We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
City Pension Berlin
Nearby Hotels
$112
$94
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Restaurant
  • Room Service
$243
$235
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
$208
$115
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Pool
i31 Hotel(Berlin)
$117
$106
Agoda.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Room Service
Hotel Adlon Kempinski(Berlin)
$260
$244
Agoda.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Pool
Melia Berlin(Berlin)
$109
$87
Agoda.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Restaurant
  • Room Service
$162
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
$112
$104
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
$134
$110
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Pool
  • Restaurant
$262
$242
Travelocity
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
Reviews (82)
Filter reviews
82 results
Traveler rating
26
28
15
5
8
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
26
28
15
5
8
Show reviews that mention
All reviewss bahnsingle roomaround the cornerbus stopensuiteconveniencesink
Filter
Updating list...
33 - 38 of 82 reviews
A TripAdvisor Member
Northampton, Massachusetts
114
Reviewed June 17, 2005

My sister and I booked a twin room with shower at the City Pension Berlin, and were pleasantly surprised with the place. First of all, it's literally right across the street from the Charlottonburg S-bahn stop (2 stops from Zoologischer Garten). Second, it was clean, quiet, and private. After staying in a youth hostel in Amsterdam, it was super-nice to get our own room and shower. In a pension, you don't feel like you have to lock all your stuff up in a little locker for it to be safe; you just put it in the closet. And having a shower was nice - you don't have to run down the hall wearing only a towel. (Note about the shower - you have to push the red button at the shower base for the water to drain.) This pension was cheaper per person per night than our hostel cost us. And to top it all off, the people at the desk are ultra nice, and they serve a quaint yet ample breakfast with fresh flowers and good lighting. Overall, I strongly recommend the City Pension Berlin to travellers who need a break from the hostel scene!

Stayed: June 2005
14  Thank A TripAdvisor Member
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 14, 2005

Stayed at City Pension for 4 nights in May 2005 with my wife and girl in a triple room for 99 Euro/night. The Pension website makes clear that some rooms have a toilet and some don't. This was also made clear in the email that was sent to me by City Pension. We took a room with a toilet, and looking at the toilets along the hall, I'm glad we did..........

The room we had was spacious, with very high ceilings with 19th century ceiling rose and cornices. There was an alcove jutting out into the street which fitted the third bed so that the floor area was not cramped. A small bathroom was built into a box in the inside corner - very small and basic with sliding door that just maintained a deal of privacy. The bathroom was adequate and cleaned OK each day, but cramped and the heat of the hot water went up and down like a yo-yo.

City Pension is clearly used by a lot of Germans visiting Berlin for 1-2 nights. Breakfast was nice, continental of course, with fresh rolls.

As we were on the next floor up from the reception area/breakfast area, noise was not an issue for us, but we did note that there was a large internal door between the breakfast area (which can be used as a bar at night) and the bedrooms. This would keep any nighttime noise away from the bedrooms - nice.

We liked the TV in the room as it was a normal set (not a hotel special), which meant that it had AV inputs and we could connect up our portable DVD player.

Berlin itself is not a particularly attractive city, but well worth visiting for things like the bust of Nefetiti, and the Permagon Museum. Also, take enough time to explore KaDeWe - what a Department store should be.

We were on a touring holiday and thus needed to park our car. Street parking in the area is available, and the City Pension can provide (at 5 Euro/night) a card to put on the dashboard entitling the car to park in the street outside. The only problem is finding a free spot - we were lucky in that someone pulled out just as we arrived.

The location of City Pension is very convenient, being close to both U-Bahn and S-Bahn stations.

City Pension is one of those places that could be an absolute horror, but is saved by the care and attention lavished on it by the managers (owners?). If in Berlin again we would certainly consider the City Pension again, but would also look at other places to perhaps get a different aspect to the city.

  • Stayed: May 2005
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
10  Thank rp_aust
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
A TripAdvisor Member
Edinburgh, Scotland
16
Reviewed May 14, 2005

City Pension Berlin is situated just off Kurfurstendam within one minutes walk of the S-Bahn and U-Bahn. It is small hotel with large rooms,
nicely furnished with a friendly atmosphere and friendly staff. We will definately stay there again.

  • Stayed: April 2005
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
6  Thank A TripAdvisor Member
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 2, 2004

Attention on booking, the wc is not included in your room but it is in communion with other people of the pension. You have in your room only the the shower and the wash-basin.
The pension is situated nearly the metro lines U and S bahn, circa 8 minutes from Zoologischer Garten station.
Good breakfast and good service, polite person. Clean room.
For me ok!

12  Thank alexiodg
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
A TripAdvisor Member
London, UK
326
Reviewed July 20, 2004

We stayed in the City Pension for a weekend in July 2004. It was okay, nothing special, but I don't have any complaints.

Good points:
The staff provided me with very helpful directions and advice of how to get there.
It's handy to the train station (aboveground line that goes through Berlin and to the airport).
Breakfast was nice, lots of choice and fascinating to observe the other (mainly German) guests.
Very secure (buzz to get in).

Not so good points:
Not very attractive, thin curtains (it's light in summer very early in the morning) and in a very mundane road.
Odd and not very private (if you mind about such things!) shower set-up in the room.

5  Thank A TripAdvisor Member
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews