We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Absolutely fantastic”

Haus der Wannsee-Konferenz
Ranked #36 of 813 things to do in Berlin
Certificate of Excellence
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: The site where Nazi meetings took place is now a haunting memorial to their victims.
Houston, Texas
Level Contributor
523 reviews
270 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 136 helpful votes
“Absolutely fantastic”
Reviewed October 2, 2013

Just the thought of being here was eerie in itself, but I am glad we went. I always thought Himmler, Goering, Hess were here for the meeting held in January of 1942, but that wasn't the case, and I saw the exact 15 men who took part of this meeting. There is a lot to read and there are some recordings you can listen to as well.

Visited October 2013
Helpful?
Thank jordansbulls
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

488 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    314
    149
    20
    2
    3
Date | Rating
  • Czech first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Hebrew first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Glasgow
Level Contributor
26 reviews
7 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 43 helpful votes
“I urge all to visit.”
Reviewed September 25, 2013 via mobile

This was the highlight of my week tour in Berlin. This is where the nazis "final soloution" got rubber stamped. There is plenty of reading so put away 2 - 3 hours away of your time. Its all planned out so first you read room 1 then room 2 and so on.

I beleive there are 15 rooms in total and around half way I took my lunch in the porch outside looking onto the lovely views of the lake which again was a bit haunting knowing these guys done the same after planning the deaths of europan jews after a few cognacs.

To get here you get the S7 too Wannasee which takes maybe 25 mins maximum. Then when you exit you catch the 114 bus which goes in a circular route and get dropped off at stop "wannasee Konferenz". Very easy stuff.

Your AB ticket will do you for train and bus.

Visited September 2013
Helpful?
2 Thank jinkygenius7
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kingston, Canada
Level Contributor
66 reviews
28 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
“Haunting Experience”
Reviewed September 24, 2013

If you ever wanted to walk in the footsteps of history, you have come to the right place. Sadly, this is not a good place. Personally, I did not experience the same sense of evil that I felt when I visited a number of concentration camps but perhaps that is what makes this place the most evil of all. This is where the decision was taken to exterminate the Jews of Europe and it was done in business-like fashion with lunch and refreshments thrown in.

The house is well organized as a historic site, with many photographs and documents carefully arranged on the walls and the tables in the various rooms. As with any historical site, a little preparation prior to visiting will allow you to get maximum benefit from the experience. A good movie on the subject of the conference is the 2001 film "Conspiracy", starring Kenneth Branagh as Reinhard Heydrich.

To get there, take either the S1 or S7 S-bahn line to Wannsee (about 50 min from Berlin city centre). Just outside the train station, there are a number of bus stops. Check the timetable on each unil you find where the 114 bus stops. Take the bus and get off at the stop called "Haus der Wannsee Konferenz" (go figure!). You need to watch/listen for the stops as they are called and ring to ask the bus to stop, otherwise you will miss it. On disembarking from the bus, walk back along the bus route about 20 m and you will arrive at a gated entrance that has a number of wall plaques identifying the house as the Wannsee Conference house. Ring for entry and the attendant on duty will buzz you in. Once inside the courtyard, take a few moments to walk around the information stations that are arranged along the inside wall to some sense of the history of the house. Unfortunately, all the text is in German. To return to the S-bahn station, go back to the stop where you got off and the 114 bus, which operates on a circular route, will take you back.

Visited September 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank PeterW71
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne, Australia
2 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“a definite must”
Reviewed August 13, 2013

its unbeleivable that such a beautiful house and garden could be used for such an evil event. The hatred that existed at the time and the matter of fact documentation kept by the nazis is there for all to see..It was very educational but yet disturbing that the human race could even dream up such a horrific persecution of the jewish people .

Visited July 2013
Helpful?
2 Thank Norton G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Santa Ana, Costa Rica
Level Contributor
91 reviews
44 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 38 helpful votes
“Obligatory part of Berlin trip”
Reviewed July 31, 2013

The house was home to the infamous Nazi conference in early 1942, during which 15 top-rank SS officials set the directives to exterminate the European jewish population. Apart from a very good museum about the Holocaust, it´s also a study centre about the Third Reich and the Holocaust.
The gate will normally be closed, after you ring the bell the gate will be opened remotely so you can enter the premises. The garden in the back of the house leads direct to the Wannsee Lake, which makes for a nice stroll
We arrived by car and found free parking quite easy at just 50 mtrs from the entrance. This is not a museum which will draw thousands of tourists, maybe rather a couple of dozens.

Visited July 2013
Helpful?
3 Thank Pieter H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Haus der Wannsee-Konferenz also viewed

 

Been to Haus der Wannsee-Konferenz? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing