We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Great Hotel.” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Hotel Greifswald

We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this hotel, but we can search other options in Berlin
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Hotel Greifswald
Ranked #493 of 633 Hotels in Berlin
Dublin, Ireland
Level Contributor
9 reviews
7 hotel reviews
“Great Hotel.”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 21, 2010

Really nice hotel. Doesn't look much from the street, but looks can be deceiving.

Our room was huge and luxurious with a really comfortable bed. Great buffet breakfast and helpful staff too.

A little out of the way but worth the 15 min walk to Alexanderplatz.

Would definitely stay again.

  • Stayed May 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Colm B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

52 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    21
    24
    5
    2
    0
See reviews for
5
17
10
2
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (7)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Sheffield, England
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 14, 2009

An absolute gem- we booked the Greifswald for my second trip to Berlin and my partner's first. The room was superb, even though we'd paid for the smaller size. The beds were incredibly comfortable, the room was clean and quiet, the bathroom had what looked like original GDR fittings and the staff were really helpful- to the point that when it was time to go home and we realised the bus we had taken from the airport on arrival wasn't running, one of the night staff looked up the best way for us to get there and left us detailed instructions and a U-Bahn timetable to collect in the morning. Very friendly, relaxed and comfortable- the breakfast is superb too and the location is perfect if you're not after commercial West Berlin- Prenzlauerberg is lovely and the restaurants and vintage shops are the best I've been to in a long time. We can't recommend this place enough- it's quite romantic too, in an East German way!

  • Stayed August 2009, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Emma3636
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Panama
Level Contributor
18 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 12, 2009

I stayed in Greifswald Berlin for a week and it was just great.
The room was clean, and the hotel was located in a estrategic area.
Just 10 minutes from Alexander Platz (walking distance)
The breakfast is complete and fantastic. (Good variety of fruits, cereals, etc.)
You must visit the portuguese restaurant near the hotel (the food is the best)
The lady at the reception was nice and always advised me over restaurants and places...
I will like to stay there next year if I travel again to Berlin (for sure!)

  • Stayed September 2009, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank RicktrellesPTY
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Århus
1 review
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 11, 2009

A very quite hotel and the staff is very friendly and helpsome. Easy to go around Berlin and the Tram is just outside the door. I would like to stay there again, even at the 5. th. floor.

  • Stayed July 2009, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank askepot
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 20, 2009

We booked the Griefswald because of the reviews and the price and I'm so glad we did. In fact next time we go to Berlin we'll try and stay there again. I think we lucked out on the room as it was HUGE, lovely and light with an enormous comfy bed (very difficult not to crawl back in to it after stuffing our faces at breakfast) My boyfriend thought the bathroom was tiny but I didn't care, it was totally fine.
The breakfast was great, lots of ham and cheese, as you'd expect, but also artichokes, smoked salmon, fritters, cake, omlette... and alot more. Yum. The staff were friendly and helpful too.

We actually thought the location was pretty good too, its so quiet and there's a tram stop right outside which takes you to Alexanderplatz (pretty much the centre - v.touristy - and good travel connections to everywhere in Berlin) There's also a tram stop just up the road which takes you to Friedrichshain/east Kreuzberg (the best places for going out, so easy to get back from in the early hours) Prenzulauer Berg's lovely too, full of young familiies but also good bars/cafes and shops. Make sure you go to the flea markets on a Sunday, which is a 10 min walk away.

We stayed west side on the last night and east side clearly rules.... the atmosphere is much livelier, younger and less commercial. I'm a sucker for graffiti too...

  • Stayed March 2009, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank wanderingflower
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
England
Level Contributor
16 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 15, 2008

I think this is a great hotel, friendly, clean, cheap and well-situated. We love the Greifswald so much we have stayed there 4 times between 2003 - 2008. As others say, breakfasts are fab, staff very friendly. The photos someone has put up here of the street are harsh - it isn't that bad! Anyway there's graffiti all over Berlin. Also if you are travelling around and need to wash clothes there's a fab internet/cafe/launderette nearby (2 mins, right out of the hotel). Rooms are smallish but comfy and endearingly basic (no minibar or all that stuff). As for its location - I prefer the East to the West and love pottering around Prenzlauerberg, which is full of lovely cafes, yummy mummies and greenery. I felt very safe in this area. Best I can do is attach photos I have taken over the years...and recommend it wholeheartedly.

  • Liked — Value for money
  • Stayed April 2008, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Check in / front desk
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Londonismyhome
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bangor, Northern Ireland
Level Contributor
32 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 16, 2008

We, a party of four 40-year-old blokes, recently spent 2 nights here and although we spent very little time in it, I am doing my TripAdvisor duty!. The hotel is located on a main road heading north-east from Alexanderplatz (the M4 tram will get you there in about 10 minutes) but as it is set well back from the street, the hotel itself is very quiet. It is built around a small courtyard which I'm sure is very pleasant to breakfast in during warmer weather.

The reception/breakfast area has a certain rock music vibe to it as the hotel appears to cater for a lot of passing musicians playing the nearby Magnet or Knaack clubs. During our stay, reception staff were super-friendly and gave us Berlin virgins plenty of advice! I have to say that this friendliness extended to all of the locals we came across in the east of the city (I've never met nicer people on my travels).

Both rooms were perfectly sized, pleasant ,and clean, with good bathrooms. Breakfast is an extra 7.50 euros but well worth it , and it is served until midday (a real bonus given that Berlin bars don't seem to close!).

Based on our albeit quick Berlin taster, I would say that the old east Berlin is more "happening" if your holidays are more about bar-hopping and is the part of town I'll be heading back to in the not so distant future and I would happily return to the Greifswald.

  • Liked — Good value and friendly staff.
  • Disliked — Nothing.
  • Stayed April 2008, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Check in / front desk
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Paul G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Berlin hotels
Prenzlauer Berg
Feng Shui Hotel Melarose
Feng Shui Hotel Melarose
#373 of 633 in Berlin
3.5 of 5 bubbles 56 reviews
Prenzlauer Berg
City Quartier
City Quartier
#525 of 633 in Berlin
3.5 of 5 bubbles 12 reviews
Prenzlauer Berg
Adele Designhotel Berlin
Adele Designhotel Berlin
#346 of 633 in Berlin
4.0 of 5 bubbles 50 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Prenzlauer Berg
Alex Hotel
Alex Hotel
#335 of 633 in Berlin
4.0 of 5 bubbles 126 reviews
Prenzlauer Berg
Hotel Transit Loft
Hotel Transit Loft
#263 of 633 in Berlin
4.0 of 5 bubbles 232 reviews
Prenzlauer Berg
Hotel Die Schule
Hotel Die Schule
#356 of 633 in Berlin
4.0 of 5 bubbles 23 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Greifswald? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Greifswald

Property: Hotel Greifswald
Address: Greifswalder Str. 211 | Prenzlauer Berg, 10405 Berlin, Germany
Location: Germany > Berlin > Prenzlauer Berg
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Room Service
Hotel Style:
Ranked #493 of 633 Hotels in Berlin
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 25
Also Known As:
Greifswald Hotel Berlin

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing