We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Reliable, friendly, clean, helpful” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Landhaus Schlachtensee

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Landhaus Schlachtensee
Ranked #25 of 186 Berlin B&B and Inns
Poznan, Poland
Level Contributor
54 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 39 helpful votes
“Reliable, friendly, clean, helpful”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 23, 2013

And quiet -- don't forget quiet. My family (including two children, aged 2 & 4) and I have stayed here twice: December 2011 and December 2012. Kids are truly welcome, which made a big difference to us. The rooms are well appointed and not too small. Beds are comfortable. Breakfast is plentiful, with plenty of variety and excellent coffee. Parking on the street directly in front of the hotel is easy (and free). It's a very short walk to Mexikoplatz and the S-Bahn, so no need to drive a car around Berlin if you'd rather not. My favorite restaurant in Berlin is also at Mexikoplatz (Il Gondole Due), an outstanding Italian restaurant with a great wine line. Worth splurging on. Check out my review.

Room Tip: I found the staff to be candid and helpful -- and their English is very good. The owner is frequent...
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Andrew_in_Poznan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

33 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    20
    12
    1
    0
    0
See reviews for
7
14
3
9
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (7)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Royal Tunbridge Wells, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
168 reviews
41 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 120 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 6, 2012

What a great Hotel. Just off Mexicoplatz. On the main line into Berlin City Centre. Funny old place this one, really friendly, small, family run Hotel. Super clean and tidy. Rooms are lovely and all with en-suite. Beds are a bid hard and small but OK. BUT - The best thing about this hotel is that you can have Breakfast - only 4 Euros - Up to 12:00 - 1:00pm every day - How good is that. Appartantly they have a Sauna but we never found it. There's a huge lake nearby that is great for a walk and Breakfast or lunch. Book directly and they'll love you even more. Amazing public transport in Berlin - 2 Euros 40 from the airport to the Hotel - an Hour. Here's a tip. They do a visitor special on the tube and bus for 15 Euros for all day travel for up to 5. Enjoy

Room Tip: Top floor looking over the garden has a nice balcony
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Kipims
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Edinburgh
Level Contributor
25 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 7, 2012

Landhaus is a great location if you don't want to stay in the centre of Berlin. It is a lovely, peaceful and very friendly little guest house with good rooms and an excellent breakfast service. The S-bahn is only about 5 minutes walk away and has a regular service into the city. There is a very good Italian restaurant and a cafe with delicious cakes just by the station. Walking the other way takes you to Schlachtensee in about 5 minutes. The lake is beautiful and an excellent place to unwind from city sightseeing or work. In the summer, you can even swim in the lake and the beergardens are fun. Laundhaus is also quite convenient for the Frei Universitat.

  • Stayed October 2011, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Bruntie2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Phenix City, Alabama
Level Contributor
49 reviews
30 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 37 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 17, 2012

The hotel was easy to find and nice. The breakfast was very good. Our room was very clean and the bathroom a nice size. The hotel does have wifi as well. Reception was extremely helpful in guiding us to where we wanted to go for the days while we were in Berlin. The only drawback is that the hotel does not have a lift, however, reception was very nice to carry our luggage up and down the stairs for us. There was also a computer available for use right outside our room. That was nice because I didn't have to constantly charge my ipad. The hotel is a very short walking distance to the metro/train. We would catch it every morning and ride it into Berlin. For us, it was so nice and convenient. We bought the day passes from reception and used those to ride the train. The train ride (depending upon where you wanted to go) was anywhere from 15 to 20 minutes at the most. We were able to park on the street right in front of the hotel, that was nice as well. There was no charge for parking. It is located in a very quiet and nice area. Overall, it was a very pleasant stay. The hotel does not have air-conditioning. Some nights were very warm, but after leaving the window open, it seemed to cool off enough to sleep comfortably.

Room Tip: We had a room with a small balcony, it was very nice!
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank oliviainal
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Moscow, Russia
Level Contributor
234 reviews
49 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 243 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 13, 2012

Stayed here over 3 nights.
First impression was great - after booking via common internet service I've got direct mail from hotel manager Boris - it was nice to have such a personal attention. When you have a human touch before you arrive to the place - it's always a pleasure and It motivates to book directly at the hotel.
Though it was a bit strange to know that the reception closes at 9 p.m. there were no obsticles to get to your room - there is a secure box at the entrance where you get your keys. You got the keys from the main entrance as well - so if you're getting back late you just open the hotel with your key, like you're at your own house))

There is no problem to find the place while driving. And you can always find a parking lot (free of charge) right in front of hotel!
If you use U-Bahn there's quite a walk from Krumme-Lanke station. But S-Bahn station Mexikoplatz is close.

If you want to buy some food - there is Kaiser's grocery shop (open till midnight) with all necessary stuff at Argentinische Allee right across the U-Bahn station. If you you want to have a dinner there is cosy italian restaurant La Gondola Due at Mexikoplatz.

Pluses: very friendly homelike atmosphere, nice location at quiet nook, a lake arond, much of green park and fresh air, full buffet for breakfast, free parking, free internet, moderate prices

Minuses: not too convinient if you don't use a car, the only restaurant around, S-bahn line close enough to hear trains

Overall: next time I visit Berlin for relaxing vacation I stay here! =))

Room Tip: Rooms viewing Bogotastrasse you may hear U-Bahn trains with open window. The strasse itself is very...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank VladimirSotnikov
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Surrey
Level Contributor
25 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 26, 2012

We have visited Berlin many times and have always stayed at a four-star city-centre chain hotel. For our last visit we decided to move out to the suburbs and stay at the “Landhaus” as the locals refer to it. We are very pleased that we did.

Our room had plenty of space for our clothes along with all the various items we purchased while there. There were two comfortable chairs which could be used at the desk. There was always plenty of hot water. The same comfortable chairs were to be found in the breakfast room which is perhaps part of the reason why breakfast is served to such a late hour. It is so pleasant in the breakfast room that one is reluctant to leave it. Even in winter it is lovely to look out into the garden and watch the antics of the birds and the red squirrel. The food is really tasty. There was always different meat and cheese every day; important if you are staying for longer than a couple of nights. We agree wholeheartedly with other comments about excellent staff.

Although situated quite a distance from the city centre we found that returning to the peace and quiet of the area was a real bonus and made up for the travelling. While the S-Bahn at Mexicoplatz is only a short walk away we also found that, although a longer walk, the U-Bahn from Krumme Lanke was useful if wanting to visit the western part of the city. In the other direct Potsdam is easily reached.

At Mexicoplatz there are banks, hairdresser, baker, pharmacist, post office, greengrocer and bar (the latter two actually in the station building). We found everyone in the area very pleased to welcome visitors. We would recommend obtaining a street map of the area (tourist maps do not extend as far south-west). We used ours to find other restaurants and routes away from the main roads which added to our pleasure.

  • Stayed December 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank AlexSurrey
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Washington, DC
Level Contributor
102 reviews
42 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 81 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 12, 2010

We stayed here while on a trip combining business and pleasure. This is a very pleasant, local, small hotel with an extremely friendly staff who make you feel quite welcome. Rooms are simple but very clean. And they have free wi-fi, which is great.
We had the misfortune of arriving in Berlin during an historic heat wave, which meant we had a couple of uncomfortable nights sleeping, but at least this hotel had fans.
Mexico Platz is a quiet affluent neighborhood in the southern part of Zehlendorf, near to two beautiful lakes (Schlachtensee and Krumme Lanke) and a 25 minute S-Bahn ride into the center of Berlin.
We would definitely stay here again.

  • Stayed July 2010, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank javl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Berlin hotels
Zehlendorf
Apartment Hotel Dahlem
Apartment Hotel Dahlem
#491 of 633 in Berlin
3.0 of 5 bubbles 25 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Charlottenburg
Hommage a Magritte
Hommage a Magritte
#2 of 186 in Berlin
5.0 of 5 bubbles 325 reviews
Charlottenburg
Pension Peters
Pension Peters
#11 of 186 in Berlin
4.5 of 5 bubbles 265 reviews
Charlottenburg
mittendrin
mittendrin
#1 of 186 in Berlin
5.0 of 5 bubbles 301 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Landhaus Schlachtensee? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Landhaus Schlachtensee

Property: Landhaus Schlachtensee
Address: Bogotastr. 9, 14163 Berlin, Germany
Location: Germany > Berlin > Zehlendorf
Amenities:
Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Room Service
Hotel Style:
Ranked #25 of 186 B&Bs / Inns in Berlin
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Landhaus Schlachtensee 3*
Number of rooms: 12
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotel.de, Orbitz, HRS, Agoda and Priceline so you can book your Landhaus Schlachtensee reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing