We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“The Best I've ever been to, in Europe for sure.”
Review of The Mandala Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
The Mandala Hotel
Ranked #8 of 635 Hotels in Berlin
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersPlatinum level
Reviewed October 24, 2013

Spent the best 3 nights in Berlin, in this extremely well-located hotel, the staff was great and friendly, the food was great, and the city welcomed us nicely (cold, but sunny).
The hotel is on the other side of the road away of Postadmer-Platz, and Sony center, and also from the other side, on a walking distance from the great restaurants, shopping mall, cinemt and Casino of the neighborhood.

Room Tip: Not sure they have rooms with balconies to Potsdamer Platz, but if they do, ask for one!
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank OMER P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (2,316)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

976 - 982 of 2,318 reviews

Reviewed October 23, 2013

We decided to stay here based on some of the reviews we read on TA...er were not disappointed. Although if we went back to Berlin again we might want to stay in Mitte to try another neighborhood but the Mandala was centrally located right on Potsdamer Platz...good for a first-time visit.. The rooms were incredibly large and well equipped since I think it caters to a business clientele. Some reviewers said the breakfast was pricey but it really wasn't much more than the Starbucks we went to around the corner and the selection was wonderful. And it's served in the same dining room as the Michelin-starred restaurant. We did not try the restaurant but they have a lovely small lounge on the 2nd floor where we had a light meal of risotto....excellent! maybe the same chef? The waiter was also very sweet and friendly. Every staff member we encountered in the hotel was helpful and cordial...a lot of them are young. Definitely recommend!

Room Tip: I think rooms on the courtyard side might be quietest.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank xymom
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 22, 2013

The biggest positive is the location of the hotel which is in walking distance to most of the main attractions. And a major subway station just across the road. Loads of restaurants and shops nearby. The rooms are large and reasonably comfortable but a bit bland. The balcony is nice to have and the bathroom is large.

The hotel breakfast is excellent and the staff in the restaurant are helpful and pleasant.

But....
the bedding in the room is not great. I was traveling alone and when I arrived I had a single quilt on a queen size bed, Why I asked? Because there was just one of you. It was eventually replaced with a quilt that covered the entire bed but the original logic escaped me and I was made to feel a bit stupid complaining. The pillows were the most uncomfortable I have ever slept on at any hotel. I requested other pillows and they were even worse. I unfortunately rarely had a good nights sleep due to the bedding which is a pity.

My other gripe was the front desk staff. Maybe the hotel is used a lot by business guests and they don’t need much tourist help. But I was a tourist and needed some advice and guidance. Unfortunately the staff had little knowledge on fundamental touristy things in Berlin. For example it was a major national holiday while I was there and no one knew there was a huge street festival behind the Brandenburg Gate. The front desk staff really let the hotel experience down a lot. I had great expectations with this hotel which were not realized, Would I stay there again, probably not. But Berlin is fantastic.

  • Stayed: October 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank ozallan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 20, 2013

Stayed in this hotel while attending a conference in Berlin.
Pros: fantastic location beside Sony Centre and within walking distance (10-30mins) of many of the major sites, close to restaurants and shops, contemporary hotel design, spacious well appointed rooms, pleasant and helpful reception staff.
Cons: only access from the ground floor reception to the rest of hotel is by lift. This was a major issue for me as I avoid using lifts because of a phobia. The bedding was also of lower quality than I would expect for such a smart hotel. I also agree with previous reviews that the hotel lacks atmosphere, feeling a little more like serviced apartments.
However, overall still an excellent hotel, ideal if visiting Berlin for a short break and I would recommend.

  • Stayed: October 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank SB0510
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 20, 2013

Stayed here for four days to celebrate a friends birthday and to visit this city. Booked directly with the hotel and got a great deal on a three night stay (booked well in advance for a 3 night for the price of two deal) and was not disappointed. Had an executive suite which was absolutely huge, tastefully fitted out and nothing missing that I required. Bed firm but very comfortable and the bathroom products were good. Visited the hotel spa (lovely), and had a couple of drinks at the bar on level one which was a relaxing place with an interesting and well priced menu. Dinned at their level 5 restaurant Facil on the second night and did the wine pairing 6 course menu, spectacular evening, food, wine and service were all outstanding. 1 Michelin star is well deserved and maybe as good as the 2 starred Tim Raue where we had eaten the night before. Breakfast is also in the Facil space and is beautifully laid out, with a good range of cold items, thought the hot breakfast menu appeared to be an afterthought in both content and ability to deliver. Stick to the cold buffet. Over all a great base and close to the Holocaust Memorial and the Brandenburg Gates.

Stayed: October 2013, traveled with friends
Thank Pip T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 16, 2013

Yeah it may look like a business hotel but how do you define hotels?! personally I've no complaints whatsoever.. infact I was quite glad that there were no small children running about.. Yes, reception area was small but seriously why would you want to spend your time in the reception area?! There's a massive Sony centre cross the road if you want to meet someone or have a coffee.. Plenty of entertainments, shopping centre, sights in walking distances. Sightseeing bus literally stops right outside hotel (2mins towards subway) Ono Spa on the top floor was amazing.. great view and something you should definitely try.. Also had few drinks in the hotel bar, place was buzzing and drinks were reasonably priced. There was a computer and a printing facility at the reception area which was really handy for printing travelling documents! Overall really enjoyed our stay and would love to come back very soon!

  • Stayed: October 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank SuShi_luv
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 16, 2013

i stayed there with my wife in june and we were kinda disappointed. i mean everything is ok, but not much more really. first of all, i didn´t like the location. ok it´s close to potsdamer platz, so it´s easy to reach, but around the hotel are only skyscrapers and modern buildings and mc donalds and other fast food restaurant and no traditional bars or restaurants at all!!
the room is ok, clean, modern, but it lacks of individuality, in my opinion...
so next time i rather stay in mitte, prenzlberg, kreuzberg...

  • Stayed: June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank wueibi
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Berlin hotels
Charlottenburg
Hotel am Steinplatz, Autograph Collection
Mitte
i31 Hotel
i31 Hotel
#7 of 635 in Berlin
1,883 reviews
Charlottenburg
Grand Hyatt Berlin
Grand Hyatt Berlin
#19 of 635 in Berlin
3,091 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Mitte
Hotel Adlon Kempinski
Hotel Adlon Kempinski
#15 of 635 in Berlin
3,544 reviews
Mitte
Berlin Gorki Apartments
Berlin Gorki Apartments
#1 of 635 in Berlin
497 reviews
Mitte
The Mandala Suites
The Mandala Suites
#12 of 635 in Berlin
840 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Mandala Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Mandala Hotel

Address: Potsdamer Strasse 3, 10785 Berlin, Germany (Formerly Madison Potsdamer Platz)
Phone Number:
Location: Germany > Berlin > Charlottenburg
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #8 of 635 Hotels in Berlin
Price Range: $168 - $390 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:5 star — The Mandala Hotel 5*
Number of rooms: 158
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Welcome to THE MANDALA HOTEL - the only privately managed 5 Star superior hotel in the heart of the city. This is where your perfect Berlin stay begins. In the centre of the city only a few walking minutes away from famous sights like the Brandenburg Gate or Reichstag, situated at Potsdamer Platz, this design hotel provides harmonic experiences for the senses. THE MANDALA HOTEL features the most spacious rooms in Berlin, the 2 Michelin star restaurant FACIL, premium ONO Spa as well as the QIU Restaurant & Bar and modern meeting rooms. All 158 studios and suites are equipped with highest quality materials and offer a perfect home away from home combined with individual service. The FACIL restaurant provides a refreshing combination of light, elegant fare in an avant-garde atmosphere of pure luxury, located on the inner courtyard of THE MANDALA HOTEL. The architectural design is as exceptional as the cuisine itself: a green oasis surrounded by bamboo and water fountains provides a year-round view of the stars for gourmet dining under an unclouded sky. Chef de cuisine is Michael Kempf - his style of cooking is modern and creative using exclusively fresh and mostly local products. A word of holistic well-being and inner peace high above Berlin can be found at the premium ONO Spa. In a 600m² space overlooking the city of Berlin, the ONO Spa is geared towards individuals with busy and active lifestyles who place a premium on individualism and privacy and want to attain the maximum relaxation and fitness in the shortest amount of time possible. Choose from numerous massages and treatments and enjoy long-lasting relaxation and energy. A stay at THE MANDALA HOTEL offers numerous harmonic experiences for the senses to provide you with the energy you need during your Berlin stay. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Orbitz, Hotels.com, Agoda, Cheap Tickets, Booking.com, Travelocity, Priceline, Cancelon, TripOnline SA, Hotwire, getaroom.com and HotelQuickly so you can book your The Mandala Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing