We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Impressive”
5 of 5 bubbles Review of The Mandala Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
The Mandala Hotel
Ranked #10 of 634 Hotels in Berlin
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersPlatinum level
Beirut, Lebanon
Level Contributor
29 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
“Impressive”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 7, 2014 via mobile

It has been a while I haven't stayed in a hotel that offers this much value for money . My staywas from May 2nd till the 6th.
The design is crisp , the rooms large and clean , the location perfect , the staff friendly ,and the breakfast restaurant sublime and Zen ..

Stayed May 2014, traveled with friends
Helpful?
1 Thank TripMember10162015
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

2,006 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    1,445
    427
    75
    29
    30
See reviews for
242
954
144
448
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (237)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Czech first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Slovak first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Rehovot, Israel
Level Contributor
8 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 6, 2014

We had the most wonderful time in this hotel.
The room was beautiful and had a great urban view.
there is a mini bar with room for storage and electric stove in every room for your convenience.
Breakfast was Devine: they have a Buffet which in the hot beverages and eggs are made by special order.the food is delicious and very fresh.big variety of salads and drinks.
the dinning room has a very relaxing atmosphere:two water fountains are at the center of the room and classical music is played.
The staff is very polite and always makes sure you are most comfortable.they all speak English.
Great city location at the heart of berlin walking distance from a lot off attractions.
As soon as we had notified the hotel that it was our honeymoon they upgraded our room to a business sweet and sent us an amassing bottle of champagne.
I highly recommend this hotel and hope I will be back there soon :)

Room Tip: Every room is great. We had a room and a sweet. Both great.sweet more roomy.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Shirin H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 2, 2014

Hotel was well kept and clean. The front door staff were always friendly and helpful. I also very much enjoyed the breakfast and found their staff to be both accommodating and professional. And by all means visit the bar. Their was a large assortment of cocktails to choose from and the bartender was excellent. It was an excellent hotel I recommend to anyone.

  • Stayed May 2014, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Bob D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dronfield, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
30 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 40 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 29, 2014

Husband and I booked an anniversary break away in Berlin. The hotel was easy to find by public transport from Schoenefeld Airport. The staff were friendly and spoke good English (whenever I tried to speak in German they replied in English!). We had room 811, which overlooked a quiet tree lined side street. It did have a view of the Sony Centre as stated but not one you'd write home about! The facilities were fabulous. An enormous bed with two single duvets which we were surprised about but worked for us. The big bathroom was well stocked with all the necessary toiletries, slippers and dressing gowns - even a set of weighing scales which I ignored for the weekend... Balcony over the Alte Potsdamer Strasse. Curtains all round made for a good night sleep.

WiFi in our room was good. 97Euros for a bottle of Champagne was a bit steep though. Breakfast in the main restaurant was lovely but when we had to go to the 'overflow room' on the Sunday we were disappointed as the atmosphere wasn't nearly as nice.

Great location for exploring the city. A few minutes walk to Brandenburg Gate and about 15 mins to Checkpoint Charlie. Everywhere is accessible by excellent public transport.

  • Stayed April 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank SrhWbb
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brisbane, Australia
Level Contributor
26 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 28, 2014 via mobile

A great modern Hotel exceptional room layout and design. Best location all of the must see sights within walking distance such as Brandenburg Gate, Topography of Terror, Museum Island, Berlin Cathedral etc etc. Staff great, breakfast room and offering great. Treat yourself to the best restaurant in Berlin, the Facil located on the 5th level. This ranks up with the top 3 hotels we have ever stayed in.

Stayed April 2014
Helpful?
Thank George S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
vancouver canada
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 26, 2014

Perfect location...directly across from Sony Centre within walking and cheap taxi to everwhrere....the spa was very good....make sure your package includes breakfast which is simply overwhelming....hot and cold.....

  • Stayed April 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank yvrbound
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dumfries and Galloway, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
164 reviews
34 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 89 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 26, 2014

As said in many reviews this hotel is in an idela location for tourists right on the corner of Potsdamer Platz. We had booked the Business Exec Room and it was faultless. Separate lounge area - kitchenette with facilities including fridge etc. Mini bar prices and selection of drinks were pretty good value for 5 Star Hotel (4 Euros for a bier / 10 Euros for 0.5 bottle of Sekt) Adored the walk in wardrobe / luggage area where there is lots of hanging space for dresses / coats etc as well as all of your baggage. In addition there are other wardrobes and shelving for clothing. Large bathroom - very modern decor. Breakfast had a wonderful selection of everything from fruit options through cereals with many cultures / preferences clearly catered for> Breads / Meats ? cheeses wide and varied choice. Cooked options also available - very good! Then comes the word of warning which for me was the only negative but it is significant none-the-less in terms of the Hotel needing to ask itself - does it want to be a truly International Hotel accommodating many International clients with a wide range of cultures and customs or just a German Hotel catering for Germans???? There is a massive difference!!!! The ONOSpa on the 11th floor. Beautiful in terms of the facility - spotless and comfortable although no pool which was disappointing. However a very nice facility which was included in the hotel price (treatments extra). I was using the relaxation beds / getting a drink of water and was faced with a quite disgusting sight of an elderly naked German man strutting his stuff betewen the sauna and the showers! Then proceeded to use the shower deliberately leaving the doors wide to the world. The Spa staff (male) didn't want to know - gave me a lecture on German culture! Hotel Management were very understanding however and fully understood the issue so I give them a compliment for that. So even if the rules claim to say (we were not told the rules) OK to be naked in the sauna - some of the Germans take it a step too far - gross!!

Room Tip: We upgraded to Business and it was excellent value / larger and worth every penny> also located o...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank LindasScotland
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Berlin hotels
Charlottenburg
Hotel am Steinplatz, Autograph Collection
Mitte
The Mandala Suites
The Mandala Suites
#13 of 634 in Berlin
4.5 of 5 bubbles 739 reviews
Charlottenburg
Grand Hyatt Berlin
Grand Hyatt Berlin
#14 of 634 in Berlin
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,799 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Charlottenburg
Das Stue
Das Stue
#5 of 634 in Berlin
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,438 reviews
Mitte
Adina Apartment Hotel Berlin Hackescher Markt
Mitte
Regent Berlin
Regent Berlin
#4 of 634 in Berlin
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,492 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Mandala Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Mandala Hotel

Property: The Mandala Hotel
Address: Potsdamer Strasse 3, 10785 Berlin, Germany (Formerly Madison Potsdamer Platz)
Phone Number:
Location: Germany > Berlin > Charlottenburg
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #10 of 634 Hotels in Berlin
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:5 star — The Mandala Hotel 5*
Number of rooms: 158
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Welcome to THE MANDALA HOTEL - the only privately managed 5 Star superior hotel in the heart of the city. This is where your perfect Berlin stay begins. In the centre of the city only a few walking minutes away from famous sights like the Brandenburg Gate or Reichstag, situated at Potsdamer Platz, this design hotel provides harmonic experiences for the senses. THE MANDALA HOTEL features the most spacious rooms in Berlin, the 2 Michelin star restaurant FACIL, premium ONO Spa as well as the QIU Restaurant & Bar and modern meeting rooms. All 158 studios and suites are equipped with highest quality materials and offer a perfect home away from home combined with individual service. The FACIL restaurant provides a refreshing combination of light, elegant fare in an avant-garde atmosphere of pure luxury, located on the inner courtyard of THE MANDALA HOTEL. The architectural design is as exceptional as the cuisine itself: a green oasis surrounded by bamboo and water fountains provides a year-round view of the stars for gourmet dining under an unclouded sky. Chef de cuisine is Michael Kempf - his style of cooking is modern and creative using exclusively fresh and mostly local products. A word of holistic well-being and inner peace high above Berlin can be found at the premium ONO Spa. In a 600m² space overlooking the city of Berlin, the ONO Spa is geared towards individuals with busy and active lifestyles who place a premium on individualism and privacy and want to attain the maximum relaxation and fitness in the shortest amount of time possible. Choose from numerous massages and treatments and enjoy long-lasting relaxation and energy. A stay at THE MANDALA HOTEL offers numerous harmonic experiences for the senses to provide you with the energy you need during your Berlin stay. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Orbitz, Hotels.com, Hotwire, Agoda, Priceline, Travelocity, Cheap Tickets, Cancelon, TripOnline SA, getaroom.com and HotelQuickly so you can book your The Mandala Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing