We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Very sneaky pricing!”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
baxpax Mitte Hostel
Ranked #83 of 347 Specialty Lodging in Berlin
Sarajevo, Bosnia and Herzegovina
Level Contributor
8 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Very sneaky pricing!”
Reviewed February 5, 2013

I don't normally write negative review, I simply don't leave a review.

This place is largely OK. However there is a distinct lack of bathroom facilities. What is more they are somewhat sneaky with their pricing and as such expect to pay around 50% more than advertised! Not good I feel!

The worst hostel I stayed in, after travelling through 17 countries in Europe!

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Mark B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

185 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    40
    76
    43
    13
    13
See reviews for
7
14
50
3
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (12)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Chicago, Illinois
Level Contributor
8 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed July 28, 2012

My cousin and I have been staying in private room hostels for our 2.5 week trip. While we prefer private bathrooms, the bathrooms here were so clean we hardly noticed the difference. The staff was friendly and helpful, the beds were comfortable, and we had access to a kitchen. The location was a 15 min walk to the city center, which we found convenient. Each room was unique. Some things to be aware of when booking: in addition to the cost quoted they charge 2.5 euros for linens and 1 euro for a towel. The rooms are cleaned midday, but the bathrooms are cleaned around 9am. Wifi is free but the computer is 1 euro per hour. Overall we were very happy with our stay.

  • Stayed July 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank nayko325
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
2 reviews
Reviewed May 17, 2012

Everything was pretty good, great information about the city, good staff, very clean room and common places, free wifi. The only bad thing is that there wasn't any curtains in the room and there was only just one bathroom in my floor.
Good place

  • Stayed May 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank CarlosLY
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Moscow, Russia
Level Contributor
19 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed October 23, 2011

Strongly recommended to stay in this hotel to younh people! Good atmosphere, good rooms, very comfortable placing! Have a good time!

  • Stayed August 2011, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank nikita_do
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, Australia
1 review
Reviewed July 19, 2011

The hostel had a great atmosphere and really invited people to mingle. The bar area and smoking room created ample opportunities to meet people. The staff were friendly and helpful, on call 24/7. The rooms are decorated with care and are really eclectic. The Location is great. It was very clean. Over all a great hostel.

Room Tip: book in advance. I cant really say any rooms would be quieter than others.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2011, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank shamantaj
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Turku, Finland
Level Contributor
8 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed June 6, 2011

The hostel looked nice with all the walls painted in different themes. Our room was at the same floor as the reception so it was convenient. Internet was 0,50e half an hour. The kitchen/hang out area did not look so inviting so didn't spend time there. The shower doors did not close so there was always a fear of someone walking in. The toilets were always clean, but sometimes there were queues for the mirror as there were no mirrors in the room. There was a nice breakfast place on the other side of the road with sandwich and coffee for less than 2 euros.

  • Stayed May 2011, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank e-elisabet
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kuala Lumpur, Malaysia
Level Contributor
9 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed April 24, 2011

the receptionist n staffs r really snobbish. i had a terrible encounter when i was in a huge need to enter my room when the "reception is closed" i was replied in a terrible manner, the staff glared at me with looking annoyed when i spoke to her politely, n the guy replied me in a sarcastic gesture as though i am stupid. i listen n speak english well and i certainly know my manners. i dont think these people should be working at where they r working if they cant speak to their customers in a nice manner.

shower was terribly cloaked n the entire bathroom, was flooded with water n hair.

to be fair, they had a good kitchen n the walls r nice, but where i slept was painted a dragon which was rather uncomfortable when i woke up in the midnight.

the windows wouldnt open much which is really stuffy. n insufficient plugs to charge phones n batteries.

Room Tip: turn around!
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2011, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank shienchii
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these Berlin hotels

Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Berlin hotels
Mitte
H+ Hotel Berlin Mitte
H+ Hotel Berlin Mitte
#175 of 634 in Berlin
4.0 of 5 bubbles 549 reviews
Mitte
Mercure Hotel Berlin City
Mitte
Garden Boutique Hotel
Garden Boutique Hotel
#292 of 634 in Berlin
4.5 of 5 bubbles 88 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Mitte
Tryp Berlin Mitte
Tryp Berlin Mitte
#119 of 634 in Berlin
4.0 of 5 bubbles 2,092 reviews
Mitte
Ballhaus Berlin Hostel
Ballhaus Berlin Hostel
#98 of 347 in Berlin
4.0 of 5 bubbles 7 reviews
Mitte
Gaestehaus Berlin Mitte
Gaestehaus Berlin Mitte
#63 of 188 in Berlin
3.5 of 5 bubbles 62 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to baxpax Mitte Hostel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about baxpax Mitte Hostel

Property: baxpax Mitte Hostel
Address: Chausseestr. 102, 10115 Berlin, Germany
Location: Germany > Berlin > Mitte
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #83 of 347 Specialty Lodging in Berlin
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:1 star — baxpax Mitte Hostel 1*
Number of rooms: 91
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with HostelWorld, Cheap Tickets and TripOnline SA so you can book your baxpax Mitte Hostel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing