We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great Information and well Presented”

Mauermuseum - Checkpoint Charlie
Book In Advance
More Info
$111.42*
and up
Berlin Pass Including Entry to More Than 50 Attractions
Ranked #116 of 818 things to do in Berlin
More attraction details
Attraction details
Fee: Yes
Recommended length of visit: 2-3 hours
Owner description: Museum focusing on the history surrounding the Berlin Wall, including an exhibit of instruments people used to escape.
Manchester, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
112 reviews
72 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 95 helpful votes
“Great Information and well Presented”
Reviewed October 5, 2013

The museum was very interesting and is a wealth of information regarding this time period. There is a lot of reading and in 4 different languages, which I thought was respectful as many people were affected by the Berlin Wall. It was difficult to constantly be finding the English section as the writing in on massive boards on the wall and broken up on to several boards as each part had the 4 languages rather than just having all English, all German etc clumped together. This no disrespect to the museum or history as it was a horrific time for several thousand people and I don't want to take away from that. They did an amazing job showing how people escaped and the crafty things they did to get through the wall. Overall the experience has inspired me to read further into the Berlin Wall and the circumstances surrounding it.

****If you want to take pictures, you have to pay and extra euro and the clerk will give you a band to put around your camera or wrist.****

Visited September 2013
Helpful?
Thank TravelCat1012
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,868 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    385
    571
    439
    285
    188
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Czech first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Hungarian first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Hilo, Hawaii
Level Contributor
139 reviews
15 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 80 helpful votes
“Read a book instead”
Reviewed October 5, 2013

This museum covers an interesting part if history. However the exhibits are mainly made up of large panels filled with text in several languages. There were a couple of examples of escape devices but other than that it was all standing and reading. I suggest you buy a book and read about it. It was very crowded and difficult to see the exhibits and I thought the admission price was quite high for what it is.

Visited September 2013
Helpful?
Thank Islandguy808
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
19 reviews
10 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Interesting, but far too much reading”
Reviewed September 30, 2013

I enjoyed the Checkpoint Charlie Museum to a degree, it is a fascinating part of history. However I found that a lot of the exhibitions were very dated, and all of the place. They really need to update the exhibition and make it a more seamless visit for people. There was far too much reading, after a while I stopped absorbing anymore information. You would need a whole day and then some to read everything in the museum. The museum would benefit from air-conditioning also.

Visited August 2013
Helpful?
Thank JSM16
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Saratoga, California
Level Contributor
15 reviews
8 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
“Overrated! Watch the History Channel.”
Reviewed September 26, 2013

This place has a couple interesting artifacts but that's about it. There is nowhere in the museum that has a map showing how the wall went around the city. There are fragments of locations here and there but if you want to figure what was East and what was West you should Google it instead. It seemed similar to the tourist trap sites that ran along the old Route 66, "snake pits and original Indian jewelry" before the new freeways were built.

Visited September 2013
Helpful?
Thank badge263
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney
Level Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Sprawling, chaotic and old”
Reviewed September 14, 2013

This museum opened in 1962 and some of the exhibits seem to date from that period. It has grown in a seemingly disorganized way and now sprawls over quite a large area, both in terms of its layout and its content. In addition to the history of the wall, it covers the history of NATO, human rights movements in general, and there is even a whole room devoted to Ronald Reagan. I found the most interesting parts were those about the ingenious ways that people found to escape.
The displays are very text-heavy and it would probably take you about 3 days to read every word in the museum. When I went last week, there was a temporary display on the street just north of the museum and I learned almost as much about the wall in much less time.
The museum is privately owned and the price is relatively expensive. Locals told me (too late!) to go to the 'official' wall museum on Bernauer Strasse but unfortunately I didn't have time, so I can't compare them.

Visited September 2013
Helpful?
Thank Bdatraveller
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Mauermuseum - Checkpoint Charlie also viewed

 

Been to Mauermuseum - Checkpoint Charlie? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing