We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“To many drunk teenagers”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Globetrotter Hostel Odyssee
Ranked #106 of 358 Specialty Lodging in Berlin
Reviewed July 1, 2012

Its okey. Some of the staff where friendly some where not so friendly. No soap in the toilets. A lot of teenagers shouting 4 o clock. Its okey to party and being drunk but not so okey slamming with doors and shouting when peiople sleep. I dont get it, why some prefer to party in a hostel instead of the town. Otherwise it was clean. Just to many kids and teenagers.

  • Stayed: June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank palomadk
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (156)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

64 - 70 of 156 reviews

Reviewed June 14, 2012

I stayed there for a couple of days in May and it was awesome. The hostel staff is friendly, the breakfast is cheap and good, the hostel is very clean although it's very big! :) It's perfectly located with great beer, great tourist information and a lively atmosphere. I recommend this hostel for every FIT or group travelers! Wünderbar!

  • Stayed: May 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Silja B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 21, 2012

I stayed in this hostel as a recommendation from a friend as I was travelling alone and wanted somewhere with a good location that I would be able to meet some people. Odyssee Globetotter was perfect. I stayed in a huge dorm of 22 people so I had plenty of opportunity to meet people. There is also a really nice courtyard to sit in and mingle and drink the happy hour €1 beer. The staff were really friendly, the beds were comfortable, the storage space was plenty and the location was great.

  • Stayed: May 2012, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Rachel W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 16, 2012

My sister and I were here for 2 nights in Feb 2012. Not at all peak season and we wanted to do it really cheap. We had the huge mixed dorm on the 4th floor. It is well laid out to give each bunk set(top and bottom) privacy and reduce noise. The bathrooms were the best! very modern, lots of hot water and really cool. Also - lots of room in the shower so you didn't have to put your clothes on while you stood in water. The neighbourhood is a bit ho-hum but it is well located for getting around on the underground, and if your a walker you can get around to all the major sights very easily.

Room Tip: Big mixed dorm on the 4th floor.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: February 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Linda W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 19, 2012

I stayed here with 3 friends in a 3 bed room last week and had a great stay. The hostel has a great atmosphere and is in a great part of town near to bars and restaurants and transport links to the city centre.

The room was clean and the communal bathrooms were spotless. The duvets we had were a bit small for the beds but reception gave us an extra blanket.

Staff were mostly friendly apart from one man who was pretty rude when we asked about finding a German restaurant. He did point us in the right direction after stating 'everyone wants the ******* german food'

Breakfast is 3 euros and all you can eat but you can get something at one of the many restaurants nearby for 4ish.

I would highly recommend but be prepare to travel about 20 mins to the tourist attractions.

  • Stayed: February 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank lornamharper
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 12, 2012

I booked a private room with shared bathroom... Great value for my money...
The hostel staff is very nice and helpfull...Good breakfast...And is located in my favorite area of Berlin...Great restaurants, bars, shops...very cool!

  • Stayed: January 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank arizazealuis
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 21, 2011

Odyssee was ideal for our school group of 8 students aged 15 - 17: clean dorms and bathrooms, well organised, good breakfast, well located, and with the fantastic bonus of washing machines and a large kitchen with a communal table seating 12. Kitchen is open from 10 - 10pm. Hostel is open all the time, nice guests and atmosphere. It is a converted warehouse with stud walls on each level - sound travels! Beware their cancellation policy which is not stated on the website and inaccurate in the hostel notices: Despite giving 48 hrs notice of one cancellation (in an 8 dorm room!) we were unexpectedly required to pay on arrival 75% of the full rate for the whole stay for that person. As we refused, the students' breakfasts were cancelled for 2 mornings. Appeals to reception staff and manager ( via email, as he is not often around) were eerily stonewalled. Also not to be missed is when Dean is on reception, an experience of DDR-style customer relations rarely encountered by pampered western travellers and as a result much enjoyed by other hostellers ( eventually).

  • Stayed: December 2011, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Catherine M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Berlin hotels
Mitte
i31 Hotel
i31 Hotel
#7 of 634 in Berlin
1,940 reviews
Mitte
Hilton Berlin
Hilton Berlin
#68 of 634 in Berlin
4,720 reviews
Charlottenburg
aletto Hotel Kudamm
aletto Hotel Kudamm
#121 of 634 in Berlin
782 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Mitte
Select Hotel Berlin The Wall
Charlottenburg
Hampton by Hilton Berlin City West
Schoneberg
LINDEMANN'S
LINDEMANN'S
#41 of 634 in Berlin
721 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Globetrotter Hostel Odyssee? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Globetrotter Hostel Odyssee

Address: Gruenberger Str. 23, 10243 Berlin, Germany
Location: Germany > Berlin > Friedrichshain
Hotel Style:
Ranked #106 of 358 Specialty Lodging in Berlin
Number of rooms: 26

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing