We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Good value hotel in convenient location for public transport”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Arcadia Hotel Berlin
Ranked #210 of 634 Hotels in Berlin
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
26 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
“Good value hotel in convenient location for public transport”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 28, 2013

A good value hotel with clean, comfortable, spacious rooms with bathroom. On the Frankfurter Allee and with various types of public transport very close by. The area is full of restaurants and the hotel provides a breakfast buffet at a small extra charge. Good for business or a short visit to the city.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Ramleigh
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

369 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    65
    195
    81
    19
    9
See reviews for
63
159
24
33
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (11)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Morristown, New Jersey
Level Contributor
24 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 17, 2013

This hotel was virtually perfect. The hotel is on Frankfurter Allee. Some reviewers have complained that it's not right near tourist attractions. This is true. However, it is less than a 1 minute walk to the Samariterstraße U-bahn station, and less than a 3 minute walk to the Frankfurter Allee S-bahn AND U-bahn stations. The U-bahn line gets you to Alexanderplatz within 7 minutes, and from there you can get virtually anywhere in the city within 15-20 minutes on other U-bahn/S-bahn lines. EXTREMELY easy to navigate the system. By far easier than New York or any other major city. The hotel is also conveniently 2 blocks away from not one but TWO shopping malls with food courts, and is also situated inside a plaza with several restaurants (we only tried the Italian place, very good and very affordable!). There is also a Netto supermarket next to the Samariterstraße U-bahn entrance, and a Keiser's supermarket (far better than Netto and very very affordable) immediately behind the hotel, takes less than 30 seconds to walk to.

The hotel was very clean, the bathrooms spacious enough and the water pressure in the shower was the best I've ever seen in a hotel. The front desk staff is extremely friendly and speaks fluent English. The hotel has no ice machine, but they were willing to provide us some ice from the kitchen late at night when we asked. They also provided an early check-in with no problems.

The only two things that might bug you about this hotel: 1) the TV has no english channels. All in German. We thought this would bother us but it didn't. Let's be real, why are you sitting in your hotel room watching TV when you're in such an amazing city!? We did watch a German morning show though, and even though we couldn't understand what they were saying mostly, it was still kind of fun to watch (they had a band performing that we ended up really liking). 2) The internet sucks. It is not nearly as expensive as one of the other reviewers said (he mentioned it was 8 euros an hour??? What planet are you living on?). They have different price plans. You can buy 60 minutes which you may use whenever and log in and out as you please, or 120 minutes in the same way, or you can buy 1, 5, or 7 days of access. We did the 5 day option for 20 euros. The internet worked, but it can be very slow. Sometimes it'd be great, sometimes not so much. It could take several reloads to get Facebook and other sites to load. Not great for watching Youtube videos or anything that requires high bandwith. Long story short, if you really need internet, it'll work for basic purposes. If you can get by without it, you're better off doing that. But don't let that throw you off going to this hotel. There is an internet cafe down the street if you really need it.

In addition, the security of the place is fantastic. There is an entrance from inside the plaza but you have to hit a button to have the front desk staff buzz you in. The main entrance (outside) is right by the front desk, and you can't get up to the floors with the hotel rooms without a room key, the elevator requires a key card to be swiped before it'll let you press those buttons. This made us feel much better about leaving laptops and such in the room.

In all, this hotel was worth way more than what we paid, and it's a fantastic place to stay for a week (we stayed for 6 nights) while seeing Berlin. Highly recommended!!!

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
7 Thank zemelb
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Istanbul, Turkey
Level Contributor
33 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 12, 2013

The hotel is on karl-marx alle. Not close to alexander-platz by walking. it would take about 1 hour. By metro it takes 10 minutes. Rooms are clean. Staff were kind. There was a grocery in front of the hotel.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank mrtdncr
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London
Level Contributor
5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 3, 2013

This hotel was clean,value for money, the room warm, the bed comfortable, a hot shower over the bath & an adequate continental breakfast with a very small selection of hot food. We were staying on a B&B basis. The only odd thing was the smell of vinegar in the hall way however didn't penetrate into the room hence not an issue. Plus very flat pillow.

The nearest U-Bahn station (U5) was 1-2 mins walk away & got you to Alexenderplazt in a couple of mins & from there you could access all the main sites of Berlin with ease either on foot or via the U2 or U8. If you really wanted too & at a push you could walk the few miles to the Alexenderplazt.

No safe or tea/coffee making facilities or iron in room but does have a fridge. Hair dryer in bathroom. We stayed in a room overlooking the side street & very little to no traffic noise. There is a small supermarket by the U-Bahn station with all you need as well cafes. The Ring Centre shopping mall is also close by. U-Bahn very clean & efficient.

Overall a good value for money 3* hotel for families, couples, singles or a group of friends.

  • Stayed March 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank pixiejoy35
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Budapest, Hungary
Level Contributor
7 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 7, 2013

Main advise - do not buy internet service in the hotel, as you will be very frustrated and disappointed, it is extremely slow (takes more than 3 minutes to open up a page).
The hotel is more like a room rent, with very modest interior and very basic hotel amenities.
If you get a room looking inside plaza - some might struggle of the fresh air lack.
From the good points:
Location is quite good, close to the metro station Samaritestrasse.
Rooms are clean and furniture/linen are quite new.
Breakfast is good, with a big variety of food.
Staff - almost all are friendly and helpful.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank AnastasiyaKul
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Split, Croatia
Level Contributor
60 reviews
55 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 58 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 31, 2012

We stayed here in June for 4 nights. Room vas big, clean, comfortable bed, nice bathroom. Our room was on top floor with ok view on street. Staff on front desk very helpful & professional. Hotel location was not my favorite in Berlin, but it was ok.

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank FileST
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Staffs
Level Contributor
19 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 61 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 11, 2012

Clean, comfortable & warm is the best description of this hotel. The rooms were large with good en-suite facilities. Breakfasts were much better than expected, there was plenty of variety and they were served from 6:30 - 10:30!
All three evening meals were taken in restaurants within the inner Plaza area of the hotel - we had one meal in the Italian and two in the German restaurant - all 3 were reasonably priced and enjoyable.
We were the only party from our flight to be in this hotel - sited in the east of the city - the other groups stayed in a west Berlin hotel, however, the proximity of the U-bahn [just round the corner] made travelling into the city quick and easy. We were impressed with the public transport system - the 48 hour passes we purchased from the hotel reception for E17.90 each was exceptionally good value - in the 2 full days we were in Berlin we used the pass 14 times on both subway & bus [trams were also an option] and never had to wait more than 4 minutes for any connection. Wunderbar!
What of Berlin itself? - our weekend taster left us thinking that a quick return for a longer stay in the summer months should be pencilled into our diary - we wanted to see much more of this very interesting, cosmopolitan city. As for the hotel we'd choose - the Arcadia ticked all the boxes this time - so yes - let's use it again.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank JatnRob
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Berlin hotels
Friedrichshain
BEST WESTERN Hotel City Ost
Friedrichshain
Ibis Styles Berlin City Ost
Friedrichshain
Almodovar Hotel
Almodovar Hotel
#144 of 634 in Berlin
4.0 of 5 bubbles 551 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Friedrichshain
Gold Hotel
Gold Hotel
#343 of 634 in Berlin
4.0 of 5 bubbles 34 reviews
Friedrichshain
Hotel Comenius
Hotel Comenius
#321 of 634 in Berlin
4.0 of 5 bubbles 95 reviews
Friedrichshain
Zarenhof Friedrichshain
Zarenhof Friedrichshain
#258 of 634 in Berlin
4.0 of 5 bubbles 137 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Arcadia Hotel Berlin? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Arcadia Hotel Berlin

Property: Arcadia Hotel Berlin
Address: Frankfurter Allee 73 a, 10247 Berlin, Germany (Formerly Tulip Inn)
Location: Germany > Berlin > Friedrichshain
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#19 Best Value Hotel in Berlin
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Arcadia Hotel Berlin 3.5*
Number of rooms: 120
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, Hotel.de, Hotwire, Orbitz, Agoda, HRS, Cancelon, Priceline, TripOnline SA and HotelQuickly so you can book your Arcadia Hotel Berlin reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Tulip Inn Berlin
Golden Tulip Berlin

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing