We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Great”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
baxpax Mitte Hostel
Ranked #83 of 347 Specialty Lodging in Berlin
Rügen
1 review
“Great”
Reviewed March 22, 2007

Mittes Backpacker is a great hostel with excellent staff, unique atmosphere and nice people. They got a brand-new lift with a big window.
The hostel is locate near the main train station and also right next to the underground station.
I got stuck at the bar till the next morning and had a memorable time there.

  • Stayed March 2007
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
Thank schobina
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

185 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    40
    76
    43
    13
    13
See reviews for
7
14
50
3
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (12)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Los Angeles, CA
Level Contributor
30 reviews
27 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 48 helpful votes
Reviewed August 15, 2006

We stayed at Mitte's this summer during the World Cup. We booked two private doubles with bathroom and was surprised to see the difference in rooms. One looked a little dirtier/scarier than the other but maybe that had to do with the fact that every room in this hostel is painted in a different theme. Not sure what our theme was. All in all, the rooms were ok. We were a little afraid to sleep directly on the sheets provided so we slept on blankets we had brought ourselves. This hostel is located in in the Mitte neighborhood, a short cab ride/Bahn ride from Hauptbahnhof, though it would take 2 trains to get to the hostel from the station. Sites like Unter den Linden, Berlin Wall, and Checkpoint Charlie are within walking distance if you enjoy walking. Otherwise, there's an S-Bahn station right across the street. Riding the Bahn from the hostel to Oranienburg (Sachsenhausen Concentration Camp) was very, very easy and only about 20-25 minutes. There was mostly a young crowd a at the hostel but folks over 35 are welcome...we traveled with my 48-year-old dad and his friends. Hostel staff was mostly nice and helpful except for one guy that kept acting like we were bothering him.

  • Liked — Location
  • Disliked — Having to walk up 2 flights of stairs to reception and 2 more to rooms.
  • Stayed July 2006, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
Thank EBR02
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
A TripAdvisor Member
Reviewed April 15, 2006

The good things:
Young atmoshpere. Good location. Very nice rooms with a lot of space, painted with different images and create a very nice atmoshpere.

The bad things:
Unfortunatelly, too many:
*No elevator. In order to get to the reception you have to go 2 stories up, and in order to go to the rooms - at least another 2 (if you are lucky). And we are talking about quite old, and hence - buildings with high ceilings. This means A LOT OF STAIRS. When you go up with your heavy suitcase - you feel like you are in some mountain hike and the death is near.

*Showers suck. Don't unserstand me wrong - showers are very clean. The problem is you can't control the heat and the intencity of the water. So you get quite a feeble stream which is very cold in the beginning of the shower, and very hot in the end of the shower. And this really sucks.

*Staff is not very familiar with the surroundings. When I asked at midnight if there is a place to eat around, the girl at the reception opened google. Lucky me that I didn't have to wander a lot around.

  • Stayed March 2006, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
6 Thank A TripAdvisor Member
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these Berlin hotels

Cardiff
Level Contributor
6 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
Reviewed March 27, 2006

Staff were helpful, rooms were clean (make sure you bring your own sleeping bag - extra if you borrow sheets) and the bar / social area is really nice.

Recommended!

  • Stayed March 2006
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
6 Thank johnkimble25
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
A TripAdvisor Member
Reviewed January 31, 2006

This is the best hostel i have ever stayed in! The atmosphere is amazing, everyones there to have a good time, and its very welcoming.

I stayed in a single room, which was very basic but comfy enough. Theres plenty of internet access which isnt badly priced, a bar serving alcohol and hot drinks 24hours, and a friendly reception.

Theres also a comfy area where people seemed to sit around on bean bags and get to know one another.

I would really recommend the free tour which picked up from Mittes every day - a good way to meet new people and a fantastic way to get to know Berlin.

Berlin itself is a fascinating city, with lots to do and lots to learn.

The Hostel is a little walk out of town, i would say 15-20 minutes but i enjoyed the stroll. But if you feel like being cheeky, i know lots of travellers who jumped the train for a few stops.

I didnt want to leave Mittes, it began to feel like home in the 3 days i was there. Its just very fun, and welcoming even though its in a cold stone building. I will definatly be staying there when i go back, and would recommend Mitte's to every backpacker or fun loving 20 year old.

  • Stayed March 2005
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
7 Thank A TripAdvisor Member
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
A TripAdvisor Member
Reviewed May 13, 2005

I can honestly say this is THE best hostel I've ever stayed in! The atmosphere was great, and I met so many new people (most of them Canadian!), and many a drinking session was enjoyed in the bar! The common area downstairs includes the aforementioned bar with foozeball and lots of comfy sofas and beanbags and there is also a kitchen so you can eat and drink! There is also a multimedia lounge showing different films every night. The common room upstairs is a place to chill out and relax away from the bar.

The location of this hostel is also great, very close to the U-Bahn stop with connections to the rest of the city, although it would be an ok walk if the weather permits!

The staff are great, allowing us to stay up until the very early (or even late!) hours of the morning without complaint!

The rooms are spacious and beds comfy with excellent themed walls!We stayed in the sailors room, pirates were slightly scary though!

  • Stayed May 2005
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
10 Thank A TripAdvisor Member
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
A TripAdvisor Member
Reviewed January 26, 2004

I've stayed at Mitte's Backpacker Hostel on numerous occasions. The location is pretty good; close to the city centre, and almost directly outside the exit of an u-bahn station. The staff are friendly and helpful. They really need to get an elevator, as the hostel entrance is on the third of fourth floor (in fact, this is a criticism the hostel has heard a million times). Rooms are not secure and most do not have locks on the doors. This would not be so bad if there were sufficient lockers (there are only a few).

Helpful?
11 Thank A TripAdvisor Member
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Berlin hotels
Mitte
H+ Hotel Berlin Mitte
H+ Hotel Berlin Mitte
#174 of 634 in Berlin
4.0 of 5 bubbles 549 reviews
Mitte
Mercure Hotel Berlin City
Mitte
Garden Boutique Hotel
Garden Boutique Hotel
#295 of 634 in Berlin
4.5 of 5 bubbles 88 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Mitte
Tryp Berlin Mitte
Tryp Berlin Mitte
#119 of 634 in Berlin
4.0 of 5 bubbles 2,090 reviews
Mitte
Ballhaus Berlin Hostel
Ballhaus Berlin Hostel
#130 of 347 in Berlin
4.0 of 5 bubbles 5 reviews
Mitte
Gaestehaus Berlin Mitte
Gaestehaus Berlin Mitte
#63 of 188 in Berlin
3.5 of 5 bubbles 62 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to baxpax Mitte Hostel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about baxpax Mitte Hostel

Property: baxpax Mitte Hostel
Address: Chausseestr. 102, 10115 Berlin, Germany
Location: Germany > Berlin > Mitte
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #83 of 347 Specialty Lodging in Berlin
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:1 star — baxpax Mitte Hostel 1*
Number of rooms: 91
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with HostelWorld, Cheap Tickets and TripOnline SA so you can book your baxpax Mitte Hostel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing