We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“It is ugly but works really well”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Novum Hotel Ravenna Berlin Steglitz
Ranked #344 of 634 Hotels in Berlin
silicon valley ca
Level Contributor
37 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 63 helpful votes
“It is ugly but works really well”
Reviewed February 2, 2014

Yes get a back facing room the front is noisy. Everything is old and needs to be replaced but it was handy for everywhere I needed to go.
The receptionist Frau Raum went way out of her way to be helpful. Exceptional service.

If you want to be treated like dirt go next door to the trattoria. Food was excellent and the waiters were insulting, maybe because I was eating alone and only ordered a pizza. Anyway the reviews said it is good but the staff should be let go.

Room Tip: Choose the Back side
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2014, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank deb666
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

171 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    27
    65
    54
    14
    11
See reviews for
35
40
24
47
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (16)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Wellington, New Zealand
Level Contributor
17 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed January 28, 2014

Stayed there for 3 nights in November 2013. The room is very basic, but is clean and is an excellent value for money. Free Wi-Fi is a good bonus. Would definitely recommend it as a great budget option.

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank AlexB1967
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Oslo, Norway
Level Contributor
34 reviews
33 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
Reviewed January 2, 2014

The Ravenna Novum was my home for yet another stay in Berlin for a short week. It's located in the southwest Steglitz area, which has abundant shopping nearby and metro (U- and S-Bahn) a five minute walk from the hotel. This makes it very convenient either to stroll around the area, or to get quickly to where you want to go. Around the hotel are quiet residential streets and a connecting Italian restaurant.

Checking in was quick and welcoming, even rather late in the evening – the attendant was very welcoming and friendly.

The room was, as others have said, clearly dated and with wooden interiors from the 70s. This is rather nostalgic, and everything is well kept, so this is by no means a problem. My room offered ample storage space in a large cupboard, and an adequate bathroom (but a hopeless shower-in-the-tub solution). The wireless internet was free after registration, but rather buggy when I was there – though I managed to get everything done.

Breakfast was in line with an average three star German hotel breakfast – cold choices as well as scrambled eggs and sausages as well as newspapers. This made for a good start to the day, especially since the female attendant always had a latent smile and a friendly comment to spare.

In all, the Ravenna Novum is great value for the money (a bargain). It does what it's supposed to – not much more, but that's what you need. I'd be happy to return.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank tvmtvm
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
london
Level Contributor
6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed December 30, 2013

Dear fellow traveller,

I booked a Queen, got a Twin; The reception knew this and did not tell me but just handed over the key. Then when I pointed this out there was no help, no offer of refund or reduction. Just greedy overbooking and zero customer service. Also general appearance very dated. Do not be tempted by the low prices. I hardly every write these reviews but I have to warn you. There are so many reasonable and nice places to stay in Berlin.

Safe Travels !

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank ab11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these Berlin hotels

Ottawa
Level Contributor
12 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
Reviewed November 7, 2013

Spent a few nights here recently for a family reunion. Location is good as it is within 5 minute walk of Rathaus Steglitz U-bahn and S-bahn stations. Steglitz is on outskirts of Berlin but is still within the city limits and is a fairly busy area. Nearby Schlosstrasse is great for shopping and eating cake. Its a 20 minute S-bahn ride to Potsdamer Platz.

The Ravenna is a bit tired and has not been renovated since construction it would seem. The carpeting is pretty gross. Rooms are spartan with tiny flatscreen TVs and impossible to figure out radio/clock. Wood furniture is from 70s. Beds are singles pushed together to make queens or kept separate, dorm style. Its good enough if you are travelling solo on the cheap and/or if you aren't trying to impress your partner.

Breakfast is decent for 5 Euros (paid in advance; 7.50 pay as you go) with decent coffee, fresh rolls, eggs, yoghurt, cereal, cold cuts. Cereal bowls are tiny (especially by North American standards) so you may have to load up a few times if you like your cereal. Juice glasses could double as shot glasses, they are so small.

The staff are pretty friendly and helpful, especially in breakfast room. Front desk staff are adept at handling complaints as they seem to deal with them a lot.

There is an Italian restaurant at street level associated with the hotel that serves decent food, but nothing outstanding. Very good service and atmosphere. It always seems busy and prices are reasonable. If you aren't up to venturing far from the hotel it is perfectly fine.

My (and my relatives') biggest annoyance is the pay-in-full-in-advance policy. My parents stay there 3-4 weeks on a regular basis and were asked to pay it all in full upon check-in this time around. Totally outrageous. My father told them to piss off and gave them a few nights worth up front instead. I don't know who runs or owns the joint now (it changed hands recently) but that ain't no way to treat a customer. For that alone I won't be staying here next time, whenever that might be. The owners I suspect are milking it for what they can and then will demolish it and put up condos or something.

You can do better than this.

Room Tip: Pick something on back side of hotel, away from street. The higher the better. It is quieter there.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Downwithripoffs
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rio de Janeiro, RJ
Level Contributor
87 reviews
36 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 87 helpful votes
Reviewed May 26, 2013

A nice under 100 Euros hotel in Berlin. If you have business at Julius Kühn-Institut or at the Botanischer Garten und Botanisches Museum and have a short budget, it's the placer to stay. My only complain is related with the quality of the beds. In my room I had a single bad and a couch, and I just slept in the bed only at the first night. The couch was much better. The pillows are strange, but it seem to be a standard in germany.

In other hand, the staff was very kind and the cleaness of the hotel and the room impecable. Simple but honest breakfast option and good TV channels, including in English and French, which was a relief. I could be there again, if the keep the couch in the room!

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank EDalcin
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Milan, Italy
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed March 31, 2013

I stayed at this hotel during a business trip to Berlin. The staff was very helpful with my booking (I had to modify it once) and my request for a quiet room was met. Comfortable room and good range of buffet breakfast. Free wireless was nice, given that so many hotels levy a charge these days. Rathaus Steglitz (access to U-Bahn and S-Bahn) is just a 5 min walk and there's a bus stop just in front of the hotel.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank privato_milano
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Berlin hotels
Anna 1908
#168 of 634 in Berlin
135 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Zehlendorf
Apartment Hotel Dahlem
Apartment Hotel Dahlem
#494 of 634 in Berlin
25 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Novum Hotel Ravenna Berlin Steglitz? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Novum Hotel Ravenna Berlin Steglitz

Property: Novum Hotel Ravenna Berlin Steglitz
Address: Grunewaldstr. 8-9 | Steglitz, 12165 Berlin, Germany
Location: Germany > Berlin
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Hotel Style:
Ranked #344 of 634 Hotels in Berlin
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Novum Hotel Ravenna Berlin Steglitz 3*
Number of rooms: 73
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Welcome home-Novum Hotel in Ravenna in close proximity to Schlosstrasse and the S-and U-train station Steglitz! The central location in the capital allows both the business and the leisure travelers to all destinations in Berlin to reach quickly and easily. The 3 stars classified by the DEHOGA Novum Hotel Ravenna Berlin Steglitz is comfortable and contemporary in design and is very close to the botanical gardens .. Functional rooms in various categories, free Wi-Fi and an extensive breakfast buffet await every visitor in a newly designed hotel. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Travelocity, Priceline, Hotels.com, Expedia, Hotwire, TripOnline SA, Cancelon, Evoline ltd, Hotel.de and HotelQuickly so you can book your Novum Hotel Ravenna Berlin Steglitz reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing