We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
New! Find and book your ideal hotel on TripAdvisor — and get the lowest prices

“Great place, great food but service could be more "fine dining"” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Lucky Leek

Lucky Leek
Ranked #247 of 7,777 Restaurants in Berlin
Certificate of Excellence
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Romantic, Special occasions, Business meetings, Families with children
Dining options: Late Night, Dinner, Outdoor Seating, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Waitstaff
Neighborhood: Prenzlauer Berg
Malmö
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Great place, great food but service could be more "fine dining"”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 23, 2013

The food will blow even any meateater away, beautifully presented and delicious. Extremely good prices (€45 for a five-course meal]. I would highly recommend this restaurant to anyone going to Berlin, in addition to great food the restaurant is elegant and cozy. However, you need to be prepared for super fast service, and by that I mean way too fast. The different courses kept coming at a too high pace, after two courses served basically straight after each other, I asked the service to put the tempo down a bit but no luck. For me, who currently am pregnant, it was hopeless trying to enjoy so much food in such a short time. We actually felt rushed and forced to eat slower to avoid the staff taking our plates too early. Additionally, no one presented the delicious menu at our arrival or when each course came. We did this ourselves in our little group. The staff were slow with drinks orders as well, and didn't ask if we wanted more drinks for different courses. We also tried to explain that we first wanted to start off with a drink and then eat, but the food started coming quickly after the first drink was served. Perhaps this was Swedish dining culture meeting German dining culture, but I think the whole experience of Lucky Leek would benefit from adding that little "extra" to the service. NOTE! They do not accept foreign credit/debit cards, bring cash.

  • Visited April 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Service
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Food
Helpful?
1 Thank dara2000
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

193 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    127
    34
    16
    7
    9
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Eastbourne, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
205 reviews
162 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 168 helpful votes
“a limited menu which may have been the result of a recent relocation?”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed April 22, 2013

Like a previous reviewer, we arrived at the address on the booking to find what looked like a closed down business. A sign directed us, however, to the new premises which is large, airy and stylish with similarly trendy staff who were welcoming and friendly.
The menu was quite small which may have been to do with the relocation. In fact, just two starters were offered - both of which were soup! I declined these for a main of tofu with salad and sweet potatos - which were initially forgotten and appeared on a separate side plate. The main was well presented and good enough - if somewhat basic. We shared a bottle of French Sauvignon Blanc which was reasonably priced.
Our dinner was pleasant enough and quite good value - just rather unmemorable. I do hope, however, that 'Lucky Leek' prospers in a city where a vegetarian - never mind a vegan - restaurant is unusual to say the least.

  • Visited April 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Service
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Richard G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chorley, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
6 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Wonderful”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 11, 2013

Had dinner here tonight and it was fabulous. The service was excellent and the food was delicious. Vegan dining at its best.

  • Visited April 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Food
Helpful?
1 Thank cjayb
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Leeds, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
14 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Excellent vegan meal in great new location!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 9, 2013 via mobile

We initially could not find this restaurant as it had moved a block or so away. The owner/ chef advises that the address will soon be changed on TripAdvisor. For the record it's now at 54 Kollwitzstraße.
The menu changes daily. I loved my starter of cream of sweet potato soup with red curry, coconut milk, and a dumpling made from nori, shiitake mushrooms and sesame seeds. Main course was a mango chilli risotto with vegan tandoori schnitzel and apricot chutney.
We skipped dessert but wish we could have made room for it. In fact there is nothing on the menu that I wouldn't try! One can clearly taste the use of fresh and wholesome ingredients with no artificial flavouring or preservatives.
Go there!

Helpful?
2 Thank Warren123Sha
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveler and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Berkshire, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
10 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
“very little gluten free”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 11, 2012

I know we are picky but to do this small menu with very little gluten free is not good.My meal was good my wife also & desert was good but they should present it differently it did look like two doggies doos .But for vegans its heaven,,well done ,service was very good ..

  • Visited December 2012
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Food
Helpful?
1 Thank spyvspy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Lucky Leek also viewed

 

Been to Lucky Leek? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing