We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
New! Find and book your ideal hotel on TripAdvisor — and get the lowest prices

“Relaxing, comfortable, nice amenities” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of The Mandala Hotel

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
The Mandala Hotel
Ranked #10 of 663 Hotels in Berlin
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersPlatinum level
Boston, Massachusetts
Level Contributor
11 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Relaxing, comfortable, nice amenities”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 21, 2013

Very spacious and well designed room with lots of natural light and a great view of the Potsdamer Platz. The big bathroom and large walk in closet made getting ready a pleasure. Fantastic spa and sauna and a wonderful lounge with an interesting drink menu and delightful staff. We had two delicious lunches at Facil, the restaurant on the fifth floor terrace. Attentive waitstaff, inventive food, eye catching presentation and superb wines by the glass. Definitely will return to dine there even if we aren't staying at the hotel. We usually stay with friends across town but this was a nice change for us: relaxing, peaceful and conveniently located. Close to the subway and walking distance to many attractions. Highly recommended!

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank BobClay
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,754 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    1,256
    375
    67
    27
    29
See reviews for
208
834
130
390
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (228)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Czech first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Slovak first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
russia
Level Contributor
48 reviews
32 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 66 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 20, 2013

The Mandala is very well located on Potsdamer plats with easy access anywhere in central Berlin, walking distance to most attractions (Kultur forum, Branderburg gates, Unter der linden, Bundestag, etc.) The design and functionality is similar to a Swissotel chain. Breakfasts are very good, with option to order fresh cooked eggs any style, selection of cheeses and meat cold cuts, roasted vegetables and your choice of tea or any coffee drink, freshly squeezed juice, sparkling wine, etc. The beds and linens are of high quality though the mattresses are on the rough side (as in most places in Germany) Stayed at the manager's suite and it was of very good size with a divider separating the seating area and the bed, big bathroom with 1 sink and a bathtub, big walk-in closet and a very functional kitchenette. The staff are eager to help.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank indep_travel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brisbane, Australia
Level Contributor
24 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 18, 2013

This hotel was a complete unexpected find. The location was superb, around the corner from the Brandenburg Gates, and 5 min walk, opposite the Sony Centre which is an attraction in itself. The hotel room which we were told was one of the smallest was luxurious and spacious. Extremely well fitted out and modern in its design, would be keen to stay there again, and the staff were all professional, helpful and warmly greeted us each time we left the hotel. They also provide laundries free of charge on certain floors. A luxury for the weary traveller. A nice touch in the self-contained apartment was the complimentary service of freshly baked bread rolls daily, on request. Absolutely superb in every respect, would highly recommend this Hotel, particularly those unfamiliar with the brand name, hopefully they will establish further high quality hotels elsewhere in Europe

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank sherylandgarry
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Glasgow, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
63 reviews
48 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 59 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 14, 2013

Stayed in one of the Management Suites for our city break. More like a luxury apartment than a hotel room. Huge, luxurious yet understated, comfortable, great location opposite the Sony Center (10 mins walk from Brandenburg Gate), great soundproofing (so no city noise) and good value.

The real clincher was the balcony in our room which meant we could sit out in the sun in the morning. Not often you get that feature in a city centre hotel. Free wifi, but could do with an Ipod dock to play music (if we are being picky).

Best hotel room we've ever stayed in and would thoroughly recommend the Mandala. As others have said, what is there to refit? It's perfect as it is.

Room Tip: Our Management Suite had a city view, not spectacular, but it got the sun and made a real difference...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank westenddee
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 8, 2013

our four night stay in Berlin was part of our European honeymoon. we feel the mandala was one of the best hotels we stayed in during our four weeks away. the details, from providing laundries free of charge (including laundry powder!) to the rooms being full of little bits and pieces (eg the bathroom was stocked with earbuds and makeup removal pads and they had herbal tea with the tea and coffee) were what really impressed us. we got room service one day and when we mentioned we were on our honeymoon, they gave us sparkling wine and dessert for free - we chose individual items off the menu for breakfast and found it really reasonable and the food was excellent! the service in general was also very efficient and effective. the room was big too (felt like it was better than we paid for) and all the furnishings seemed to be in very good condition ie some bathrooms we had in other hotels were tired and you could tell they had been used many times. at the mandala it almost felt like you were the first one to use
the room.
one thing we found was that the hotel, because it has a Michelin hat or something, was booked out for the whole time we were there. our first night we went down to find a table and were unsuccessful. so we had dinner and drinks in the bar. it wasn't cheap, but it was good food, the drinks were great and the cocktail list was huge and interesting. the staff there were really friendly too.
and one other thing - they did advertise a pillow menu (I get a crook neck at times) but when I called to get a different pillow, the staff (granted, it was at night) didn't seem to know anything about it. maybe I wasn't clear enough in my request.
anyway, weighing it all up, the things we didn't like are minuscule compared to the things we loved - I highly recommend the mandala hotel.

  • Stayed May 2013
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank beccyben
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Los Angeles, California
Level Contributor
5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 7, 2013

The Mandala is clean, well-designed and spacious - also service was great and professional. We had a 'management suite' which for two friends was the perfect size with walk-in closet, sitting area, terrace and a king bed. The location was not the hippest area, next time would stay in the Mitte, and was pretty touristy but central to everything and a quick metro ride via the Potsdamer Platz station. Everyone was friendly and helpful, though the concierge did recommend the wrong bus # to get to the train station which luckily we realized before hopping on. The spa is also gorgeous though we didn't do any treatments. The restaurant's breakfast is very pricey so we opted for the coffee bar behind the hotel. Overall, solid value for the rates they charge.

Stayed May 2013, traveled with friends
Helpful?
1 Thank deaverbc
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Stafford, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
35 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 5, 2013

At 25 mins it is easlily accesible from Tegel Airport ( ave. taxi fare 18 Euro) this is a very comfortable hotel that is in a perfect position and if you have an hour or two spare in the evening as it is close by many city sights .

Staff were first class speaking English and happy to help with reccomendations outside the hotel and delat with any queries promptly..

Right by Postdamer Platz station just along the block.Easy walking to most places at this end of the city.

Ensure you have a breakfast inclusive deal wherever possible as it smarts a little if not at 28 Euros..though the quality and atmosphere of the resturant really good

Reccomend the weekend meal deal at the QUI lounge/bar if you arrive pm as the Facil resturant is closed on Sunday evening..but the same kitchens provides the food.

Room Tip: Floor 10 suites were excellent and spacious and dont suffer any noise issues even with open windows
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Staffslad
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Berlin hotels
Charlottenburg
Hotel am Steinplatz, Autograph Collection
Charlottenburg
Grand Hyatt Berlin
Grand Hyatt Berlin
#12 of 663 in Berlin
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,566 reviews
Mitte
i31 Hotel
i31 Hotel
#6 of 663 in Berlin
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,377 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Mitte
Regent Berlin
Regent Berlin
#3 of 663 in Berlin
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,394 reviews
Mitte
The Mandala Suites
The Mandala Suites
#9 of 663 in Berlin
4.5 of 5 bubbles 644 reviews
Mitte
Adina Apartment Hotel Berlin Hackescher Markt
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Mandala Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Mandala Hotel

Property: The Mandala Hotel
Address: Potsdamer Strasse 3, 10785 Berlin, Germany (Formerly Madison Potsdamer Platz)
Location: Germany > Berlin > Charlottenburg
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #10 of 663 Hotels in Berlin
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:5 star — The Mandala Hotel 5*
Number of rooms: 158
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Welcome to THE MANDALA HOTEL - the only privately managed 5 Star superior hotel in the heart of the city. This is where your perfect Berlin stay begins. In the centre of the city only a few walking minutes away from famous sights like the Brandenburg Gate or Reichstag, situated at Potsdamer Platz, this design hotel provides harmonic experiences for the senses. THE MANDALA HOTEL features the most spacious rooms in Berlin, the 2 Michelin star restaurant FACIL, premium ONO Spa as well as the QIU Restaurant & Bar and modern meeting rooms. All 158 studios and suites are equipped with highest quality materials and offer a perfect home away from home combined with individual service. The FACIL restaurant provides a refreshing combination of light, elegant fare in an avant-garde atmosphere of pure luxury, located on the inner courtyard of THE MANDALA HOTEL. The architectural design is as exceptional as the cuisine itself: a green oasis surrounded by bamboo and water fountains provides a year-round view of the stars for gourmet dining under an unclouded sky. Chef de cuisine is Michael Kempf - his style of cooking is modern and creative using exclusively fresh and mostly local products. A word of holistic well-being and inner peace high above Berlin can be found at the premium ONO Spa. In a 600m² space overlooking the city of Berlin, the ONO Spa is geared towards individuals with busy and active lifestyles who place a premium on individualism and privacy and want to attain the maximum relaxation and fitness in the shortest amount of time possible. Choose from numerous massages and treatments and enjoy long-lasting relaxation and energy. A stay at THE MANDALA HOTEL offers numerous harmonic experiences for the senses to provide you with the energy you need during your Berlin stay. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, Cancelon, Cheap Tickets, Travelocity, Priceline, Odigeo, Agoda and Jetsetter so you can book your The Mandala Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing