We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent service with a smile”
Review of The Mandala Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
The Mandala Hotel
Ranked #9 of 634 Hotels in Berlin
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersPlatinum level
Sittard, The Netherlands
Level 6 Contributor
131 reviews
31 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 459 helpful votes
“Excellent service with a smile”
Reviewed September 24, 2011

Upon entering the small hotel reception you can not fail to immediately notice that the personel at the Mandala Hotel is there to make your stay perfect.

The rooms are modern, large, clean and comfortable. Most have some sort of mini-kitchen and a walk in closet. The bathroom is large, clean and comfortable.

I stayed in a normal room for a conference once and had a larger suite during our last visit with my wife and 9 months ols son. The hotel provided a baby bed. On two evenings we needed a babysitter. The hotel contacted a really nice and reliable lady that looked after our son (the hourly rate of 19,50€ was not cheap).

The self service breakfast buffet is one of the best I have ever seen in a hotel with lots of delicious liitle thing. The breakfast staff continiously takes care that everthing on the buffet and your table is perfect. In the evening the same room serves as Michelin star restaurant that is well worth visiting.

I like the hotel bar. It is quite small. It serves good wines and nice snacks. It is a good place to have some drinks before going to dinner in the city or to have a drink after you have returned from the city.

The Mandala is located across the Sony Center, near the Postdamer Platz. Public transport at the Potsdamer Platz station connects you to very spot in Berlin and the Brandenburger Tor, Reichstag, The Holocaust Memorial and Unter der Linden are all at walking distance.

Room Tip: They are all good
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2010, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank Gourmand_nl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

2,200 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    1,588
    464
    84
    33
    31
See reviews for
283
1,039
159
487
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (247)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Czech first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Slovak first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Switzerland
Level 4 Contributor
37 reviews
30 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 159 helpful votes
Reviewed September 18, 2011

We stayed at the Mandala Hotel in early September room 907 a management suite. We booked directly through the hotel website and the rate included breakfast and free use of spa (same price as going through hotel.com, booking.com except those did not include breakfast so check out the hotel website directly for special offers).

Before booking the Mandala we looked at the Grand Hyatt and Ritz Carlton which are all in the same area. We also looked at Westin, Adlon, Regent, Rome nearer to Unter den Linden and Gendernmarkt area before making our decision. We decided on the Mandala due to good reviews and location as well as the best value for the rate (breakfast, big room on high floor/sound proof, kitchenette, balcony, proximity to Underground and restaurants). We walked past many of these hotels during our time in Berlin and I must say that the Mandala is the best situated and seemed to be the most convenient to affordable meal options (if you are not interested to eat in overpriced hotel restaurants).

The hotel was clean, modern and design. We liked the big bath tub which even a big guy could fully lie down in and the walk in closet was a plus to store our daily purchases until it was time to pack them up. The separate couch/work area was also great. Bed was perfect and I had no problems with the mattress or pillows. One word of caution would be that the bathroom in 907 opens directy onto the bed area and the bathroom has frosted sliding glass doors. Not sound proof/visual proof at all so if you are travelling with a new companion and need to keep some privacy and measure of mystery about I would not choose the room with this configuration!

Speaking of the bathroom there were tons of towels, bathrobes, slippers, shampoo and conditioner, body wash and moisturizer, shower caps, hair ties for the ladies, cotton pads and cotton buds. It would be great if they added bubble bath because the bath tub was so relaxing after a day of sightseeing!

Breakfast as some reviewers noted was excellent the fresh juices were very nice and with so many different varieties. I had the kiwi and wild berry juice every morning. You can ask them to make you waffles, pancakes and omelettes which were delicious but order them as soon as you sit down as they take a while to make. The buffet consisted of at least 8 different breads, pretzels, pastries, apple pies, fruit tarts, hams and cheeses, smoked salmon, grilled vegetables, taboules salad, lentils, harening and two kinds of shrimps! There was home made yoghurts, muesli, rice pudding and all the usual cereals. You won't get bored eating breakfast here.

All in all, the best location in Potsdamer Platz and we were happy with the convenience to Friedrichstrasse, KadeWe/KuDamm, Berlin Zoo and Brandenberg Gate was a literal 10 minute walk away. If you want to relax and chill out there is alot to do within a 3 minute walk of the hotel and we felt it was better situated than most of the other 4-5 star hotels.

  • Stayed September 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
6 Thank CosSwitzerland
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne, Australia
2 reviews
Reviewed September 15, 2011

Excellent, great location, and the suite we stayed in was perfect, large, clean, good view and very well appointed. Staff were very helpful, especially with the parking. Recommended.

  • Stayed September 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Peter S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Madrid, Spain
Level 4 Contributor
23 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
Reviewed September 9, 2011

The hotel was nice enough - clean and spacious rooms but overall, expensive and overrated. Location is nothing special though it is close to a metro station. The staff was extremely rude to me on several occasions. One afternoon, I arranged with the front desk for a taxi at 7 pm (the city can get busy and it's good to call ahead for taxis)....taxi did not arrive and when I inquired with front desk, discovered there was no record of me ordering one. Was late for a very important meeting as had to wait for doorman to flag a taxi. The spa is HORRIBLE. Paid over 100 euro for possible the worst massage of my life. Facial I had scheduled with the spa was also not on the books so did not receive- probably a blessing as facial likely as disastrous and more expensive than massage.

  • Stayed October 2010, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
6 Thank NYCSPOON
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
North West, UK
Level 2 Contributor
7 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed September 3, 2011

Stayed in the Executive Superior Suite with a small kitchenette & possibly the largest balcony I have ever seen, sweeping round the room to allow brilliant views. Breakfast was of an excellent quality but didn't dine at the restaurant in the evening.

  • Stayed August 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Sam_NW_UK
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Warsaw, Poland
Level 6 Contributor
77 reviews
46 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 64 helpful votes
Reviewed August 19, 2011

I was staying at this hotel for more than 10 times already, each time while visiting Berlin. The hotel has spacious romms/appartments with a small kitchenette. The fitness/spa area located on the top floor provides for all you need after an exhausting day. Breakfast is served in the dining room and it offers wide variety of choices. Staff is friendly an helpful. The hotel is affordable for family stays in terms of pricing, except of busy festival and trade seasons.

  • Stayed June 2011, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank krzys1970
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Beverly Hills, California
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed August 12, 2011

Family of 4 with 10 and 13 year old girls just loved this hotel. It was so refreshing and modern with great space and comfort. Our suite number 802 was perfect for our 3 days in Berlin. It was very spacious, with light maple wood floors throughout. The and added rollaway beds were actually excellent beds and not simply fold up beds. The Hotel staff was some of the best that we encountered on our 34 day journey. They found us a doctor for our daughter, gave us great advice, and were extremely friendly and helpful. We were allowed to check in early after an overnight train, and our suite was upgraded as well. The Hotel itself is exceptional from the beautiful spa that we didn't use but wandered thru, to one of the most beautiful breakfasts that we encountered.
Meeting the ESPN crew (who also stayed here) along with Brandi Chastain who were covering the women's world cup was an added bonus. The location is great, close to the Brandenburg gate and the Sony center. Highly recommended

Room Tip: Suite 802 at the end of the hall was so quiet and probably 800 sq feet. Surrounded by windows with...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank dan s
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Berlin hotels
Charlottenburg
Hotel am Steinplatz, Autograph Collection
Mitte
i31 Hotel
i31 Hotel
#7 of 634 in Berlin
1,788 reviews
Charlottenburg
Grand Hyatt Berlin
Grand Hyatt Berlin
#21 of 634 in Berlin
2,971 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Mitte
The Mandala Suites
The Mandala Suites
#13 of 634 in Berlin
825 reviews
Mitte
Regent Berlin
Regent Berlin
#5 of 634 in Berlin
1,561 reviews
Mitte
Hotel Adlon Kempinski
Hotel Adlon Kempinski
#15 of 634 in Berlin
3,414 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Mandala Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Mandala Hotel

Property: The Mandala Hotel
Address: Potsdamer Strasse 3, 10785 Berlin, Germany (Formerly Madison Potsdamer Platz)
Phone Number:
Location: Germany > Berlin > Charlottenburg
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #9 of 634 Hotels in Berlin
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:5 star — The Mandala Hotel 5*
Number of rooms: 158
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Welcome to THE MANDALA HOTEL - the only privately managed 5 Star superior hotel in the heart of the city. This is where your perfect Berlin stay begins. In the centre of the city only a few walking minutes away from famous sights like the Brandenburg Gate or Reichstag, situated at Potsdamer Platz, this design hotel provides harmonic experiences for the senses. THE MANDALA HOTEL features the most spacious rooms in Berlin, the 2 Michelin star restaurant FACIL, premium ONO Spa as well as the QIU Restaurant & Bar and modern meeting rooms. All 158 studios and suites are equipped with highest quality materials and offer a perfect home away from home combined with individual service. The FACIL restaurant provides a refreshing combination of light, elegant fare in an avant-garde atmosphere of pure luxury, located on the inner courtyard of THE MANDALA HOTEL. The architectural design is as exceptional as the cuisine itself: a green oasis surrounded by bamboo and water fountains provides a year-round view of the stars for gourmet dining under an unclouded sky. Chef de cuisine is Michael Kempf - his style of cooking is modern and creative using exclusively fresh and mostly local products. A word of holistic well-being and inner peace high above Berlin can be found at the premium ONO Spa. In a 600m² space overlooking the city of Berlin, the ONO Spa is geared towards individuals with busy and active lifestyles who place a premium on individualism and privacy and want to attain the maximum relaxation and fitness in the shortest amount of time possible. Choose from numerous massages and treatments and enjoy long-lasting relaxation and energy. A stay at THE MANDALA HOTEL offers numerous harmonic experiences for the senses to provide you with the energy you need during your Berlin stay. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Orbitz, Travelocity, Priceline, Hotels.com, Ctrip TA, Cheap Tickets, TripOnline SA, Cancelon, Hotwire, Agoda, HotelQuickly and getaroom.com so you can book your The Mandala Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing