We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Comfortable hotel”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Novum Hotel Aldea Berlin Zentrum
Ranked #238 of 634 Hotels in Berlin
Oslo, Norway
Level Contributor
115 reviews
115 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 87 helpful votes
“Comfortable hotel”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 4, 2011

Located just half an hour walking from central places like postdamersplatz. Old hotel but clean. Near the public transport.

  • Stayed May 2010, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Fershtet
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,402 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    175
    664
    394
    96
    73
See reviews for
233
460
151
101
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (83)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Czech first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Thai first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Carlisle, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 22, 2011

this was the second time we have stopped at this hotel ,however it is under new management ,and the standards have dropped,,there is no minibar ,as was before ,also there is no sauseges or sausege meat for breakfast ,as had been previously.
The main problem is the unwelcoming receptionist staff ,who do not seem to smile or go out of their way to be freindly or helpfull,also the noise from the hallway could be heard quite clearly in the room at night,on one occasion there were no clean towels and the sink needed unblocking ,which i unblocked it myself,all in all i was unimpressed with this hotel

  • Stayed March 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank fineman31
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 13, 2011

I was there on weekend. Near uban, 20 minutes from Alexanderplatz (U2). Huuuge breakfast :)

  • Stayed March 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Azzkikr
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London
Level Contributor
73 reviews
31 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 42 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 12, 2011

A good, basic, clean hotel handy for the main sights of Berlin with good transport links.
There was an odd smell of eggs in the reception area for the duration of the stay - not sure if that was the from the kitchen or the drains. Room was clean and comfortable - about on par with a Travelodge.
Breakfast buffet is excellent value at 5 euro. They were very slow at clearing tables and refilling coffee but for a 5 euro jumbo breakfast you can do that yourself.
Neither the prostitutes outside nor their Johns bothered us when we were going in and out and they weren't exposing too much flesh unlike some other cities in Europe.

  • Stayed February 2011, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank MonaLondon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
12 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 5, 2011

I travelled in a group of 17 and none of us had a bad word to say about this hotel. A lot of reviews have spoken about uncleanliness but none of us experienced this. The room was large enough for two and had all the basics. The bathroom was quite small but the shower was great (I hate hotels with low water pressure!) and again gave you the basics. Overall, the hotel was quite quiet which was surprising as it seems like a lot of groups of students (I was in one) go to this hotel but we had no problem sleeping.
The breakfast buffet was nice, although not what we were used to as it was typically German with eggs, bread, jams, hams, coffee,cheeses, cold cuts, meat spreads, yogurt, granola and fruit but certainly enough that we didn't go hungry with a few vegeterians in our group. Part of our group had dinner in the hotel restaurant and said it was very nice as well.

It's a 2 minute walk to the U-Barn and around 10 minutes on a train to Postdam Platz. I'm not going to lie, it does seem it's in an area with quite a few prostitutes around this area (but also everywhere) but prostitution is legal in Germany so I wasn't surprised. Around the hotel is various pizza and kebab restaurants, off licences and small supermarkets so if you want something quick to eat, it's perfect for that.

It's a hotel for people who aren't really concerned with an amazing hotel but rather with exploring Berlin. There wasn't much I didn't like about the hotel as it was just a resting stop for us but for people who want more from a hotel and will spend most of their stay in the hotel, I can see why they would be disappointed. Go to this hotel if you're into sightseeing rather than a relaxing break.

  • Stayed February 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank applausetorogues
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kingston-upon-Hull, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 26, 2011

Okay so basically it ruined my whole trip. I have stayed in many 3 star hotels all over the world but never have i ever wanted to come home to grotty england. For a start out rooms were late. and then when we got into them, I had black, what looked like animal hair in my bed as did my friends. And another persons room on my trip smelt like smoke. The couch also fell through in another persons room. We complained about the animal hair and they were more that helpful and changed the covers they were however not very helpful about the smokey room...basically said get over it. The 2nd day after walking around for hours around berlin we come back to our room to find more black animal hairs.....it then became clear the next morning that we had bites.....flea bites. And my teddy ( yes i am 20 with a teddy lol) had been chewed through. The hotel staff simply shrugged it off. I was disgusted. The food at dinner was okay....service a bit slow, and i was outraged that they were expecting you to pay 2 euros 70 FOR A GLASS OF TAP WATER!!!!!!!! o and if you want a prostitute thats the place to go....it was like been in the middle of the light district...although they did not bother you, they just hung about outside. o and if anybody else is getting a shower at the same time as you, dont expect a warm shower!
Another problem we had was with the vegeterians....We were provided packed lunches and despite been told they wanted no meat...they still put meat in the sandwhiches..so many people went hungry untill we could find a cafe. I am also allergic to sulphur and can only eat certain things they did not however accomidate this and still continued to give me foods that contained it dispite been given a list of foods i could not eat. Just dont waste your money....not worth it at all!!!

  • Stayed February 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Olliivviiaaa
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bristol
1 review
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 6, 2011

Basic room, but clean and adequate. Tea /coffe making facilities would have been nice.
Good location close to U -Bahn and buses.
Staff very helpful.
Luggage storage facility was very useful.
Great breakfast.

  • Stayed January 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with OctopusTravel

Helpful?
Thank Rainbow2K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Berlin hotels
Schoneberg
Novum Hotel City B Berlin Centrum
Charlottenburg
Novum Style Hotel Berlin Centrum
Charlottenburg
aletto Hotel Kudamm
aletto Hotel Kudamm
#111 of 634 in Berlin
4.0 of 5 bubbles 680 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Charlottenburg
Novum Hotel Gates Berlin Charlottenburg
Moabit
MEININGER Hotel Berlin Hauptbahnhof
Schoneberg
Novum Style Hotel Aldea
Novum Style Hotel Aldea
#415 of 634 in Berlin
3.5 of 5 bubbles 57 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Novum Hotel Aldea Berlin Zentrum? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Novum Hotel Aldea Berlin Zentrum

Property: Novum Hotel Aldea Berlin Zentrum
Address: Buelowstr. 20-22 | Schoeneberg, 10783 Berlin, Germany
Location: Germany > Berlin > Schoneberg
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Hotel Style:
Ranked #238 of 634 Hotels in Berlin
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Novum Hotel Aldea Berlin Zentrum 3*
Number of rooms: 230
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Aldea Novum Hotel is comfortable and contemporary furnishings. Functional rooms in various categories, free Wi-Fi, big breakfast buffets await every visitor. The majority of our rooms are suitable for small families. (3 Or 4 people) ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Travelocity, Hotels.com, Hotwire, Expedia, Hotel.de, Priceline, Cheap Tickets, TripOnline SA and HotelQuickly so you can book your Novum Hotel Aldea Berlin Zentrum reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Agon Aldea Berlin
Hotel Agon Aldea

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing