We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Fun, Funky, Lots of info”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Globetrotter Hostel Odyssee
Ranked #101 of 350 Specialty Lodging in Berlin
Vancouver, Canada
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“Fun, Funky, Lots of info”
Reviewed June 9, 2007

Don't judge this accommodation by it's outsides. There was graffiti everywhere, all concrete and big ugly block concrete buildings. Once you go through a strange tunnel there's a cute little court yard garden, impeccably clean, pool table, nice bar, friendly staff and lots and lots of brochures with ideas about what to do and where to see. Our double room had a funky mural and huge windows. Lots of space! Clean, modern washrooms. Huge and yummy breakfasts.

Yummy cheap and friendly restaurant directly across the street ( I forget the name)

  • Liked — funky, lots of city info, clean, bright
  • Disliked — had to leave key behind at desk
  • Stayed September 2006, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
1 Thank sarahsparrow
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

156 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    68
    47
    23
    6
    12
See reviews for
3
39
25
4
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (21)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Wien
1 review
Reviewed June 8, 2007

fantastic location,
friendly, committed and best informed staff,
reasonable prices, good offers,
nicely designed rooms in different amounts,
fantastic breakfast, ...tbc
Definitley highly to be recommended!!!

Stayed May 2006
Helpful?
Thank RokFinland
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
rotterdam
1 review
Reviewed June 4, 2007

We stayed in this hostel for three nights and loved the athmosfere! All the people working here were really nice and made our stay great, we will be back!

Nienke and Lisa, Rotterdam

  • Liked — the athmosfere and the staff
  • Disliked — uhm... let me think.... the shared showers, but that wasnt so bad either
  • Stayed May 2006, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
Thank lisa-kitty
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Abbotsford, B.C.
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed May 2, 2007

Oh man, I cannot say enough good things about this place. From my first stay in '02 till my last stay in '04, and right to my next stay here this summer, this place is by far the best. Great people, great place, great rooms, prices, everything. In a great part of East Berlin, this hostel is the best place for independent travelers who want to get off the Busabout route. The guys who run this place are absolute Kings, and will help you have the best time you can in East Berlin.

Metal Hails to Sven, Harry, Jan, Paddy, and everyone else, thanks so much you guys

John

  • Liked — The bar
  • Disliked — The mornings
  • Stayed August 2004, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
1 Thank fuxx0r
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ljubljana
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed May 1, 2007

It was my first time in Berlin but definitely not the last and the reason for this is also Odyssee hostel!! Really the best hostel I've ever been! My favourite place in Berlin! We had a great time and I can't wait to visit Sven again! I recommend it to all travelers looking for more than just a bed to sleep overnight.

  • Stayed January 2006, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
1 Thank angelcek
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Australia
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed April 18, 2007

Easily my favourite hostel in Europe, laid back staff that enjoy a beer, clean and well decorated. Ive been back to the Odyssee 5 or 6 times since 2001, could'nt imagine staying anywhere else, the atmosphere is perfect for Berlin, and the staff know the city inside out.

  • Liked — Very casual, friendly atmosphere
  • Disliked — No complaints
  • Stayed April 2007, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
2 Thank AndrewAustralia
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Domžale
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed April 18, 2007

Berlin is the best city I've ever seen, Globetrotter Hostel Odyssee is the best hostel I've ever been - they are perfect hosts and very good company!It was absolutely wonderful....you must see it for yourself!

  • Liked — people
  • Disliked — leaving
  • Stayed September 2005, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
2 Thank Kolamamo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Berlin hotels
Friedrichshain
Hotel Comenius
Hotel Comenius
#332 of 634 in Berlin
101 reviews
Friedrichshain
Juncker's Hotel Garni
Juncker's Hotel Garni
#379 of 634 in Berlin
110 reviews
Friedrichshain
Upstalsboom Hotel Friedrichshain
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Friedrichshain
Hotel 26
Hotel 26
#323 of 634 in Berlin
51 reviews
Friedrichshain
Zarenhof Friedrichshain
Zarenhof Friedrichshain
#255 of 634 in Berlin
144 reviews
Friedrichshain
nu hotel berlin
nu hotel berlin
#334 of 634 in Berlin
101 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Globetrotter Hostel Odyssee? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Globetrotter Hostel Odyssee

Property: Globetrotter Hostel Odyssee
Address: Gruenberger Str. 23, 10243 Berlin, Germany
Location: Germany > Berlin > Friedrichshain
Hotel Style:
Ranked #101 of 350 Specialty Lodging in Berlin
Number of rooms: 26

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing