We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good location and reasonable hotel”
Review of Hotel Mondial

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Hotel Mondial
Ranked #196 of 634 Hotels in Berlin
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed March 9, 2013

The Mondial is situated at the Kurfuerstendamm in the center of Berlin. It has easy access to public transportation and the airport.
The rooms are average, though on the small side, but given the good price it is ok. Reception staff is very friendly and helpful. Breakfast buffet is a pleasant surprise, only the choice of bread could be better.
The hotel sports a nice bar, which, especially for a hotel of this size, is rather unusual.
Overall, definitely a good choice for a Berlin trip.

  • Stayed: February 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank CKober
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (244)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

68 - 74 of 244 reviews

Reviewed February 22, 2013

We stayed for four nights at the Mondial. We got a great value deal and it is in an ideal location with very easy access to any part of the City,via train or tube. Was also very easy from Schönefeld airport. Very polite welcome and were given our room early. Modern and clean with pretty much all that you need in your room. Coffee/tea making facilities were the only absence which should be a must in a 4 star establishment such as this. Lovely swimming pool and sauna facilities which we made use of every day. We did not eat or drink in the Hotel so cannot score it on that. Hotel is very well located for bakeries so you can enjoy breakfast out if you wish. I thought also that bathrobes could have been provided as they have an in house spa. Apart from these few little points would have given it a 5 star score. Otherwise would highly recommend this Hotel and would definitely visit again when in Berlin.

  • Stayed: February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
1  Thank whiteprince
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 16, 2013

I spent the weekend here, primarily to go to Deutsche Oper, but also to see something of Berlin. The hotel was clean, all the staff were very friendly and helpful. Kurfurstendamm is a smart shopping street: I bought a teddy bear for my grandson at Steiff, just 5 mins walk away. There are very good public transport links from nearby. I used the buses and S-bahn (Savignyplatz). The single room was comfortable and well appointed. The restaurent was pleasant, though I only took breakfast (which was very good) there. The hotel bar did not open on the Sunday.

Room Tip: I suspect rooms at the back (away from the road) might be the quieter option. I had one and is was v...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: January 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank john186400
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 9, 2012

Well located on Kurfurstendamm, the hotel is close to transport, shopping and restaurants and bars.Rooms are a bit dated and cleaning was inconsistent. Advertised as four star, this is probably not the case. Breakfast also was a bit hit and miss. Wifi is included but very slow. Service at times was very good, other times very poor. Parking also available, although limited. Overall, if you can get a room at a good rate, not a bad option.

  • Stayed: November 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank MadCapt
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 8, 2012

The hotel is placed on one of the most well known commercial boulevards in Berlin – Kurfurstendamm. The location is an advantage mainly for those that are ready to pay 600 euro for a best quality pair of shoes!
The personnel was extremely kind, (from receptionist, maid women, waiter, etc). The room was clean, comfortable, with the furniture a little bit out of fashion but in very good shape. The bath is clean (The shower is too short for those that are over 170 cm!). In late autumn, winter, don’t forget to check is the heater is turned on at maximum (I haven’t and I was frozen in the first night). The hotel has a small fitness room an a swimming pool – that I was not able to test it being to tired every afternoon .
About location and transportation with special remarks for those who goes to International Congress Center). There are several ways to get there: on foot (my recommendation) – 4 km = 40 min. By bus – at 10 minutes walk (taking first street to the right as you leave the hotel) you get to Kantstrasee – bus M49 (comes every 10 minutes – 20 min on Saturday and Sunday) – 6 stations = 10 min + 10 min =20-30 min. With two buses 109 (the station is 50 meters to the left of the hotel entrance) to Friedrichstrase and change with M49 (25 min). By train + metro but the station is near M49 bus an there is no point to change train to metro as you have a direct line. I bought tickets from the receptions (2,40) but I advise to buy from the driver (on short distances might be cheaper – 1.4). If you want to get to west Berlin or Potsdam place – you have metro at Adenauerplatze (10 min of walk on Ku’damm).
Overall, a very pleasant experience, I strongly recommend the hotel.

  • Stayed: November 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Sorin P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 26, 2012

The hotel is nicely located on one of the main street of Berlin. Hotel, room and bathroom are clean. My only negative comment is that the hotel is a bit old. The furniture and the bathrrom installation woudl support to be refresh. Same applies for the swimming pool and the sauna. With few investment this hotel would be great; especially as the room size are very big.

  • Stayed: October 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank D G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 9, 2012

This hotel is really nice, the breakfast offers plenty of choices and the swimming pool is really nice as well. It's situated smack on the Kurfürstendamm, a very upmarket shopping/residential street in the heart of former west Berlin. The whole area was once very posh, though even though the big brands are still present, much of the real glory has started to fade somewhat, which is true also of the hotel.The décor would fit the set of Dallas or Falcon Crest, which in itself isn't that bad, though the lack of modern amenities like Air Condition is a problem, especially since summers in Berlin can get quite humid and sticky. The staff were nice and the location isn't bad, even though it's not exactly near any trendy parts of town, though if you are that kind of traveller, you probably wouldn't like this hotel anyway.

  • Stayed: August 2012, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank MrMagooStockholm
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Berlin hotels
Charlottenburg
Hotel Bristol Berlin
Hotel Bristol Berlin
#169 of 634 in Berlin
1,776 reviews
Charlottenburg
Pestana Berlin Tiergarten
Pestana Berlin Tiergarten
#49 of 634 in Berlin
955 reviews
Mitte
TITANIC Chaussee Berlin
TITANIC Chaussee Berlin
#60 of 634 in Berlin
883 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Charlottenburg
Schlosspark Hotel
Schlosspark Hotel
#415 of 634 in Berlin
42 reviews
Charlottenburg
H'Otello K'80
H'Otello K'80
#126 of 634 in Berlin
286 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Mondial? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Mondial

Address: Kurfuerstendamm 47, 10707 Berlin, Germany
Location: Germany > Berlin > Charlottenburg
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#119 Romantic Hotel in Berlin
#123 Business Hotel in Berlin
#127 Luxury Hotel in Berlin
Price Range: $78 - $154 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Hotel Mondial 4*
Number of rooms: 77
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Orbitz, Hotels.com, Agoda, Travelocity, Hotwire, Cancelon and TripOnline SA so you can book your Hotel Mondial reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Mondial Hotel Berlin

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing