working their backsides off to earn a living like everyone else.

The only negative is the price of breakfast, but it was the same price as room service so we did that. It was excellently presented and very tasty.

The spa was brilliant. Again, one negative was that i had booked a massage and when I went to turn up for it they had actually not typed the booking into the system. Then there was more confusion about the treatment i would get so i didnt bother in the end,

All in all a fantastic 5-star experience for a great price.

  • Stayed October 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Nickolai
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
NYC
Level Contributor
47 reviews
38 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 46 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 25, 2010

After hours of sightseeing and braving the elements of an early winter in Berlin, nothing was more enjoyable to my friends and I than cocktail hour at The Mandala before heading out again to enjoy the city by night.

We had a beautifully appointed room with a terrace on the 10th floor; not only did we have soft, plush beds, but an in-room sound system that piped the hotel's various compilation CDs throughout the space.

Service was terrific -- front desk gave us detailed recommendations on boat tours and helped us navigate purchase of Berlin Welcome passes. Again, cocktail hour at the hotel bar is not to be missed and daily breakfast at the hotel restaurant is also worth doing (tho it's 27 euros a person, not sure it should be an everyday affair if you're in town for more than a few days).

  • Stayed October 2010, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Beaurex212
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Vancouver, BC
Level Contributor
20 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 19, 2010

We got a special deal through a credit card offer, else we couldn't have afforded staying here. Absolutely gorgeous, modern, well-appointed, perfectly located, superlative. Breakfast was included, and quite the sumptuous affair. Bar open late and serves food until midnight. Located right next to Potsdamer Platz Arkaden, across the street from Sony Centre, easy walking distance to Philharmonie and Gilmelde Gallerie. Bus stops right in front, and 1/2 block to S and U-bahn stations. Rooms small but light with big picture windows, well-appointed with nice mini-kitchenette, big bathtub, "rain shower" shower head, large flat-screen TV with channels in several languages, balcony. Top-notch hotel where you will feel like a pampered celebrity!

  • Stayed October 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank ArtsnSciences
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rio de Janeiro
Level Contributor
47 reviews
33 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 55 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 17, 2010

Well, finally after being in Munich and treated like a dog in other hotel, we got an exceptional apartment in this wonderful hotel ! Our room was 1006, an executive suite.
This is quite large and very well designed.
They gave us, as a cortesy, one bottle of sparkling wine in our first night.
The service was excellent. We were greeted by mr.Demba Sabally and mrs.Myriam ( or Miriam ) They were excellent.
The lay-out of the apartment consists in a big room with full kitchen ( without a microwave ) and a good desk and chair to connect to internet ( 30 euros for 7 days, not expensive and with high speed ) and a big bed, alongside to the bathroom with a shower separated from the tube !
There is a parking lot in the hotel and the price is 20 euros a day. ( not expensive and they bring your car almost instantly )
We did not went to breakfast, as we had a kitchen in the apt. ( but the price is high, 27 euros per person ! )
Everything went fine. The city is beautiful and we definitely had an excellent good time there ! We are going to retorn as soon as possible !
Thanks !

  • Stayed October 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Cierco
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Berlin hotels
Charlottenburg
Hotel am Steinplatz, Autograph Collection
Mitte
The Mandala Suites
The Mandala Suites
#11 of 634 in Berlin
4.5 of 5 bubbles 745 reviews
Charlottenburg
Grand Hyatt Berlin
Grand Hyatt Berlin
#15 of 634 in Berlin
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,812 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Charlottenburg
Das Stue
Das Stue
#5 of 634 in Berlin
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,443 reviews
Mitte
Adina Apartment Hotel Berlin Hackescher Markt
Mitte
Regent Berlin
Regent Berlin
#4 of 634 in Berlin
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,497 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Mandala Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Mandala Hotel

Property: The Mandala Hotel
Address: Potsdamer Strasse 3, 10785 Berlin, Germany (Formerly Madison Potsdamer Platz)
Phone Number:
Location: Germany > Berlin > Charlottenburg
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #9 of 634 Hotels in Berlin
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:5 star — The Mandala Hotel 5*
Number of rooms: 158
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Welcome to THE MANDALA HOTEL - the only privately managed 5 Star superior hotel in the heart of the city. This is where your perfect Berlin stay begins. In the centre of the city only a few walking minutes away from famous sights like the Brandenburg Gate or Reichstag, situated at Potsdamer Platz, this design hotel provides harmonic experiences for the senses. THE MANDALA HOTEL features the most spacious rooms in Berlin, the 2 Michelin star restaurant FACIL, premium ONO Spa as well as the QIU Restaurant & Bar and modern meeting rooms. All 158 studios and suites are equipped with highest quality materials and offer a perfect home away from home combined with individual service. The FACIL restaurant provides a refreshing combination of light, elegant fare in an avant-garde atmosphere of pure luxury, located on the inner courtyard of THE MANDALA HOTEL. The architectural design is as exceptional as the cuisine itself: a green oasis surrounded by bamboo and water fountains provides a year-round view of the stars for gourmet dining under an unclouded sky. Chef de cuisine is Michael Kempf - his style of cooking is modern and creative using exclusively fresh and mostly local products. A word of holistic well-being and inner peace high above Berlin can be found at the premium ONO Spa. In a 600m² space overlooking the city of Berlin, the ONO Spa is geared towards individuals with busy and active lifestyles who place a premium on individualism and privacy and want to attain the maximum relaxation and fitness in the shortest amount of time possible. Choose from numerous massages and treatments and enjoy long-lasting relaxation and energy. A stay at THE MANDALA HOTEL offers numerous harmonic experiences for the senses to provide you with the energy you need during your Berlin stay. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Orbitz, Expedia, Hotwire, Cheap Tickets, Priceline, Agoda, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Cancelon, TripOnline SA, getaroom.com and HotelQuickly so you can book your The Mandala Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing