We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Waldorf Astoria Berlin
Nearby Hotels
$114
$101
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Restaurant
  • Room Service
$204
$145
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Pool
$87
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
$113
$99
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
i31 Hotel(Berlin)
$114
$103
Hotel Website
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Room Service
$60
$56
Expedia.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Bar/Lounge
$86
$69
Agoda.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
$158
$149
Expedia.com
View Deal
  • Restaurant
  • Room Service
$135
$131
Trip.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
$98
$81
Agoda.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Room Service
Reviews (1,640)
Filter reviews
1,640 results
Traveler rating
1,147
303
114
42
34
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
1,147
303
114
42
34
Show reviews that mention
All reviewslang barguerlain spaapple tvles solistestv in the mirrorsalvatore ferragamolibrary loungetower suitediamond memberbeautiful hotelthe kaiser wilhelm memorial churchluxury hotelconcierge teamturn down servicebahnhof zoonespresso machinecorner room
FilterAll languages
Updating list...
712 - 717 of 1,640 reviews
Reviewed December 16, 2013

Our 2nd stay here in 4 months.

Arrived on Sunday 15th December at 420pm to find the Tower Suite we had requested (500 euros a night) wasn't ready as 'the hotel was full last night'. No 'welcome back' or acknowledgment that our arrival was in some way expected.

An hour later and we have to chase for an update, to find that when we finally get into our suite there was rubbish from the previous guests and, that the children's beds requested at the time of the booking and confirmed by email the week before, we're nowhere in sight. Not a great start, particularly when we had also booked a deluxe double room for to treat some extended family to a short pre Christmas trip!

Lots of little issues followed, such as a 20 minute wait for drinks in the bar when there were only 5 other people there, (and even then their ability to mix anything other than a spirit and mixer is questionable, as 2 of our 6 drinks were that poor they went unfinished), waiting 30 minutes at breakfast for 2 boiled eggs when there were only 15 or so other people at breakfast suggests to me a property that isn't the 5 star residence it thinks it is.

Amazing also that for a property that is so new (12 months old?) that the technology doesn't really add to the experience - temperature control in the rooms is tricky and the Apple TV has little / nothing to offer English speaking guests - bizarre absence of sky news for example.

Whilst these can all be considered 'little issues' they are exactly the details which distinguish genuine 5 star properties from 3 and 4 star ones and is why we pay the premium for staying in them!

It's a real shame as it is in a good location and many of the staff are enthusiastic but frankly in a city with plenty of other 5 star properties to visit I don't expect to be coming back here anytime soon.

Room Tip: The tower suites are a must if you are travelling with children. They also have spectacular views of the city!
  • Stayed: December 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Londoner045
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Gregor A, Manager at Waldorf Astoria Berlin, responded to this reviewResponded December 21, 2013

Dear Guests of the Waldorf Astoria Berlin,

Thank you very much for taking the time to provide us with your detailed and important feedback regarding your recent stay at the Waldorf Astoria Berlin.

We do apologize that your visit in Germany’s capital was not to your satisfaction. The mentioned inconsistencies with our high service standards certainly should not happen and we want to ensure you that we already forwarded your comments to the impacted departments as well as our employees.

We hope, despite our shortcomings during your last stay, to welcome you again at the Waldorf Astoria Berlin and prove that your feedback did not go unnoticed.

Kind regards,
your team of the Waldorf Astoria Berlin

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 15, 2013

One couldn't ask for a better location - at the very heart of West Berlin's city center, which I think tourists should appreciate more than being in the relatively sterile Eastern center of the city. The hotel's interior architecture is on the grand side, but the modernistic public spaces lack somehow warmth and coziness.
However, the spacious rooms offer every comfort and boast the latest lighting wizardry, while the extra large bathrooms are state of the art. The accommodations are complemented by a very well trained, efficient staff offering prompt and courteous service.
Should you manage to get affordable rates, I recommend experiencing a stay at this place.

  • Stayed: December 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank GranZorro
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Gregor A, Manager at Waldorf Astoria Berlin, responded to this reviewResponded December 21, 2013

Dear Guest of the Waldorf Astoria Berlin

Thank you for choosing to stay at Waldorf Astoria Berlin. We are really glad to hear that you enjoyed your stay and that all our team member were so attentive to your needs and wishes. We will be sure to share your comments with all.

Thank you very much too for taking the time to write your heartfelt experiences at Waldorf Astoria Berlin on Tripadvisor. That way we are able to review what already works and what we have to improve.

Dear Guest, should your travels bring you back this way, I hope that you will stay with us again.

May the spirit of Christmas bring peace and joy to your holidays,
Best regards

Your team of the Waldorf Astoria Berlin

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 15, 2013

The Waldorf Astoria in Berlin is a beautiful and nice hotel with a very high and qualified service personnel. From the arrival until the departure you will receive a great service from the hotel staff. Enjoy the nice view from the 15th floor in the Library including some glass of champaign. Try the breakfast in the room (as the breakfast room might be crowded when the hotel is booked out). Use the Spa for a comfortable relaxing time and the bar for some very nice cocktails. You can even use the valet parking and don't need to care about anything more by just checking in. The staff will organize everything you need.
The hotel is located very centrally at the Zoo and just 10 walking minutes away from the KaDeWe.
Enjoy your time. We will do it again for sure.

Room Tip: Ask for a room opposite to the current big construction area.
  • Stayed: December 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank FrankHuether
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Gregor A, Manager at Waldorf Astoria Berlin, responded to this reviewResponded December 21, 2013

Dear guests,

You have enjoyed your stay at the Waldorf Astoria Berlin and you have written down about your smashing time on Tripadvisor. Thank you very much for such an Feedback!

May the spirit of Christmas bring peace and joy to your holidays.
We send warm regards to you.

Your team of the Waldorf Astoria Berlin

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 12, 2013 via mobile

The hotel is great, since it's opening been to Berlin twice and stayed here both times... But was surprised at refusal of late check out, being a Diamond Hilton HHonours member. Was told that I had to check out strictly at 12:00, not being offered even an hour extra!? It is extremely disappointing... Never been refused late check out being a high status hotel membership programme with Hilton or any other hotel ...

Stayed: December 2013
6  Thank Igor S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Gregor A, Manager at Waldorf Astoria Berlin, responded to this reviewResponded December 21, 2013

Dear Guest of the Waldorf Astoria Berlin

Dear guest ,

Thank you for choosing to stay at Waldorf Astoria Berlin and also thank you for your feedback on Tripadvisor.

Please appreciate that we are not always able to grant a late Check-Out, especially if we are fully booked. We have to guarantee the Check- In in time for our arriving guests.
We are confident to grant your late Check-Out next time you will stay at our hotel.

Warm regards
Your team of the Waldorf Astoria Berlin

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 8, 2013

Glamorous hotel with very comfortable rooms and beds, beautiful views from windows (we stayed at 15th floor), delicious and rich breakfast and friendly staff that is always ready to help. We stayed only for 2 nights but it was a wonderful time. The interiors are modern, there is even a mirror screen tv in a bathroom.

There are some minor things that I didn't like (considering it's a highest class 5* hotel) and I think they leave the hotel management some room for improvement:

We experienced queues to get a table during breakfast (and there were a lot of people waiting with us, some of them standing as there wasn't enough sitting space in a waiting "room"). It's really uncomfortable. Of course one can order breakfast to his room but that's not the same, isn't it?

Design of the rooms looks a bit too much like "copy and paste" - for example all same standard rooms have the same paintings-posters on walls (all rooms we have seen). One would expect something a bit more individual.

The above mentioned aspects didn't change my mind when it comes to the overall evaluation, I think this place really deserves 5/5 - modern, luxurious (but not overly posh) and friendly. Good place for romantic weekend as well as business meeting.

  • Stayed: December 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank rocking_pony
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Gregor A, Manager at Waldorf Astoria Berlin, responded to this reviewResponded December 22, 2013

Dear guests of the Waldorf Astoria Berlin

Thank you for choosing to stay at Waldorf Astoria Berlin and for your detailed feedback on Tripadvisor.

We highly appreciate your review as this information is critical for us in improving our performance on a constant basis. Should you have any further comments or questions please feel free to contact us at any time.

But please allow us a small note: we have more than 900 original works of art into the hotel. But there are some graphics in an edition from more than 15 pieces. Each of them is an original but certainly, they look similar. We assume that you have seen rooms with graphics from one edition.

Warm regards
Your team of the Waldorf Astoria Berlin

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews