We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.
Berlin Wall Museum (Museum Haus am Checkpoint Charlie)
Book In Advance
More Info
$108.28*
and up
Berlin Pass Including Entry to More Than 50 Attractions
Ranked #117 of 806 things to do in Berlin
More attraction details
Attraction details
Fee: Yes
Recommended length of visit: 2-3 hours
Owner description: Museum focusing on the history surrounding the Berlin Wall, including an exhibit of instruments people used to escape.
Dublin, Ireland.
Level Contributor
40 reviews
21 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
“Worth visiting”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 10, 2013

I visited this museum recently and found the exhibits to be interesting and informative. There were some very touching stories well written up detailing escapes from East to West. The methods of the escapes and some of the materials and equipment used are on show and documented.
My only criticisms are the fact that the displays have no clear path or suggested route to follow. The rooms are confusing in layout and it's very possible to miss exhibits in ones attempt to navigate the building. During a warm day the interior of the building can also be quite clammy due to the lack of air conditioning.
All in all certainly worth seeing.

Visited August 2013
Helpful?
Thank Squidgy-W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,842 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    378
    567
    430
    284
    183
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Czech first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Hungarian first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
New Mexico
Level Contributor
16 reviews
10 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“Bring your reading glasses!”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 3, 2013

Lots of reading! Really cool stories of how people escaped to the other side. Many sad stories. Also includes a movie by Disney on a families escape with a hot air balloon. My favorite part was the newer wing with a whole room dedicated to Ronald Reagan and his part in the Wall.

Visited September 2013
Helpful?
2 Thank Melissa C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
sahurs
Level Contributor
33 reviews
14 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
“Very interesting”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 28, 2013 via mobile

Mayby too much informations and it must be updated but a very interesting museum. Very hot in sommer and no conditioned air. No photos. For us it is a place to visit in berlin to understand and remember.

Helpful?
Thank celineetpascal
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveler and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Brisbane, Australia
Level Contributor
50 reviews
8 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
“Thought provoking..... BUT”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 28, 2013

We visited this museum as we had purchased the Berlin Card which got us discounted entry, and it was adjacent to Checkpoint Charlie where I wanted to go anyway.

I must say that this museum is interesting, however found it to be thought provoking, confusing, crowded and almost ADD in nature all at the same time. There are a number of different concepts and ideas presented that on the surface don't have a clear connection, so it has great potential to confuse the visitor as to the point that is trying to be made. It is almost as if the curator has started with a passionate view on a topic, then attempted to balance out that view or ideal by adding a huge amount of tenuously related, hearts and minds type stuff.
There are times when I thought that there was a point trying to be made, however it was almost as if it were afraid to be made, for fear of offending someone.

There are some excellent pieces of information, however the message gets lost as you wander around with the variety of exhibits.

The rooms are overly crowded with way too many items on display in each room. This leads to people standing on top of the exhibits in order to read the information, which blocks th view of the person standing behind, who in turn is blocking the exhibit they are standing next to for the person behind them.

I have to admit there are some exceptional stories, and was moved by some, but what the curator is trying to achieve is lost on me. Some stories you can follow sequentially around a room or two, others it would appear that whole chunks of the story are missing. Or perhaps I just missed where those pieces of the story were.

The museum itself is a rabbit warren, and shows quite easily that it has been expanded from the original 3 room size. To me at least, it feels like someone's private collection rather than a museum, as a guide from the original collector who could explain the relevance of each item on display and how it relates back to the theme of the museum would be most helpful. I am capable of making connections in logic and cognition that many of my peers are not and there were times when I had difficulty in connecting pieces to what the museum is trying to convey.

It has expanded beyond being a museum about The Berlin Wall, Checkpoint Charlie, and escaping the East for the West, so if this is all that you are coming to see then I would suggest perhaps this might be a little overwhelming.
It is so much more. It is a political statment in itself, with references to Ronald Reagan, Gandhi and Martin Luther King. It also covers religion, with references to Buddhism, Christianity and how these effect our world.

Overall, this museum can be a little overwhelming with all of the messages and nuances that it is trying to get across in such a crowded space. I enjoyed most of my visit, however there are limited places to sit down to rest your legs and back, and again, it is crowded.

Information to note

There is a place downstairs from the entry to store your bags, backpacks, etc. You need a 2 euro coin to use this facility, but this is refunded when you collect your items.

There are toilets, and a 0.50 euro cents donation is requested but not formally accepted the day I was there. There was a plate on a table by the door on which to place your money. The toilets are clean, which is a plus, but toilet facilities are not abundant.

The museum is not airconditioned. There were a number of electric pedestal fans running the day I was there, but the day itself was not hot. I would imagine that this place does get quite hot on a warm day.

There are very limited places to stop and sit. In fact other than the theater, and of course the ladies toilet, I saw none.

There is a sign asking visitors not to take photographs, which I respected. I did see a number of tourists disregard this and snap away, however they appeared to be local tourists rather than international tourists like myself. There are no staff seated in the exhibition rooms to stop this, in fact after we entered, I did not see another person who appeared to be staff.

Prepare to lose your way. There is no set format to follow to guide you through, and there are no information boards guiding you through once inside, and no staff to ask for assistance. Take a ball of yarn, breadcrumbs, or whatever floats your boat, to get back to the start. You can retrace your steps back to the entry, or there is a separate exit through the gift shop.

It can be confusing as to the point that is trying to be made, but do your best. It is worth the visit. The letter from the East German soldier asking Westerners to see beyond the uniform is worth reading alone.

It WILL take hours if you want to see it all, and read all of the exhibits, not to mention the time it takes to orient yourself to exiting!

If you have a Berlin Card, then entry is less than 10 Euro, so if you are in Berlin for a few days this card is worth the investment.

Visited August 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank Ecnalubma
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
brighton
Level Contributor
36 reviews
20 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
“Interesting, but would take all day to read it all!”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 27, 2013

The museum was interesting as it showed the human face of the Berlin Wall -mainly how people escaped over/under it! There are numerous rooms full of photos and written information, and it's impossible to read it all. It was quite hot and stuffy and there weren't many places to sit down. Also you had to pay to use the loo (even though you'd already paid any entrance fee). I think if you're only in Berlin a couple of days it's a bit time consuming to come here, but if you have a longer visit then it's worth a look.

Visited May 2013
Helpful?
Thank trisha k
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Berlin Wall Museum (Museum Haus am Checkpoint Charlie) also viewed

 

Been to Berlin Wall Museum (Museum Haus am Checkpoint Charlie)? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing