We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Real gem”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Arte Luise Kunsthotel
Ranked #201 of 634 Hotels in Berlin
Certificate of Excellence
London, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
18 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Real gem”
Reviewed April 6, 2014 via mobile

This hotel, nestled five minutes from the Reichstag, is a real Berlin gem. Each room in the old townhouse is different, making it feel unique and unusual. The location is excellent, an ideal pied-a-terre between the tourist centre and the cooler riverside bars of Friedrichstrasse.

Stayed April 2014, traveled with friends
Helpful?
Thank HopefulTravelling
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

325 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    116
    132
    50
    18
    9
See reviews for
27
107
71
57
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (46)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Sydney, Australia
Level 5 Contributor
21 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed February 14, 2014

This hotel is quite stunning and the staff are very friendly and helpful, no matter what time of day it is. It is located about a ten minute walk to the Brandenberg Gate and further 5-10 to the Reichstag. Albrechstrasse, with its bars and street cafes, and a lovely stretch of street cafes along the River Spree are a street away. It is about a 15 minute walk to Museum Island and less than 30 to the Alexanderplatz area in one direction and the checkpoint Charlie area in the other. So it is very well located.

Many reviews mention that it is next to the train line, which is true - and my room at the front was very close to it, though I slept with the windows open. I found I was so tired after exploring Berlin that the trains did not keep me awake, despite the fact that I am a light sleeper. They supply earplugs and the windows are double glazed if you want to shut them.

The building itself, I believe, used to be set into the Berlin Wall. It was restored from the late 90s onwards and each room is done by a different artist. The hallways are historically restored in a beautiful style and there are artistic ornaments everywhere. It is an utterly charming place. There is a large internal courtyard and free internet in the artistic reception area.

My room was very clean, comfortable and private. The shower was a little cramped, but that was easy to put up with for 2 nights. Breakfast in the restaurant next door is great value - serve yourself muesli (you have to try the one with the tiny squares of chocolate through it!), hot and cold buffet and juice. But wait for the staff to serve you coffee (from my experience, serving yourself is seen as the height of rudeness!)

There is a very cheap, efficient council bus that goes from the airport and stops directly across the road from the hotel. At night the cab from the airport cost about 25DM.

Room Tip: The older more historic part of the hotel seems to be closer to the train line. The more modern part...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Bsmar
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Perth, Australia
Level 3 Contributor
20 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
Reviewed January 17, 2014 via mobile

On a recent trip through five European countries, this was by far the best hotel we stayed at! Not only was it the most reasonably priced, it was perfectly located near all of the main tourist attractions and good nightlife. The room was large and just gorgeous, and the service was excellent. No complaints at all from me!

Stayed January 2014, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
2 Thank mistyglo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Portsmouth, Hampshire
Level 5 Contributor
50 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
Reviewed December 7, 2013

Just returned from a couple of days in Berlin - the Arte Luise was a fantastic hotel, and really central for everything. We walked everywhere - even in the snow!! A short walk over the bridge and there's the Reichstag, and keep walking and your at the Brandenburg gate. I loved Berlin - and loved the hotel. The facilities are basic, but when you sightseeing and Christmas shopping you only need a room to sleep in. We had the neon room with the writing in the wall.

The staff were really helpful - you can leave your bags in the lockers if you're too early to check-in, and do the same on check-out day. Even though the trains are right by the hotel, we hardly noticed them with the windows closed (and were tired from all the walking anyway!). Would also recommend auf die hand, a lovely cafe down the road serving great coffee!

Room Tip: Not all rooms have en suites, so if you are bothered about using shared facilities, then be aware of...
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank suzeetee
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London
Level 3 Contributor
11 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
Reviewed December 6, 2013

I was recommended the Art Luise Kunst Hotel by a colleague, the location is excellent and the rooms reasonable value for the size and amenities. The artwork is very quirky, with hindsight though I should have requested one of the quieter rooms as we were very close to the trains! The breakfasts at the restaurant next door were good and the staff extremely helpful. I would be very tempted to stay here again provided I could guarantee being allocated a quieter room.

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank summerholiday2008
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kuala Lumpur, Malaysia
Level 4 Contributor
23 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed December 6, 2013

Conveniently located in the Mitte area with walkable destination to almost all tourist attractions and public transportation. The single room I stayed was clean and nicely decorated (I slept with two red horses), most importantly, the shared bathroom is very clean. In overall it's a hotel with good value and staff were extremely helpful, I would definitely go back if I ever travel to Berlin again.

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank AngiewpTeo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Skivarp, Sweden
Level 6 Contributor
90 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
Reviewed October 16, 2013

This is a very special hotel. Every room differently designed and a mixture of cheap rooms - shower outside the room, more expensive rooms with good standard, and rooms like 205 where you can feel the trains passing frequently. Ok for death people. free earplugs in the room.
a good dinner and a lot of wine recommended before going to bed. seriously I think it would be a good idea to reduce the price for this room. we changed to 209 and had good sleeps. The atmosphere of the hotel is great but an improvement of the free Wi-fi would be welcome.

Room Tip: 205 if you love the noise of trains, 209 if you prefer sleeping
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Lars B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Berlin hotels
Mitte
Best Western Hotel Berlin-Mitte
Mitte
MEININGER Hotel Berlin Mitte Humboldthaus
Mitte
Leonardo Hotel Berlin Mitte
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Mitte
Hotel Allegra
Hotel Allegra
#244 of 634 in Berlin
195 reviews
Mitte
ARCOTEL Velvet
ARCOTEL Velvet
#164 of 634 in Berlin
734 reviews
Mitte
Select Hotel Berlin Gendarmenmarkt
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Arte Luise Kunsthotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Arte Luise Kunsthotel

Property: Arte Luise Kunsthotel
Address: Luisenstr. 19, 10117 Berlin, Germany
Location: Germany > Berlin > Mitte
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant
Hotel Style:
#160 Business Hotel in Berlin
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Arte Luise Kunsthotel 2.5*
Number of rooms: 48
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Priceline, Expedia, Agoda, Travelocity and Hotwire so you can book your Arte Luise Kunsthotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Arte Luise Kunsthotel Berlin
Arte Luise Kunsthotel Hotel Berlin

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing