We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“The Best”
5 of 5 bubbles Review of The Circus Hostel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
The Circus Hostel
Ranked #4 of 344 Specialty Lodging in Berlin
Certificate of Excellence
Mexico City, Mexico
Level Contributor
4 reviews
“The Best”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 24, 2013

The greatest Hostel we arrived in all our eurotrip. It was de second city we reach and it was excellent. We met a lot of people here. The breakfast and the bar is really good. If you cross the street you can get to a little market where you can buy all the types of beer you can imagine. It was a great experience. You can rent a bike and visit all the city.

Room Tip: The room on the second floor and at the end of the hall is really good and you have an amazing view...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank GerardMojorisin
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,203 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    866
    275
    46
    12
    4
See reviews for
54
239
351
22
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (102)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Level Contributor
3 reviews
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 23, 2013

Clean, warm, welcoming, comfortable, next to the subway and metro, has all the services you need, great pub,great coffee shop. The stuff is nice, helpfull and knows its way arround. The beat hostel i visited in

  • Stayed September 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Yuval H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dubai, United Arab Emirates
Level Contributor
33 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 20, 2013

I stayed at circus after paris and rome where I paid much mor money for not so good hostels and I can say this one is really good.
The rooms are big, the price is good and there is a bar on the basement, which makes it easy to meet nice people.
The only thing that I can complain is about a group of people that was in my room, smoking (I don't know if inside of the dorm...) and making everything smell like cigarrettes!
You may pay extra for the breakfast, but it's definetely worth it! Lots of delicious options.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank WBianca
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Northport, New York
Level Contributor
148 reviews
42 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 59 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 14, 2013

The staff are really friendly, the location is pretty good. They helped us with directions and we were able to get around easily.
My friend and I rented the apartment- for only 100 Euro- on the top floor with a great balcony and view of the city. I was just surprised that there was no TV in the room. We had a huge kitchen, high top bar table, large bathroom, no AC, and wifi in the room.
We had been staying in hotels during our trip through Europe, and honestly this was one of the nicer places even though it was a hostel. Very spacious and clean, everything was brand new and the hallway smelled like fresh paint in the hallways.
Pretty good breakfast for 5 Euro in the bar downstairs. They have free dinner every night, but we never made it.
Also street parking was available and was really cheap with the pass from the hostel.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank ktitone
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
32 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 12, 2013

Awesome Hostel - clean, affordable and fun. Beds were comfortable, lots of sockets to plug in electronics (including one in the safe), great atmosphere, bar located downstairs, easy to meet people, and good location (walking distance to alexanderplatz). Staff was very friendly too. I would highly recommend Circus Hostel.

Room Tip: Book ahead of time because it does fill up.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Jamie M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
6 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 12, 2013 via mobile

We ordered a bedroom for two, after reading great reviews about circus hotel+hostel. The room was tiny, it smelled like toilets air freshener and the bed was unusual and shaped like a hole in a wooden step (uncomfortable). We upgraded to a larger room which was OK though doesn't worth the 85 Euros, as there are better options around in the same price. We needed to go through a long unfriendly conversation with the reception guy in order to explain him the room didn't fit our taste or expectations.
Most of the staff weren't really friendly, just gave straight forward answers to are questions with a fake smile (except one lovely girl- the one with the big beautiful eyes) . We thought that we would find a better atmosphere in this place. The bartender was unfriendly as well.
We were willing to pay more in order to stay in this place because it was ranked #1 on trip advisor. I think #1 place in Berlin is definitely better then this.

Helpful?
1 Thank Happy_hipp
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveler and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Melbourne, Australia
Level Contributor
5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 10, 2013

What a great hostel. Certainly the best I've ever stayed in - I honestly couldn't recommend The Circus more. Friendly staff, central location, clean facilities and a light and airy feel make it a real pleasure. The 4 person dorm I stayed in was large and well furnished with a table and chairs and plenty of power sockets. Breakfasts every morning were 5 euro for a delicious buffet of fresh meats, cheeses, fruits, tomatoes, cereals and the free dinners (first in first served) were a fantastic bonus at the end of each busy day of sightseeing. The hostel will hire you a bike for 12 euro and a great range of tours of Berlin are available. You must consider the Circus Hostel for your visit to Berlin - I recommend it wholeheartedly.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Joshua_James1988
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Berlin hotels
Mitte
The Circus Hotel
The Circus Hotel
#8 of 634 in Berlin
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,505 reviews
Mitte
Adina Apartment Hotel Berlin Hackescher Markt
Mitte
i31 Hotel
i31 Hotel
#7 of 634 in Berlin
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,593 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Prenzlauer Berg
EastSeven Berlin Hostel
EastSeven Berlin Hostel
#2 of 344 in Berlin
4.5 of 5 bubbles 694 reviews
Kreuzberg
Grand Hostel Berlin
Grand Hostel Berlin
#5 of 344 in Berlin
4.5 of 5 bubbles 888 reviews
Friedrichshain
PLUS Berlin
PLUS Berlin
#10 of 344 in Berlin
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,139 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Circus Hostel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Circus Hostel

Property: The Circus Hostel
Address: Weinbergsweg 1a, 10119 Berlin, Germany
Location: Germany > Berlin > Mitte
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #4 of 344 Specialty Lodging in Berlin
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2 star — The Circus Hostel 2*
Number of rooms: 80
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Hotwire, Priceline, Travelocity, Agoda and HostelWorld so you can book your The Circus Hostel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Circus Hotel Berlin

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing