We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Not the Ritz but a nice place” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Hotel Gunia

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Hotel Gunia
Ranked #284 of 633 Hotels in Berlin
Chicago
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
“Not the Ritz but a nice place”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 12, 2010

Spent 5 days here in early July. First the good: very friendly and informative staff, good German breakfast, clean (but rather small) rooms. The not so good: thin walls make late-returning neighbors a pain, no a/c which can be a problem when the temperature hits 37 C., is in the heart of a gay district (which can result in you being approached by male prostitutes if you are a single male returning in the late evening (especially on weekends). All in all, I enjoyed my stay and would return again-- a good deal at 60 Euro/night

  • Stayed July 2010, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank MosieLedbetter
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

81 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    47
    28
    3
    1
    2
See reviews for
18
12
26
10
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (5)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Luxembourg
Level Contributor
26 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 3, 2010

This was a 3 day trip present for my mum's 70th birthday, her dream to visit Berlin. From the moment I spoke to Simone the owner, I felt reassured that this was the right choice for our stay. As soon as we arrived Simone spent an hour with us explaining all the important sites of the city, how to get around with the trains, and as it was our first time in Berlin and had arrived without much preparation, her friendly dedication helped us to get the most out of the trip.. her restaurant recommendations were perfect too! One detail which touch touched our hearts is that the owner put flowers in my mother's room, as she knew of her birthday. This hotel is not five star, but it is in a great location, the rooms are basic with charm and very clean. There is TV in the room. And breakfast each morning in the main dining hall is a treat. The house in itself is a charming example of Berlin architecture that has been preserved in excellent condition and adds to the experience of being in Berlin. Nice quiet street. but still centrally located and walking distance to main shops and transport. We enjoyed our stay and if we would have to return, we would stay at Hotel Gunia again, without hesitation. The owners of this hotel live their hospitality for others, they don't just talk about it! This is what made this hotel stand apart from so many others we have visited everywhere. Thank you!

  • Stayed June 2010, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Sevenstars4us
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hertfordshire UK
Level Contributor
28 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 22, 2010

Well located in a quiet street, minutes from buses and trains. Single room was very small, but quite sufficient if you are just using it as a base. Breakfast was excellent and the service second to none.

The owners - who run the hotel themselves - are very friendly and helpfull. I would definately recommend it.

  • Stayed June 2010, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Itchyfeet28Herts
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Washington DC, District of Columbia
Level Contributor
17 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 20, 2010

Our room was large, with comfortable, but not modern furnishings. The breakfasts were filling, and graciously served. For value-conscious travelers, this is a good choice. Simone is a delight.

  • Stayed June 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank dccohts
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Solihull, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 30, 2010

Hotel Gunia is so good I've stayed there three times in the last two years. You're certain to receive the warmest of welcomes upon arrival from the hosts, Simone and Hoss. For me there is no other place to stay in Berlin but the Hotel Gunia. The rooms are clean and spacious, and Simone's breakfast will keep you going till dinner!

  • Stayed May 2010, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank StevenGonzalez
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 29, 2010

Hello all.

The Hotel Gunia is not the Ritz, nor is it the Dorchester or the Langham, but for what it is you would be hard pushed to beat it.

For a clean, comfortable and most welcoming hotel/pension, The Gunia really delivers on all as well as being great value for money.

It is on one floor of a quaint and interesting building c1900. Our room was huge with an easy to use shower, washbasin and toilet located in a spotless and efficient unit within the room, towels supplied. Don't worry, oodles of space left. The bed was very comfortable with a new mattress and spotlessly clean linen, an extra pillow was supplied immediately upon asking. The breakfast was produced within 2/3 minutes of arriving in the dining room. Beautifully served by our delightful host Simone, more than enough to set one up for the day.

When we arrived. Simone told us that while we were here 'this was our home', it didn't take us long to realise that she most sincerely meant this.

Several other guests told us that this was the 3rd, 5th etc time that they had stayed and that they woud be back, well, all we can say is ----- so will we.

Located just a few minutes walk from the U-bahn it is easy to get to from Schoenefeld airport and, with our booking confirmation, Simone gave us precise details of just which trains we needed to take to get there and which ticket was the best to buy. This was most thoughtful and, as this was our first visit to Berlin, saved us ages figuring it out for ourselves. A good, fairly central location just a few minutes from the famous Kurfurstendam.

Lovely, interesting city. We'll be back and staying at the Gunia

Diane & Gerry

  • Stayed May 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank thegreatwombat
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Perth, Australia
Level Contributor
63 reviews
45 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 95 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 15, 2010

I stayed at the Hotel Gunia from 2-4 February. I chose it because I had stayed there 10 years ago on my only other trip to Berlin and had really enjoyed it. Fortunately nothing had changed, except the hotel had been updated. The undoubted star of this hotel is Simone, one of the owners. Simone does the front of house and she is a natural, speaking a variety of languages, including excellent English, and having the real knack of being both friendly and professional. She is just a delight. The hotel itself is an absolute bargain. It is a two star hotel and so not packed with facilities but it is very clean, the beds are very comfortable, the rooms are spacious, with lovely high ceilings and breakfast is great. I paid E65 a night including breakfast. I stayed in a 3 star hotel in Paris which had only the advantage of a bar fridge over the Gunia, with smaller rooms, and it cost E135. I've stayed at many comparable hotels throughout Euorpe and the Gunia is the best of its type I have found. The hotel is away from some of the action, now that the centre of Berlin has noticeably moved eastwards, but it is well placed for shopping in the old west Berlin and is just 5 mins from the Nollendorf Platz U-Bahn station. The very efficient Berlin public transport can get you everywhere quickly and efficiently. Nollendorf is a pretty gay area and if that is an issue for you then this may not be the place to stay but like all gay areas it is cosmopolitan, has quirky shops and good food.

The hotel is on the 1st floor of its building (they are moving into the 2nd floor as well). There are some steep stairs to negotiate and no lift, so do take this into consideration if you have any mobility limitations.

I love Berlin. It is a great city and if you have not visited it, then do so, there is so much to see and so much history set against a great and vibrant current culture. If you do go and you are on a bit of a budget, do yourself a favour and stay at the Hotel Gunia!

  • Stayed February 2010, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank newkstar
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Berlin hotels
Schoneberg
Hotel Sachsenhof
Hotel Sachsenhof
#199 of 633 in Berlin
4.0 of 5 bubbles 181 reviews
Schoneberg
Tom's Hotel
Tom's Hotel
#383 of 633 in Berlin
3.5 of 5 bubbles 121 reviews
Schoneberg
Ambiente Hotel
Ambiente Hotel
#358 of 633 in Berlin
3.5 of 5 bubbles 168 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Schoneberg
Kult-Hotel Auberge
Kult-Hotel Auberge
#225 of 633 in Berlin
4.0 of 5 bubbles 168 reviews
Schoneberg
Lindemann's
Lindemann's
#53 of 633 in Berlin
4.5 of 5 bubbles 601 reviews
Schoneberg
Quentin Design hotel
Quentin Design hotel
#298 of 633 in Berlin
3.5 of 5 bubbles 457 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Gunia? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Gunia

Property: Hotel Gunia
Address: Eisenacher Strasse 10 | Schöneberg, 10777 Berlin, Germany
Location: Germany > Berlin > Schoneberg
Amenities:
Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Room Service
Hotel Style:
Ranked #284 of 633 Hotels in Berlin
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2 star — Hotel Gunia 2*
Number of rooms: 32
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Priceline and Agoda so you can book your Hotel Gunia reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Gunia Hotel Berlin

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing