We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent Hotel and Location”
Review of The Mandala Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
The Mandala Hotel
Ranked #8 of 634 Hotels in Berlin
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersPlatinum level
Reviewed May 31, 2013

I was staying at the hotel for a city break. The location of the Hotel on the City end of Potsdamer Strasse is excellent. You are a 5 min walk from the Teirgarten and 10 mins from the Brandenburg Gate. The reception staff were friendly and very helpful. (They also spoke excellent English which is very useful if your German is appalling like mine)

I took a Management Suite (50sqm) which comes with a small living area, a full desk, a kitchenette and a separate luggage room. The facilities in the room were of a very high standard. On nice feature is the small Android Tablet in each room which allowed you to explore the hotel facilities and browse the internet. It also lets you order room service which is a nice touch.

Breakfast was excellent, it did seem to get quite busy about 9 am and the breakfast room is not that big. There was a short wait (< 5mins) one day and I was in the backup breakfast room another day.

If you are stuck on a rainy day, The Sony Centre is just opposite. It contains two large cinemas, one of which screens the latest releases in English.

If you want to visit the Reichstag Dome, which is well worth while, you must arrange this in advance as you have to book a time and present a letter they send you to gain access. You will also need your passport.

  • Stayed: May 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank RichardPOx
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (2,465)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

1,070 - 1,076 of 2,465 reviews

Reviewed May 30, 2013

For our city break we booked an Executive Suite which contained a huge living area, excellent wardrobe facilities (not always the case in top-class hotels) including a walk-in wardrobe and sufficient hangars (again, I can count many hotels where the first thing that you have to do is to order more hangars) a small kitchen area and a separate bedroom with a work desk. The rooms were spotless, the linen was changed frequently with high quality sheets, towels and toiletries. The size of the room made it supremely quiet (on the 9th floor) as, wherever you were standing or sitting, you were some considerable distance from the adjoining rooms. We never heard or saw a soul. The staff were first-rate, well-trained and very obliging. Service at breakfast was excellent with ample pots of coffee and tea brought to the table and a wonderful choice of breads and croissants. Nothing was too much trouble to cook and I had some superb omelettes, non-greasy and containing fillings that I had asked for. The desk staff were first rate and spent some serious time sorting out for us some confusing pick-up arrangements dreamed up by our transfer company for our return transport to the airport.

The location of the hotel was a major plus in terms of walking to the many tourist sites. Potsadamer Platz's Sony Centre did not contain much that appealed to us and we found very few decent restaurants in the vicinity (apart from Essenza, an Italian restaurant a few doors away). Of all our meanderings throughout Berlin, I would thoroughly recommend an on-line pre-booked visit to the Reichstag Dome as well as pre-booking for the Pergamon Museum which helped us to avoid some huge queues. Visits to the Jewish Museum and the Holocaust Memorial Centre below ground were both supremely interesting and worthwhile. Particularly superb was the Gemaldegalerie art museum, just round the corner from Potsdamer Platz, with its collection of Old Masters by Titian, Rembrandt, Carravaggio, Bottecelli etc etc millions of pounds worth of superb paintings.

Overall, a well-run, luxurious , clean, friendly and well-located hotel.

Room Tip: A high floor Executive room looking onto the courtyard affords excellent privacy and peacefulness.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank LawmanManchester
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 29, 2013

The Mandala will, inexplicably, close for most of the summer 2013 to renovate. I can't for the life of me imagine why -- while the room wasn't opulent, it far exceeded similar priced accommodations we've had in Europe in years past. Plus, it was enormous - more than 60 square meters. That part was great -- I stay up later than the other half does, and it's one of the biggest issues when traveling in hotels, as I don't want to be a bother, but nor do I want to go to sleep necessarily as early.

The two-room format of our room (625) allowed me to relax on the sofa, with TV on or reading, or using the computer, without disturbing the "bed" area. The bathroom, accessible both next to the front door to the room or through slider doors near the bed, meant that I could get in and out without waking anyone (though the lights were so bright in the bathroom that you could perform surgery under them).

Bed was comfy, with those nice, individual, german-style duvets - one per person, no sharing! -- that all but eliminate the inevitable fight over the covers.

The hotel is close to, but hardly on top of, the U-Bahn. S-Bahn is very accessible, though the multiple entrances at Potsdamer Platz are confusing at first. Also, note that breakfast is not included. We went and picked at the breakfast each day, not necessarily eating very much, and didn't realize that we were paying an additional 28 Euros each for the privilege. Now we know.

All in all, worth the stay. The value to price is excellent, as well.

Room Tip: If you can get a room not facing the Sony Center, it may be quieter than ours was.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank chgotraveldude
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 29, 2013

My boyfriend and I stayed at this hotel for 5 nights in May 2013. We got a good deal via a website for the room, which was a small suite with a fridge, mini kitchen area, sitting area, DVD player, a very large bathroom and a narrow balcony along the full length of the room which you could stand on but it wasn't wide enough to sit out on. The beds were extremely comfortable and our room on 10th floor was very peaceful. The service was exceptional. Nothing was too much trouble. The ONO spa was immaculate and beautifully decorated with lovely relaxation areas. The Michelin FACIL restaurant was also exceptional but quite pricey so be prepared! There is nothing cheap on the menu but we felt it was worth the money for a special 'on-off' meal. We booked for the Friday night because oddly the restaurant was closed at the weekend. Our room rate didn't include breakfast so we didn't have any as it was quite expensive (almost £50 for 2 people). There are plenty coffee shops and a shopping mall very close to the hotel. The location is excellent, most of the main sights are within a 10 - 15 minute walk. We would definitely stay here again.

Room Tip: Higher floors are quieter I think. Some rooms had smaller balconies but with a table and 2 chairs.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank jaynell
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 27, 2013

Arrived at the hotel to an efficient check in and keys to a fabulous room. The room was light and spacious with a comfortable relaxing sofa and a desk by the window, great for catching up on work. The bed was large and comfortable with good quality bed linen. The bathroom was modern with fabulous quality fittings and toiletries. We had our. Eating at the hotel and the conference service was also very good and the meeting room light and airy. Would definitely recommend and hope to return on leisure next time.

  • Stayed: May 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Catherine M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 26, 2013 via mobile

This is a great little simple hotel. The rooms are spacious, comfortable and functional. The Saturday afternoon reception staff were fantastic. This morning, 26/5/2013, the desk staff were atrocious: rude, arrogant and unaccountable, especially the girl with Heidi-braided hair (in case management would like to know; im sorry i didnt get her name). Earlier i said i'd stay here again but i'll think twice due to the check-out rudeness and incompetence (lost bags). Good breakfast in a gorgeous breakfast room, the likes of which you simply do not see outside of Asia Pacific. Bubbling water fountains and bamboo 'forrest' outside the floor to criling windows.

Thank Catherine D
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveler and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Reviewed May 22, 2013

This hotel is extremely spacious and modern. The room itself is a massive suite with windows along and entire wall of the suite. The room is very tech savvy. The bellman will show you what all the buttons in the room do.... I forgot what they did 10 minutes after he left. If you are intimidated by tech, this may not be the hotel for you. The bathroom is luxurious and nicely appointed. My only complaint is that the beds are quite firm. The pillows are linens are lovely, but I found the mattress very firm. The hotel is next to a huge shopping center and within walking distance of Brandenberg Gate and other attractions.

  • Stayed: May 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Gretchen B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Berlin hotels
Charlottenburg
Hotel am Steinplatz, Autograph Collection
Charlottenburg
Grand Hyatt Berlin
Grand Hyatt Berlin
#19 of 634 in Berlin
3,209 reviews
Mitte
i31 Hotel
i31 Hotel
#7 of 634 in Berlin
1,961 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Mitte
Berlin Gorki Apartments
Berlin Gorki Apartments
#1 of 634 in Berlin
570 reviews
Mitte
Hilton Berlin
Hilton Berlin
#68 of 634 in Berlin
4,799 reviews
Charlottenburg
Waldorf Astoria Berlin
Waldorf Astoria Berlin
#21 of 634 in Berlin
1,597 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Mandala Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Mandala Hotel

Address: Potsdamer Strasse 3, 10785 Berlin, Germany (Formerly Madison Potsdamer Platz)
Phone Number:
Location: Germany > Berlin > Charlottenburg
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #8 of 634 Hotels in Berlin
Price Range: $145 - $407 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:5 star — The Mandala Hotel 5*
Number of rooms: 158
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Welcome to THE MANDALA HOTEL - the only privately managed 5 Star superior hotel in the heart of the city. This is where your perfect Berlin stay begins. In the centre of the city only a few walking minutes away from famous sights like the Brandenburg Gate or Reichstag, situated at Potsdamer Platz, this design hotel provides harmonic experiences for the senses. THE MANDALA HOTEL features the most spacious rooms in Berlin, the 2 Michelin star restaurant FACIL, premium ONO Spa as well as the QIU Restaurant & Bar and modern meeting rooms. All 158 studios and suites are equipped with highest quality materials and offer a perfect home away from home combined with individual service. The FACIL restaurant provides a refreshing combination of light, elegant fare in an avant-garde atmosphere of pure luxury, located on the inner courtyard of THE MANDALA HOTEL. The architectural design is as exceptional as the cuisine itself: a green oasis surrounded by bamboo and water fountains provides a year-round view of the stars for gourmet dining under an unclouded sky. Chef de cuisine is Michael Kempf - his style of cooking is modern and creative using exclusively fresh and mostly local products. A word of holistic well-being and inner peace high above Berlin can be found at the premium ONO Spa. In a 600m² space overlooking the city of Berlin, the ONO Spa is geared towards individuals with busy and active lifestyles who place a premium on individualism and privacy and want to attain the maximum relaxation and fitness in the shortest amount of time possible. Choose from numerous massages and treatments and enjoy long-lasting relaxation and energy. A stay at THE MANDALA HOTEL offers numerous harmonic experiences for the senses to provide you with the energy you need during your Berlin stay. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Booking.com, Orbitz, Agoda, Travelocity, Priceline, getaroom.com, TripOnline SA, HotelQuickly and Cancelon so you can book your The Mandala Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing