We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Price worthy option outside of Berlin”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
East Side City Hotel
Ranked #405 of 634 Hotels in Berlin
Stockholm, Sweden
Level Contributor
26 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
“Price worthy option outside of Berlin”
Reviewed May 31, 2011

We found a great deal for this hotel. I was aware that it was a little out of town, but for the price we were willing to compromise. The rooms are very clean, quality of towels good - in fact the quality of the room was better than many 4 star hotels I have stayed in previously. It's very close to public transport, the M5,M6 are just around the corner - which take you directly to Alexander Plats. We had a quick drink at the New Orleans bar (part of the shared hotel bar with Holiday Inn) which was OK, although a bit dowdy and depressing if you're still in your 20's :-) On the downside, they charge €3.50 for water in the hotel rooms (although don't mention the price anywhere in the room) plus reserve €150 to your credit card for security without even telling you (even if the room is paid for!) ... which annoyed me immensely. So besides these two downers, would definitely recommend the hotel to a group of friends, or family looking for a cheap, clean option. Wouldn't recommend it to a couple for a romantic weekend though ;-)

Room Tip: Ask for a room in House 3. More modern than House2
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2011, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Mysig84
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

117 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    23
    35
    35
    10
    14
See reviews for
11
43
17
12
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (13)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Rochester, New York
Level Contributor
7 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed August 20, 2010

The East Side Hotel is a good Hotel for the price. It is in a trendy neighborhood full of nightlife and convenient to the train station. Our room had lovely view of the parking lot of a construction equipment company, but I don't travel to stay in the hotel room either. The only problem is that they're moving equipment pretty early each morning. The hotel is reasonably clean, not perfect, but you're not paying for a four star hotel either. I would skip the breakfast. It says they have wifi in all the all rooms, but we could only get anything useful in the lobby or bar. One word of caution, there's no air conditioning and no screens, which is not unusual, but it can be a problem if you are outrageously allergic to insect bites like me it can be a problem.

  • Stayed August 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank thisnan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Manchester
Level Contributor
31 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 72 helpful votes
Reviewed May 1, 2010

I paid 60 Euros for three adults including breakfast. The rooms are large and clean with bath and a shower. TV in the room has premium Sky channels for 11.5 Euros per day. FREE high speed wi fi in every room. Good food and bar, 3.2 Euros for a large beer. Friendly, helpful staff, great views of the wall and the river. Expect road noise if staying at the front overlooking the wall.
I highly recomend this Hotel, fantastic vaue for money.

  • Stayed May 2010, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank rumba2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Leiden
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed March 16, 2010

Don't let the cheap menu's fool you (max. 17 euro), because if you book via Daydreams (or Hotelbon) you get charged a fixed price for breakfast and diner of 43,50 euro per person. This is approx. twice the price if you eat a la carte, including drinks. They don't tell you this in advance. The surprise is yours when settling the account.
Beside this we experienced an apprentice cook, because one evening the dinner looked and tasted different. Which was confirmed by the waiter.On three evenings there was no salad available.
The mattresses in our room were rather thin, one could feel the springs through them.

We complained to Hotelbon (Daydreams) without avail. They say they are not responsible for the product they sell.

Rolier

  • Stayed March 2010, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Rolier
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these Berlin hotels

Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Toronto, Canada
Level Contributor
11 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed August 3, 2009

Easy-going small trendy hotel with lots to do in the area. The reception and restaurant staff were very helpful and friendly.

Ask for a room facing the street... not overly noisy, and a great view of the East Side Gallery of the Berlin Wall (the other side faces a parking lot).

The room was a good size, including a large bathroom, so no issue trying to put stuff away as to not trip over it.

The restaurant got 2 thumbs up for its breakfast buffet and evening meals as well (I say this with confidence since my wife is a trained chef and she really loved it!).

  • Stayed October 2008, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank MRLG
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
nicoleanimnt
1 review
Reviewed March 25, 2009

At first glance, my room looked tidy. But when I looked further, I noticed brown and red stains all over the mattress, cracks up the walls and a dirty toilet. After my first night, I woke up with a rash and was really itchy. I asked my collegues, and they also said they had suddenly became itchy...
There was also a number of items stolen from the bedrooms. For example, my course leader's nintendo ds which belonged to his 5 year old daughter was stolen along with money and clothes.
After checkout, me and my group had to wait around for our coach. We were approached by the hotel staff with a list of 'things wrong with our room' and were demanded to pay these fees. Some of the things included were 50 euro for dirty floor, 50 euro for a small crack in shower... these things were out of order and stupid as my group were very responsible adults and would never mistreat the hotel rooms. I found the place disgusting and would not recommend going there. You will be made to pay for things which are broken in the hotel room, even if you did not break it.
Do not be fooled by the pictures on their websites!!! They DO NOT look like that. This hotel is disgraceful. I have never been so ripped off.

  • Stayed March 2009
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank nicoleanim
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Stockport
Level Contributor
8 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed November 23, 2008

This was my second stay at this hotel and needless to say thankfully it was still the same old friendly hotel. The price at 78euros pn for a twin room incl breakfast was very good for money. The hotel is opposite the East Side gallery and only a 5min walk from the U bahn. We flew into Schonfield so the S9 train takes about 25mins to reach the hotel and is a great location to explore Berlin. Day tickets are EUR6.10 and much easier and cheaper than taxis. The hotel staff were friendly and helpful and breakfast served until 11.30am which is great if you want a late night out. The hotel has a bar which is open 24hours so convienient for beer or food but at the same time it retains a quiet ambience. The room was basic but clean and and good value for money and no problems with shower/water. The area around the hotel feels safe and the river next to the old Berlin Wall is perfect for taking a relaxing stroll.
The nearby Simon dach Strasse (10mins walk) is a lively street full of good bars & restaurants and well recommended. Ask for direction as it is not easy to find at first. The O2 World arena has recently opened near the hotel so excellent for those attending a concert there.
Would recommend this hotel to anyone who wants to get out and about around Berlin.

  • Liked — Laid back atmosphere
  • Disliked — Nothing
  • Stayed November 2008, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
Thank StockportGaribaldi
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Berlin hotels
Friedrichshain
Holiday Inn Berlin - City East Side
Friedrichshain
Klassik Hotel
Klassik Hotel
#500 of 634 in Berlin
224 reviews
Friedrichshain
nu hotel berlin
nu hotel berlin
#328 of 634 in Berlin
100 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Friedrichshain
Ibis Berlin Ostbahnhof
Ibis Berlin Ostbahnhof
#165 of 634 in Berlin
915 reviews
Friedrichshain
Moxy Berlin Ostbahnhof
Moxy Berlin Ostbahnhof
#59 of 634 in Berlin
189 reviews
Friedrichshain
Michelberger Hotel
Michelberger Hotel
#112 of 634 in Berlin
1,011 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to East Side City Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about East Side City Hotel

Property: East Side City Hotel
Address: Muehlenstr. 6, 10243 Berlin, Germany
Location: Germany > Berlin > Friedrichshain
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service
Hotel Style:
Ranked #405 of 634 Hotels in Berlin
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — East Side City Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 36
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Orbitz, Hotwire, HostelWorld, Hotels.com, Travelocity, TripOnline SA, Cancelon, Cheap Tickets and getaroom.com so you can book your East Side City Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
East Side City Berlin
Hotel East Side City

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing